jump to navigation

Quitting Smoking Can Kill You October 28, 2007

Posted by Retired Geezer in Gardening.
trackback

Lipstick, Michael, LauraW and the IB Puffers, Rejoice!

“Irrefutable science”
According to three doctors at the K.S. Hegde Medical Academy in Mangalore, India, writing in the journal Medical Hypotheses, giving up smoking can kill you. Arunachalam Kumar, Kasaragod Mallya, and Jairaj Kumar were “struck by the more than casual relationship between the appearance of lung cancer and an abrupt and recent cessation of the smoking habit in many, if not most, cases.”

Full Disclosure: Both my parents died of smoking-related Cancer.

In 182 of the 312 cases they had treated, an habitual smoker of at least a pack a day, for at least a quarter-century, had developed lung cancer shortly after he gave up smoking.

They reasonably surmised, that a biological mechanism protects smokers against cancer, which is strengthened by years of determined smoking. But when the smoker quits, “a surge and spurt in re-activation of bodily healing and repair mechanisms of chronic smoke-damaged respiratory epithelia is induced and spurred by an abrupt discontinuation of habit,” and “goes awry, triggering uncontrolled cell division and tumour genesis.”

Your actual mileage may vary.

The same general principle would apply: that a body long accustomed to a (frankly addictive) substance, goes haywire when the substance is removed. Verily, in the good old days, people instinctively understood things like that, without the need for medical research. And it was inconceivable that, for instance, hospitals would prevent patients from smoking, who were already medically challenged on other fronts.

More widely disseminated medical literature has documented other risks of non-smoking, that include neurotic depression, violent irritability, and obscene weight gain. But these tend to be discounted because they lead to death only indirectly.

But ladies, don’t forget that smoking add about 10 years to your apparent age.

In the past I have flagged U.N. statistics showing that life expectancy was nicely proportional to tobacco consumption, internationally — so that e.g. Japan and South Korea were respectively first and second in BOTH life expectancy AND tobacco consumption. Whereas, the lowest tobacco consumption was in “basketcase” Third World countries, where we also found some of the shortest life expectancies.

I think we could also find historical statistics showing that there is a reliable, worldwide relationship between rising tobacco consumption, and rising life expectancy, nation by nation, throughout the 19th and 20th centuries.

As Al Gore likes to say, “the science is irrefutable.”

I guess his lesson is: Don’t quit smoking.
I would add, Don’t start in the first place.

Read the rest

Comments»

1. Pupster - October 28, 2007

I suppose this is as good a place as any for my online confession. I started smoking again 3 weeks ago, and I’ve gained all the weight back that I lost in the ‘contest’ earlier this year.

I suck.

Dr. Cozy Carlisle: “Someone is either a smoker or a nonsmoker. There’s no in-between. The trick is to find out which one you are, and be that. If you’re a nonsmoker, you’ll know.”

2. cranky - October 28, 2007

Quit smoking over six years ago. Gained almost 40 pounds but have lost 18 of those in the past four months. You can quit again Pupster.

3. Cathy - October 28, 2007

Quit smoking over six years ago…

…So is that why you’re called “cranky?” *just teasing ya!*

Major Bravo on the quitting. I wish Michael would/could quit.

It stinks. And the daily experience for the non-smoker-observing-the-must-live-with-YOU-and-this-filthy-smoke is just plain disgusting.

4. daveintexas - October 28, 2007

no

comment

5. eddiebear - October 28, 2007

My dad smoked from the time he was 13 until my youngest sister was born 22 years ago. His only problem to this day is that he sucks on cough drops all day.

Maybe watching him go through all of his troubles, combined with my grandfathers die too young to heart attacks and cancer (lung) convinced me to never start. And I haven’t. The worst I get is a cigar about once a month.

6. Lipstick - October 28, 2007

I’m staying out of this one.

7. lauraw - October 28, 2007

I’d like to quit again.

Hubby and I quite once for 8 months. We did a lot of bicycling and hiking that Summer, too.

8. kevlarchick - October 28, 2007

I think about quitting all the time. There’s alot I hate about smoking, but there’s a lot I like about it. The stress of quitting and breaking the daily habit puts a rise in my blood pressure just thinking about it.

I try to keep it to 5-8 cigs a day. That keeps me from hurting others.

9. Cathy - October 28, 2007

Sorry, guys, if I seem a smidge negative about cigs.

Eddie, I with you. Watching others is convicting.

Back in college while walking on campus grounds, I saw one of the janitors step out of the building with a lit cigarette while coughing up a storm. I was heading for toward the door he just came out, and by the time I got up to him, I watched him cough up a huge blood clot, fall to his knees, and then fall completely forward on his face and die right there with big pool of blood coming out his mouth.

That one stuck.

10. Cathy - October 28, 2007

I try to keep it to 5-8 cigs a day.

