jump to navigation

The Andre the Giant Lifestyle January 11, 2007

Posted by skinbad in Food, Sports.
trackback

“It’s not my fault being the biggest and the strongest. I don’t even exercise.”
Modern Drunkard Magazine highlights the alcohol consumption of the late Andre the Giant. Kind of a fun read in a statistically jaw-dropping manner. They estimate he consumed 7,000 calories per day in alcohol. Alone.  Not counting food. He once was awarded a case of wine after a wrestling match in Japan. He had a four-hour drive to his next gig and polished off the last of the 16 bottles as he arrived.

The author doesn’t back this up, but he claims French doctors who were to operate on Andre’s back devised a method for determining how much anesthesia to administer to someone based on the person’s tolerance for alcohol. They asked Andre what it took to get him drunk and he couldn’t answer. He told them it took two liters of vodka “just to make him feel warm inside.”

The author believes his greatest drinking feat was this one:

. . . Andre the Giant holds the world record for the largest number of beers consumed in a single sitting. These were standard 12-ounce bottles of beer, nothing fancy, but during a six-hour period Andre drank 119 of them. It was one of the few times Andre got drunk enough to pass out, which he did in a hallway at his hotel. His companions, quite drunk themselves, couldn’t move the big man. Fearing trouble with cops, they stole a piano cover from the lounge and draped it over Andre’s inert form. He slept peacefully until morning, unmolested by anyone. Perhaps the hotel people thought he was a piece of furniture.

 Think about it: 119 beers in six hours. That’s a beer every three minutes, non stop. That’s beyond epic. It’s beyond the ken of mortal men. It’s god-like. 

Made me wonder if he carried a 5-gallon bucket around as well.

I think there’s a sad edge to the story, though. It’s been said, and I believe, that many people use alcohol and drugs to excess because they are basically self medicating. They have a lot of physical and/or emotional pain and they can cope with life better if they have a continuous buzz on. He suffered a lot from joint and back pain. He died of heart failure at age 47 in 1993. RIP, Andre.

Hat Tip to my bro. the Gman.

Comments»

1. Dave in Texas - January 11, 2007

He told them it took two liters of vodka “just to make him feel warm inside.”

Tell me about it.

2. composmentis - January 11, 2007

I couldn’t drink 119 beers in a month.

3. BrewFan - January 11, 2007

These were standard 12-ounce bottles of beer, nothing fancy, but during a six-hour period Andre drank 119 of them

I declare him an honorary Wisconsinite.

4. Christopher Hitchens - January 11, 2007

lightweight.

5. kevlarchick - January 11, 2007

Me? I ordered the Modern Drunkard’s Fez in honor of Andre.

Could I drink 119 beers in a month?

*doing the math*

That’s like four a day compos. Sure you could!

6. Retired Geezer - January 11, 2007

I sure liked him in Princess Bride.

Come to think about it, that’s one of my all-time favorite movies.

7. wiserbud - January 11, 2007

The theme from Princess Bride was my wife’s and my first dance at our wedding. I love that movie.

8. BrewFan - January 11, 2007

that’s one of my all-time favorite movies

Ditto.

9. eddiebear - January 11, 2007

My wife is a Christopher Guest fan. She loved him in that movie. Personally, I thought the ROUS were the best.

Also, Wade Boggs calls Andre a lightweight as well.

10. Dave in Texas - January 11, 2007

I swear, now that I know that’s Nixon, every time I see your avatar it cracks me up.

11. Lipstick - January 11, 2007

Ditto on The Princess Bride.

Many years ago my dad pointed out Andre the Giant to me in the Pittsburgh airport. Needless to say, he towered over everybody.

12. Lipstick - January 11, 2007

Dad used to watch wrestling when I was little. Anybody remember Bruno Samartino? (sp?)

13. Dave in Texas - January 11, 2007

I remember the von Ericks

14. BrewFan - January 11, 2007

I remember Dick the Bruiser

15. Lipstick - January 11, 2007

George The Animal Steele?

16. kevlarchick - January 11, 2007

Jesse the Body Ventura?
Ravishing Rick Rude?
Stone Cold Steve Austin?

These are the cats my son used to watch.

That article in Modern Drunkard was long but surprisingly well written. There’s something to be said about the creative power of the sauce.

