jump to navigation

Olympic Athletes Really Love To Love Each Other August 13, 2008

Posted by Edward von Bear in Ducks, Economics, Food, Heroes, Literature, Man Laws, Personal Experiences, Sports.
trackback

All these years, I thought only the Dallas Cowboys, Keith Hernandez, and The NBA approached random casual sex with the same vigor that I approach the All-You-Can-Eat Sushi Happy Hour Fun Time at Mr. Sushi. But I was wrong.

It turns out those paragons of virtue and innocence, namely Olympic Athletes not named Kobe, really love to get acquainted with each other after the day is through. So much so, 100,000 condoms are available at the Olympic Village.

While sex is not an Olympic sport it is expected to be an activity in the Beijing village housing 10,500 athletes, all of whom are in great shape and with plenty of free time on their hands once knocked out of the Games.

Athletes have received free condoms at every Olympics since Barcelona in 1992 to help raise awareness of AIDS, and Beijing is no exception.

“There are many young, strong, single people in the athletes’ village and, like everywhere, some will fall in love or other things so we need to make condoms available,” Ole Hansen, spokesman for UNAIDS China, told Reuters.

“A lot of these young people are not married or in relationships so we want to make sure they have the information and tools to protect themselves if they have sexual encounters.”

The UNAIDS, the Beijing organising committee BOCOG and International Olympics Committee are providing 100,000 condoms as part of a campaign on HIV prevention and anti-discrimination.

At the Sydney Games in 2000 athletes quickly exhausted a supply of 70,000 and another 20,000 had to be brought in.

Well, lets see who could be top contenders to exhaust this supply.
First up:

Some members of the German Female Athletic Contingent. These brave lasses gamely shed their clothes to discuss the Georgian War. Well, at least that is what I gathered when I went to the original source document. But my German is a bit rusty. Anyway, here is a snippet from the German version of a certain magazine that has great writing from George Plimpton and lotsa skin. But mostly skin.

Petra Niemann is competing in her third Olympiad, and sailing is her game. “I’ve been working hard with my psychologist,” she told Playboy, as if to suggest this had something to do with sport or being naked.

Kayaker Nicole Reinhardt is one of Germany’s best hopes for gold in Beijing, and is grateful that her sport is about technique, so the “dickere und kräftigere” (”butch”) ladies have nothing on her svelte frame.

Yeah. I told you the interviews were great.

Another contender is Spanish Rhythmic Gymnast Almudena Cid Tostado, who was kind enough to pose for the Spanish version of FHM, which also has great articles.

Comments»

1. xbradtc - August 14, 2008

There’s a reason I spent almost 4 VERY happy years in Germany..

2. Mrs. Peel - August 14, 2008

I would think the male athletes would understand the vital importance of denying women their essence, but apparently not.

This house stuff is causing some interesting financial adjustments. It’s the first time in my life I’ve ever carried debt on a credit card, and it’s already bugging me. (Also, up until a couple months ago, my only debt was my car, which will be paid off next summer, and now I have over $100,000 of debt. *twitch*) I keep wanting to try to pay it off as fast as possible, rather than as slowly as possible given that I have zero interest until late next year. (I actually could pay off all of the credit card debt right this second, but I would have to dip slightly into the money I have set aside for rainy days.)

I also am trying to figure out what percentage of my net income should go into retirement/investment, and what percentages should go into saving for the long term (kitchen remodel), medium term (Hardi siding), and short term (pots, pans, whatever else I turn out to need). I already have 5% going into retirement straight from my paycheck, but I need to add to that so as to maximize my tax deductions, and I need to start a Roth IRA.

And don’t even get me started on figuring out where to distribute my largesse, or figuring out how much extra to pay on the mortgage.

Being a grownup kinda sucks sometimes.

3. Mrs. Peel - August 14, 2008

And Christmas. I have to start budgeting for Christmas now, don’t I? ARGH. lauraw, any chance you could cut me a deal on shipping some packages?

I am totally buying a two-foot-high pre-dec tree and calling that my Christmas decorating.

4. cranky - August 14, 2008

HIV prevention and anti-discrimination.

Anti-discrimination? How do condoms fit in with anti-discrimination. That’s fucking stupid.

5. geoff - August 14, 2008

As far as mortgages go, I always like the idea of paying an extra helping of principal. That is, if the principal portion of your payment is $100, then pay an extra $100. Then you know you’re paying off the loan in almost half the time. But I’d pay off the car first and then start pounding on the mortgage and upping my retirement contributions.

If you’re confident that you won’t just run up the credit card again, then you should pay it off. Use the credit card as a “rainy day” backup until you can recharge your rainy day money.

6. eddiebear - August 14, 2008

2: well, the elite ones wait until after they have finished their events. The ones with no hope just want to go and have fun.

7. Chinese Gymnast - August 14, 2008

me love you 9.6

8. kevlarchick - August 14, 2008

Largesse? I though Peel was a little thing.

9. skinbad - August 14, 2008

“And now back to Rowdy and Dan for the finals in the 15 centimeter flagellum stroke . . . .”

10. xbradtc - August 14, 2008

Pay off the credit card first, before you even think of adding principal payments to the mortgage. Look at the interest rates. Always pay off the higher interests faster. Second, you get a tax break on mortgage, so it’s “good debt”. Once all your other debts are paid off, and you have maxed out your retirement contributions, then look at adding to the principal payment.

11. xbradtc - August 14, 2008

9.6? Is that how old the Chinese gymnast was?

12. Mrs. Peel - August 14, 2008

The credit card is zero interest until next November or so, which is why I am paying it slowly. And no, I won’t run up more debt. I never carry credit card debt. The only reason I have it now is that I had to buy furniture, linens, kitchen stuff, etc., and since I had the zero percent card, I decided to put that kind of thing on that card so I could afford to make repairs (which required cash) now. It’s just bugging me because this is the first time I have ever not paid a card off in full in the seven years or so that I’ve had them.

*twitch*

I also have a big raise coming in January, so that should make quite a difference. yay

13. Michael - August 14, 2008

*twitch*

You have all the right instincts about debt, and investing for the future. You’ll do just fine.

Don’t neglect to max out your 401k contribution to the extent necessary to get whatever your employer’s matching contribution is. That is incredibly important at your age, where the miracle of compounding has a huge amount of leverage, and the employer matching contribution is not money you want to leave on the table.

14. Tushar - August 14, 2008

Mrs Peel,
here is an idea I used: My wife won’t let me put much money in stocks etc because she thinks we need to have the ungodly sum of $50K as rainy day money. I am quite confident that I could raise money quickly by selling some part of the portfolio, but she won;t listen. So, I got a 50K home equity line of credit. They gave me a checkbook, which I can call my rainy day fund, and hopefully never use. Thus, I get to put all my money in stocks, and piss it away like an idiot.
Ok, don’t take this advice…


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 175 other followers