KC, I don’t think I would have a problem living with someone who smoked 5-8 a day.

11. Retired Geezer - October 28, 2007

Well, I hope you smokers don’t think I was slammin’ you.

12. forged rite - October 28, 2007

The stress of quitting and breaking the daily habit puts a rise in my blood pressure just thinking about it.

That’s how i was too, and i put off quitting for quite a while because of it, then one night i had a smoke before bed and decided it would be my last. The next morning i had a little bit of a craving, but it wasn’t bad and i got through it with no problem. That afternoon i had a slight headache and aspirin took care of that. Had some trouble getting to sleep that night, but eventually nodded off. The second day after quitting? Nothing. No craving, no headache, slept like a log. So after all the time i spent worrying about how hard it would be to quit, all i had was one day of minor withdrawl symptoms. Quitting just isn’t as hard as you may think it is. And i should point out that i smoked a pack of Reds a day for twelve years.

13. kevlarchick - October 28, 2007

Forged, you may be right. I will ponder this. Sounds like you were just ready, your mind was made up. Do you miss it?

Geezer, no worries. You have the best of intentions.

14. Lipstick - October 28, 2007

No prob Geezer, you “seductive blogger”. (See AnaLys in Blog Idaho comments, hehehe)

On the train in Canada it was a lot easier than I thought it would be, except after meals. Of course knowing that there is no chance to smoke, no place to sneak off to helped. And I searched that whole train looking!

Then I got sick on the last day and it lasted a month. Coincidence?

15. cranky - October 28, 2007

I had a doctor who I told I wanted to quit smoking. He prescribed Welbrutin (?) and told me to take it for a few weeks and just pick a day to quit. Then I took the prescription for about two weeks after quitting. No problems. Now, I really hate the smell. Losing three of my grandparents and my mother to smoking related illnesses was an additional motivator to quit.

Cathy, I don’t think it is the lack of smoking that makes me cranky. :P

16. forged rite - October 28, 2007

Do you miss it?

I did at first, but that went away as i started to feel better physically. I was really surprised at how much more energy i had just a couple of weeks after quitting. I don’t have anything against smokers btw, and i think all these anti-smoking laws are ridiculous. I just wanted to point out that quitting may not be as hard as you think (sorry if i sounded preachy).

17. daveintexas - October 28, 2007

no.

comment.

18. Pupster - October 28, 2007

Dave? Daa-aave? Did you start smoking again?

19. Michael - October 28, 2007

I thing Forged is right (pun intended). I’ve quit in the past, cold turkey, and it wasn’t really all that bad. The chemical addiction is not the main issue. The issue is, do you want to quit. That issue is a lot more complicated.

20. daveintexas - October 28, 2007

no.

comment.

yes.

oh fuck.

21. Pupster - October 28, 2007

*gasp*

22. daveintexas - October 28, 2007

argh..

23. Pupster - October 28, 2007

I’m starting the Adkins diet again tomorrow, just got back from the store where I stocked up on meat, cheese, eggs and heavy cream.

I binged all this weekend on pasta, potatoes and pancakes. I’ll have a big bowl of cereal for dinner, then no more carbs for two weeks.

I’ll quit smoking again after I can fit back into the new clothes I bought after the last diet.

24. daveintexas - October 28, 2007

you’re killing me

I gained 10 pounds through the contest, since Christmas, cause I ate whatever the hell I wanted to.

I’m deeply back into the South Beach thing now, cause I know it works.

I don’t want to talk about the smoking.

25. Michael - October 28, 2007

Fortunately, we’re going to have lots of protein you can binge on at the IBSBP. Russ is bringing farm grown beef from Iowa.

26. Michael - October 28, 2007

And we’ll have eggs, bacon and sausage at the IBSBP Champagne Brunch™, so you will have something to eat whilst you are ignoring Mrs. Michael’s Special Fluffy Belgian Waffles™.

27. Michael - October 28, 2007

Dave, you will also have to ignore Mrs. Michael’s Most Excellent Pie™. I just talked to her, and she is planning to make some really wicked pies. Pecan. Apple. Etc.

Just ignore them. I know you can. You are a strong man with great will power. Who cares about pie?

28. BrewFan - October 28, 2007

I am starting week 4 of my diet. I’ve dropped 15 pounds so far and am shooting for another 15 at least. I’ve been doing Weight Watchers (without the meetings) which I find the best diet as you’re not deprived of any particular food. Its a bit of a pain to figure out the ‘points’ but once you do it for a few weeks it becomes second nature. I never had a weight problem until I quit smoking (on 11/24/2001) but I would never, ever start smoking again. All you IBers who smoke I want you to quit tomorrow you big pussies.*

*I say this with respect and love and with the hope one day you’ll look back on this comment and say, “What an asshole that BrewFan was. But he was right”.**

**Do you put the period inside or outside the quote mark?***

***If you know the answer to this you need to get a life****

****Just kidding :)

29. Michael - October 28, 2007

*I say this with respect and love and with the hope one day you’ll look back on this comment and say, “What an asshole that BrewFan was. But he was right”.**

I’m already looking back on this comment and saying that you’re an asshole, so you are making some progress.