17. composmentis - January 11, 2007

Never got into Pro Wrestling myself. Had a friend who liked Rowdy Roddy Piper, Hulk Hogan and some of the others mentioned here.

18. geoff - January 11, 2007

I remember the name Vern Gagne back from the Andre the Giant days.

Just to get an idea of his size, check out these photos:

with Rowdy Roddy Piper

against Hulk Hogan

versus a glee club

Andre meets Frankenstein

19. geoff - January 11, 2007

And here is a photo of Hulk Hogan, Donald Trump, and Andre the Giant together.

20. skinbad - January 11, 2007

Look at that hand on Trump’s shoulder. I read somewhere that you could pass a silver dollar through one of his rings.

21. Elzbth - January 11, 2007
22. eddiebear - January 11, 2007

I was always a Ric Flair guy myself.

23. Retired Geezer - January 11, 2007

I’m thinking I once saw “Georgous George” wrestle.

Did I remember the name correctly?

24. geoff - January 11, 2007

I think it was “Gorgeous George.” “Georgeous Gorge” would be a great name for a contestant in an eating contest.

25. eddiebear - January 11, 2007

Dave:

I appreciate the laughter. I don’t take this stuff too seriously, as you can tell. I swear, the avatars I see on places like myspace and other sites tell me those people take themselves WAAAYYY too seriously.

26. Dave in Texas - January 11, 2007

How the heck would we know?

I keed, I keed.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/George_Wagner

27. Lipstick - January 11, 2007

I think so, Geezer.

Hey, your buddy taught my class yesterday! He says hi and mentioned the “roto-rooter rectulator” free treatment!

28. Retired Geezer - January 11, 2007
29. Retired Geezer - January 11, 2007

For some reason I can’t edit my comment to fix the broken link.
Apparently I don’t have Michael’s Superpowers.

Here it is again.
Here’s the link for my infamous Roto-Recta-Rootalator.

Check out the link to the, uh, Rectal Thermometer too.

30. daveintexas - January 11, 2007

Anybody up for some Dread Zeppelin?

Led Zep with a reggae beat and an Elvis frontman.

Geezer, you ever work with these guys?

http://daveintexas.wordpress.com/2007/01/11/dread-zeppelin/

31. Retired Geezer - January 11, 2007

Geezer, you ever work with these guys?

No but I once interviewed Jimmy Page in a Caesar’s Palace hotel room after a LZ concert. He was in bed with a groupie and I was so naive I assumed she was his girlfriend and asked her how she liked being on the road.
I probably still have that interview on tape somewhere.

32. Lipstick - January 11, 2007

Oh my, RG. What made you “invent” such an instrument?

33. Elzbth - January 11, 2007

Dave in Texas, that link was pure evil.

34. Dave in Texas - January 11, 2007

heh heh heh

35. kevlarchick - January 11, 2007

Geezer was with Jimmy Page. Naked. *sigh*

36. Retired Geezer - January 11, 2007

Well, I wanted a ‘gimmick’ so that people would remember me.
(I bet y’all are having trouble imagining that.)
The propman at Bally’s built it for me. A friend of mine put over $300 worth of hand chiseled engraving on it, for free.

I’ve been written up in a couple of Gun magazines and the Cowboy Chronicles. I think it was Guns & Ammo, all due to my Crazy Proctology Poker.

37. Retired Geezer - January 11, 2007

I just found one of my DJ airchecks, I think part of the Jimmy Page interview is on there. I need to figure out how to get audio off of a cassette into the Intertubes.

One of the things on the tape is: (In a British accent)
“Hi this is Jimmy Page of Led Zeppelin and you’re listening to the Pat McDonald show on KBMI radio”.

I used to be almost famous.

38. Bart - January 11, 2007

Do they make a cassette-to-cd recorder?

39. Elzbth - January 11, 2007

RG, have you ever utilized any of those devises?

40. Mrs. Peel - January 11, 2007

Princess Bride is one of my absolute favorite movies, to the point at which a guy not liking it would be grounds for a breakup. I probably have that whole movie memorized.

In other news, I’m getting ready to apply to grad school! I take the GRE next Saturday. Should be a breeze judging by the sample questions on the website. I downloaded a practice exam too.

41. daveintexas - January 11, 2007

Geezer was with Jimmy Page. Naked. *sigh*

and he looked much younger than Jimmy I’d wager.

