jump to navigation

Pompeii Brothel Reopens October 26, 2006

Posted by Michael in History.
trackback

Well-travelled commenter Lipstick can now return to her favorite Roman ruin.

Pompeii Brothel

I visited Pompeii on a vacation with Mrs. Michael and the kids about a dozen years ago, when this exhibit was open.  Pompeii  is in a rather run-down area of Italy, but the trip is worth it.  The ruins are truly awesome; a remarkably detailed and fascinating preservation of everyday Roman life that is not available anywhere else on earth.

By Marta Falconi

Updated: 2 hours, 49 minutes ago

POMPEII, Italy – It was the jewel of Pompeii’s libertines: a brothel decorated with frescoes of erotic figures believed to be the most popular in the ancient Roman city.

The Lupanare — which derives its name from the Latin word “lupa,” or “prostitute” — was presented to the public again Thursday following a yearlong, $253,000 restoration to clean up its frescoes and fix the structure.

Pompeii was destroyed in A.D. 79 by a cataclysmic eruption of Mount Vesuvius that killed thousands of people — and buried the city in 20 feet of volcanic ash, preserving Pompeii for 1,600 years and providing precious information on what life was like in the ancient world.

Pompeii’s Most Popular Brothel Goes On Display

Comments»

1. skinbad - October 26, 2006

253K? I refuse to believe any self-respecting public works project in “Italy” dealing with “frescoes” and “ancient cities” could cost so little. That’s like a split level in an average part of town.

2. Lipstick - October 26, 2006

Michael, I’m cracking up here because the first time I ever left the country was a church trip to Italy where we visited Pompeii.

3. Feisty - October 26, 2006

Mount Vesyphilis?

4. lauraw - October 26, 2006

Huh. Looking at the fresco, seems beds haven’t changed much.
Everybody still likes a headboard and a dustruffle.

5. Retired Geezer - October 26, 2006

Everybody still likes a headboard and a dustruffle.

What about a Duvet’ (Doo-Vay) ?

That word just makes me nervous. Sounds Ghey, no?

6. Michael - October 26, 2006

Everybody still likes a headboard and a dustruffle.

So, I’m the only person who missed the appointments and noticed that the guy has her legs spread!!!!!

7. compos mentis - October 27, 2006

What guy? All I saw was boobies!! I have no idea what the rest of you are talking about.

8. kevlarchick - October 27, 2006

I think he’s trying to flip her over onto her belly.

9. Dave in Texas - October 27, 2006

oooo… good catch KC. I missed that. I thought he was looking for his socks.

10. skinbad - October 27, 2006

I think he’s trying to flip her over onto her belly.

I might as well go home. I can’t work under these conditions.

11. compos mentis - October 27, 2006

oooo… good catch KC. I missed that. I thought he was looking for his socks. lol. You guys are the best. I can’t tell you how many times I sit here and crack up at your comments, even though most of the time I don’t say anything. Just want you to know that you all are appreciated muchly. There’s a special place [in my pants] for each and every one of you.

12. Dave in Texas - October 27, 2006

I have always felt a tremendous obligation to share my gift of mirth with the world.

13. compos mentis - October 27, 2006

Don’t ruin it for me Dave.

14. amish fiddles while this blog burns - October 27, 2006

Bumpersticker found on the back of my ancient Greek ancestors chariot:

“Pompeii chicks do it in the Ash!”

15. Retired Geezer - October 27, 2006

So Amish, what’s your Bug nomination?

16. Brundle-amish - October 27, 2006

So Amish, what’s your Bug nomination?

um…Jeff Goldblume for Best Actor?

I have no idea what youre talking about.

p.s. RG im downloading a boot right now of an ’82 reunion gig of Eric Burdon and the Animals. Guess things didnt pan out with “Wool”

17. Dave in Texas - October 27, 2006

Don’t ruin it for me Dave

Oh fine. “Laugh clown! Make us laugh”!

All the while my little heart is broken inside.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 194 other followers