**Do you put the period inside or outside the quote mark?***

Inside. I believe Mrs. Peel will support my position.

***If you know the answer to this you need to get a life****

See, I was right about you being an asshole.

30. daveintexas - October 28, 2007

I’m going to snack on Slim Jims and cashews for three months just so I can have me some of dat pie.

Pie.

*eyes rolling back*

pie.

31. Michael - October 28, 2007

BTW, Brew, all kidding aside, it would be great if you could make the IBSBP. We would love to meet you, and I could use some help from you, as an Assistant Site Administrator, in dealing with Dave when he starts purging his pie binge.

32. Bart - October 28, 2007

**Do you put the period inside or outside the quote mark?**

Both. You can’t go wrong with both.

33. daveintexas - October 28, 2007

really. how many editor-Strunk and White types are there in the world?

34. Michael - October 28, 2007

In the history of mankind, there have been three, and only three, major publishing events.

1. God, The Gutenberg Bible.

2. Adam Smith, The Wealth of Nations.

3. Strunk & White, The Elements of Style.

35. Michael - October 28, 2007

Well, maybe four major events. If you expand the definition of “publishing events” to include more than print media, you would have to mention the Barbie Girl YouTube video.

36. Bart - October 28, 2007

The dictionary was major.

You would know that if you read my comments and watched Blackadder.

37. Michael - October 28, 2007

OK, actually five major events, because if you mention the Barbie Girl video then you really should give a shout out for My Boobs Are OK.

38. Bart - October 28, 2007

What about The Godfather?

39. daveintexas - October 28, 2007

Medieval Black Adder or WWI Black Adder?

40. Bart - October 28, 2007

Medieval.

WWI was good with Capt. Darling.

hee hee, it still cracks me up.

Saying the name “FRUIT PIE THE MAGICIAN” is what’s currently cracking me up. I’ve been giggling about it since yesterday.

41. Mrs. Peel - October 28, 2007

Well, then, don’t read this comic, Bart.

Inside, Brew. Also, it’s a quotation mark, not a quote mark.

mmm pie! My favorite is coconut meringue, but strawberry pie is a close second, and of course I love pumpkin pie and pecan pie and chocolate pie.

I tried to make a chocolate pie once, but it just wouldn’t set up. It ended up being more of a chocolate pudding. You had to eat it with a spoon. Oh well. Still tasted good. And the meringue did turn out well, thanks to my mom.

42. daveintexas - October 28, 2007

I liked em both too, but medieval BA was better.

43. Michael - October 28, 2007

of course I love pumpkin pie

That’s not “of course.” I hate pumpkin pie. I can’t say why; I just don’t like it. I also hate rhubarb pie. In my opinion, rhubarb pie is just Slimy Snot Pie.

I tried to make a chocolate pie once, but it just wouldn’t set up.

Cathy makes really good chocolate pie. She has a funny story about how I ate an entire chocolate pie, after a full meal. She has another story about how I ate 8 hamburgers at a picnic.

When we were first married (meaning, the first 15 years), I was a skinny kid who weighed 165 lbs, I ate like I had a tapeworm, and my weight never changed.

44. Lipstick - October 28, 2007

You weighed 165 — at your height?

45. Sobek - October 28, 2007

Lemon merengue and chocolate pudding pie for me. I had chocolate pudding pie instead of cake for my last birthday.

The wife loves pumpkin pie, and has it every year for her birthday.

46. Michael - October 28, 2007

Yup. I was a beanpole. I can show you pictures. In my thirties, I was lifting weights, and that look went away for good.

47. Lipstick - October 28, 2007

*Lipstick looks at pictures*

Aaaah! He showed me his beanpole!!!

48. bartwing plover - October 28, 2007

Remeber roasting PUPKIN SEEDS in the oven after carving the JACKOLANTERN?

49. Michael - October 28, 2007

Aaaah! He showed me his beanpole!!!
:)

Bart may appreciate this — I think that when I was a kid I had a very high metabolic rate and easily burned every calorie I ate. I attribute that to stress. When I was lifting, I added a lot of muscle mass that helped to adjust all that.

Now, I’m just another late-middle-aged guy trying not to be chubby.

50. Michael - October 28, 2007

Also, lifting weight is actually a very good way to deal with stress.

51. Cathy - October 28, 2007

Boston 4 – Rockies 3
Bottom of the 8th

52. Michael - October 28, 2007

We’re cheering for Boston because Son Michael lives there, and recently took us on a walk to see Fenway Park.