42. eddiebear - January 11, 2007

My wife and I saw Dread Zep. at Blueberry Hill (the club n St. Louis where Chuck Berry still performs 1 Wednesday a month) back in 1998, just a week after returning from our honeymoon. Unfortunately, we were on the side where Butt-Boy stood. That was nasty. At the end of the show, somebody threw a jelly doughnut onstage, and Tortelvis took a bite out of it and threw it back into the crowd. I actually thought they were a decent act.

Oh, and Mrs. P, good luck on the GRE. Hope it goes well.

43. daveintexas - January 11, 2007

should be a breeze

Smart ain’t all that.

*kicks dirt*

44. Mrs. Peel - January 11, 2007

I better clarify…I think it will be a breeze because I am fortunate enough to have had an excellent mathematical education as a child, which has provided a foundation on which I have relied throughout my life, and I am also fortunate in that I have always loved to read. Both have had obvious widespread benefits, not least among which is my ability to perform well on standardized exams, which I do not think are a reliable measure of intelligence. In my case, they’re a measure of good luck. I believe that anyone else with the parental care I had and the same interest in reading/learning would perform equally well. (Bill Whittle over at ejectejecteject has a similar thesis; he says he can make a rocket scientist out of any kid. I think he’s right to a large extent.)

By the way, did you guys know that studies show that ugly people make bad parents? And my parents are extremely good-looking. Coincidence? I think not.

45. Barry in CO - January 11, 2007

Didn’t see Princess Bride. Don’t drink. What’s the question?

46. daveintexas - January 11, 2007

Well, if it’s not sharing too much, Mrs. Peel was kind enough to send me a graduation pic of her with mom and dad, aw shucks you shoulda seen em… so proud.

And if I do say so myself, they are quite handsome and lovely, I say that as a dad of a kid who’s gonna graduate from UT in less than a year now (BOOOYAH).

So I can’t pick on her theory. Cept for the leg. I’m wondering if it was like an accident or something. Mrs. Peel? I don’t mean to bring up painful memories or anything.

47. Michael - January 11, 2007

My wife and I saw Dread Zep. at Blueberry Hill

Been there. That’s in the U City Loop area, if memory serves.

48. Mrs. Peel - January 11, 2007

ooh, exciting. I didn’t realize your eldest was that close to finishing.

Huh. I was looking up that article on ugly people, and found some plagiarism. I finally remembered I read it on Ace. Look, here at 2:15, he says, “The cycle of violence is bad. But the cycle of fugly is worse.” And some jerk has plagiarized the joke, word-for-word, about eight hours later.

49. geoff - January 11, 2007

In other news, I’m getting ready to apply to grad school! I take the GRE next Saturday.

I’ve decided to go back myself (this is a very, very recent decision – like as of last Tuesday night). Gonna have to take the GREs sometime soon – after I get my academic strategy planned out. The generals aren’t too bad: it’s the subject test (Physics) that concerns me. Took it 15 years ago back when I still remembered scraps of my undergraduate education. Now I remember nothing.

Looks like my mental flab has built up in parallel with my physical flab. Sigh.

50. Mrs. Peel - January 11, 2007

In fact, he’s stolen THE ENTIRE POST, without attribution, and only added a joke at the end. What an ass. Should I email Ace? This is almost a year ago, though.

51. Michael - January 11, 2007

You should email Ace. Maybe he will at least make a funny post out of it.

52. Mrs. Peel - January 11, 2007

posted them both at my site. I really have to go to bed now, though.

53. Muslihoon - January 12, 2007

Strange, geoff: I just decided I will not pursue academia.

What will you be studying, if I may ask?

54. geoff - January 12, 2007

Good catch, Mrs. P.

Musli: Quantum structures and nanofabrication. I always wanted to go back someday and get a PhD in physics, but it looks like EE is the way to go for this one. But I don’t have a BSEE, so I’ve go to sort through the prerequisites for the EE courses to figure out how I tiptoe through the courses while learning as little general EE stuff as possible.

I had an epiphany this last week while I was doing some reading on the subject. I realized that this was a field in which I’d be willing to be a bitch for some punk Assistant Professor for the research part of the degree. The only field, actually.