53. bartwing plover - October 28, 2007

Now, I’m just another late-middle-aged guy trying not to be chubby.

Welcome to the club.

54. Lipstick - October 29, 2007

Chill out.

55. Retired Geezer - October 29, 2007

Lipstick said Chill Out to the spammer.

Heh, I nuked that spam.

I HAVE THE POWER!

56. Lipstick - October 29, 2007

(chorus singing)

“He’s got the POW-ER!”

57. sandy burger - October 29, 2007

all i had was one day of minor withdrawl symptoms

I had gnarly withdrawal symptoms that lasted for quite a few days. But that wasn’t the hard part; I just distracted myself as best I could by drinking heavily and smoking pot. The hard part was weeks and months later, when I’d be out drinking with friends or something, and then I’d see somebody light up. It was like everything went slow-mo and they got magic glamor sparkles around them, the lucky bastards.

I can’t put it into words, but I swear that nicotine physically rewires your brain to be a smoker. There is nothing more infuriating than a smarmy non-smoker, because they simply can not understand how hard it is to quit.

I have no cravings to speak of any more, though. I am a free man.

58. sandy burger - October 29, 2007

Brewfan asked, “Do you put the period inside or outside the quote mark?”.

Sure, the officially correct answer is inside. But I play by my own rules. I’m a grammar rebel. I punctuate rationally.

Yeah, I’m pretty f’n hardcore.

59. sandy burger - October 29, 2007

I hate pumpkin pie.

I like pumpkin pie just fine. What I have a problem with is cheesecake.

60. Bart - October 29, 2007

sandypinto?

61. Mrs. Peel - October 29, 2007

cheesecake, yuck. I can’t stand anything with cream cheese. That stuff is so f’n gross. Which can be irritating – I love carrot cake, but no one ever uses any icing but cream cheese, so I usually eat the cake and leave a little mound of icing on the plate.

62. eddiebear - October 29, 2007

Michael:

So, I guess you’re not down with the Vulgate of St. Jerome?

63. eddiebear - October 29, 2007

I was impressed to see the overturned cars and drunks getting hauled off by the cops in Bahstun last night. To quote the Southies who cleaned my office when I worked at the natick Labs right out of College, it was Wicked Pissah!

64. cranky - October 29, 2007

While stationed in Massachusetts I took great delight in the failures of the Sox, Patriots, and Bruins because their fans took the losing so personally. So it really sucks to see them become world beaters.

Screw you, Bean Town.

65. lauraw - October 29, 2007

The Patriots are winning by too much, deliberately, and rubbing it in, too. It is downright wrong and shameful.

Not classy.

Heh.

a heh he he heh

66. aj - November 25, 2007

hey did you know that smoking can kill you – losers

67. eddiebear - November 26, 2007

^so can sticking my head in a lion’s mouth. What’s your point.
Loser.

68. Car men - January 10, 2008

nvdfhsgdvgvd,jfbvf

69. Hilary Duff - April 28, 2008

Car Man your are sooo sexy!!! love ya -Hilary Duff

70. Hilary Duff - April 28, 2008

Car men you are soooooo sexy love yaa -?Hilary Duff

71. Anonymous - December 5, 2008

71. Cathy – Nova Scotia – December 5, 2008

I recently quit smoking, and I am doing it without Nicoderm or any kind of therapy. I was diagnosed with COPD, a year and a half ago, I have severe sleep apnea and I smoked approx. 10 cigarettes a day for the past 26 years. I am only 40 years old. I have 3 children and I need to be around to see them grow and flourish. My husband does not smoke and never has. He tries really hard to support me even though he could never understand how hard it is too quit, he could only imagine. BUT, I had double pneumonia 2 weeks ago, and have been basically living on puffers and anitbiotics to be able to breathe, I guess, if you get pissed off enough at the fact that you can not breathe, that is all the will power I needed and a lot of self talking to get through the cravings. I got to say though, I have quit 3 times before with Nicoderm and other products and I really believe that this time, I have had enough, and I am determined to quit. That’s what it really boils down too. I feel really good about my decision. Anybody out there stuggling, the self talking to get yourself through the cravings, and nice quiet music, relaxing music helps. check out Healing Music Emporium, the music really works. Good Luck to everyone else trying to quit.

72. Janice - December 5, 2008

Hello in Nova Scotia. Congratualtions on quitting smoking, sounds like you will succeed this time, you have the right mind set and I know what you mean about the relaxation music. I have actually used the Healing Music Emporium, http://www.healing music emporium.com, that guy has some really cool music and his blogging is fantastic. I recommend others go to his site and see what he’s got. There is nothing worse than having a craving where your brain feels like it is crawling and going to explode. Healing Music Emporium has “Brain Music”, and it is just that, it is really amazing how it works, he helped me get through some wicked cravings with his music.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 196 other followers