Don’t know if I’ll make it through the PhD – that’s a long, long time, with diminishing returns for each additional year you spend beyond the MS. But I’m going to start out as if I’m going all the way, and we’ll see how it goes.

55. Wickedpinto - January 12, 2007

I could SO KICK his ass, and nail his wife, and mistresses.

56. Wickedpinto - January 12, 2007

I was an EE focused major at Purdue. Mus.

It’s kinda hard to NOT attended an EE based class while pursuing an EE degree.

EE and ME are very very dense degree’s.

57. Wickedpinto - January 12, 2007

It’s kinda hard to NOT attended an EE based class while pursuing an EE degree.

I meant to say, that about 90% of the classes tend to be VERY focused on the major. Not “you have to be smart to get that degree” but rather, That degree knows EXACTLY what they want their students to learn.

58. geoff - January 12, 2007

That is true at the undergraduate level, WP, but at the graduate level you can specialize and avoid a lot of material you’d rather not be exposed to. For instance, my MSME was all thermodynamics, fluids, and heat transfer. No structural mechanics or mechanisms for me.

So I’m betting I can find an EE track which focuses on semiconductor physics, quantum structures, and nanofabrication, and avoids the normal circuit & power courses. If I can’t, I’ll have to go through the physics department, but that would definitely be a compromise.

59. Mrs. Peel - January 12, 2007

Sounds awesome, geoff. Can we all call you “dr. geoff” now?

I’m just going non-thesis on my MEE. Later I’ll probably get an MBA.

60. S. Weasel - January 12, 2007

I like pie.

61. geoff - January 12, 2007

Can we all call you “dr. geoff” now?

I prefer “Prince of Passion.”

62. Dave in Texas - January 12, 2007

How about the Love Doctah?

63. eddiebear - January 12, 2007

Michael:

Yes, the missus and I used to love going to The Loop. Tivoli Theater has great movies, and Blueberry Hill’s vegetarian sandwich is excellent. The Delmar has the best martinis in St. Louis.

But, now that we have a toddler, we don’t get there as much as we would like.

64. composmentis - January 12, 2007

We’re talking Quantum Physics and Electrical Engineering here right? I can see how stuff this cool (and I really mean that) can give you a mental chubby, but it ain’t zactly stuff that should make you happy in your pants.

Yet, one can love and be passionate about most anything, especially what one does for a living. And Prince of Passion or The Love Doctah do have a better ring to them than say Sire of Subatomic Particles.

65. kevlarchick - January 12, 2007

Thermodynamic fluids? HOT.

66. wiserbud - January 12, 2007

spoons?

67. doc - January 12, 2007

There is no spoon.

68. composmentis - January 12, 2007

It’s a utensilar illusion.

69. harrison - January 12, 2007

Vacillating between careers?
Become a Wave Mechanic!

70. BrewFan - January 12, 2007

Like to make your object’s members public? Become a programmer!

71. Dave in Texas - January 12, 2007

Join the Army and see the world!
Meet interesting, new people.

and kill them.

72. Sticky B - January 12, 2007

When I was in college I was on the football team and one of the guys who came out to practice from time to time, and stood on the sidelines at the home games was a professional wrestler by the name of Dirty Dick Murdock. He was kinda semi-halfassed famous in Texas at that time and was treated with a degree of respect by the football program. Similar to Mathew McConaghay and the Longhorns, or Dianne Cannon and the Lakers I guess.

Dick was a pretty serious drunk himself, but in mortal proportions, unlike The Giant. One night a bunch of us were at a C&W bar in Amarillo and in walked Dirty Dick. He went up to the bar and bought a whole case of longnecks and brought them to the table where we were sitting and sat the case down on the table and took a chair behind it. After greetings and backslappings, he popped the box open and took one out and started drinking. One of my teammates made the mistaken assumption that Dick had bought an entire case because he wanted to share with us, and reached into the box to grab himself a beer. Dick glared up at him and said “Go buy your own beer boy, I ain’t carryin’ your ass.” I think that was the first time it occurred to any of us that he intended to drink the whole case himself. And he damned sure did it too. By the time we all left that night, the box was empty.

73. Michael - January 13, 2007

I like pie.

Me too. I have found that at the graduate level you can specialize in fruit pies and avoid a lot of the time you spend being exposed to bullshit pies, like rhubarb or lemon meringue.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 196 other followers

