jump to navigation

Fall Vacation October 27, 2008

Posted by skinbad in Ducks, Entertainment, Family, Personal Experiences, Travel.
trackback

The kids have a “Fall Break” so all the public education teachers in the state can enjoy two days of screwing off like the rest of us attend important workshops to strengthen their teaching skills and knowledge. We spent three days hiking around Arches National Park with three other families from the neighborhood. The weather cooperated in a spectacular fashion. I know you’re all dying for the travel pictures. Here are a few:

 

Well. That’s not Arches. We found him in the window well. Hold on. I’ll get the hang of this.

We paid for a ranger to guide us on a hike of the “Fiery Furnace.” None of us had done this part of the park before. Lots of sandstone fins without marked trails. I guess they don’t want you to die in there.

More Fiery Furnace–quite shady and nice, actually.

Old Man Skinny bringing up the rear with youngest daughter

Fairly artistic shot–good job, Mrs. Skinny

This was Skull Arch (I think)

The second day we were looking for a tunnel that a maniac brother-in-law hiker told us about. This wasn’t it. But we were on the hunt. 

We were following a wash full of Cottonwoods and willows (and lots of hellish thorns, burrs, and cacti. Those are the LaSalle Mountains. That’s part of the charm of the area. You can be in the middle of miles of fantastic red rock formations and you’ve got that in the background.

We (meaning the Mrs. and a little neighbor kid) finally found it. We hiked way past it and ran into it on the way back. The tunnel is about 50 feet long and runs clear through this sandstone fin.

Mrs. S. looking in. She’s a persistent little cuss. We crowded in and chased the bat out and slid on our butts down the other side. A good time was had by all.

Comments

1. kevlarchick - October 27, 2008

Absolutely gorgeous. Man I need to get out more.

Mrs Skinny looks very pretty in that last picture.

2. Dave in Texas - October 27, 2008

WATCH OUT FOR SNAKES!

3. Mare - October 27, 2008

I like the desert feel and the mountainous backdrop.

Looks like great fun.

4. Mare - October 27, 2008

I like the desert feel and the mountainous backdrop.

Looks like great fun.

5. eddiebear - October 27, 2008

So, what are the plans for the theater mentioned in the paper?

6. Retired Geezer - October 27, 2008

Nice pics. Mrs. Geezer and I went through Arches about 20 years ago but not to the extent that you did.

Didn’t one of them fall within the past 20 years?

7. eddiebear - October 27, 2008

Oh, and all kidding aside with my #5 post, well played.

8. Sobek - October 27, 2008

There are two kinds of people in this world: those who find one of those things in their window well and run screaming like a little girl, and those who think “I need a picture of that crawling on my hand.”

Awesome pics.

9. skinbad - October 27, 2008

There’s an old, historic theater on Main Street in one of the little nearby towns. They’re trying to restore it. I think that’s the new local dentist as well. I haven’t met him yet. Just pre-empting the next question. 🙂

There was a really recent collapse:
http://www.nps.gov/arch/parknews/news080808.htm

And a big chunk fell from the bottom of Landscape Arch in ’91
http://www.naturalarches.org/big9-1.htm

10. Cathy - October 27, 2008

Great picture-story, Mr. & Mrs. Skinbad. Thanks so much for sharing.

Michael and I were in Arches about 25 years ago, I think, but it was more of a drive-thru on the way to California. I’m sorry we didn’t stop to take the time to take in more.

*note to self*revisit Arches, Zion, Bryce, Yosemite, etc.*good stuff!!*

11. Pupster - October 27, 2008

Nice pics Skinbad. I’m glad you guys had fun and didn’t get bit by any moose.

12. Wickedpinto - October 27, 2008

Mrs. Skinny is a babe, LauraW, also she can shoot like I can lie, which is pretty damn good, so can her husband, which is why I haven’t done the “situation” thing with The good and lethal lady skinny.

You can only take cover for so long.

And I love the desert, prolly cuz even though I sweat like a pig, I was raised in a place that didn’t have many hills, let alone mountains.

13. skinbad - October 27, 2008

She’s a keeper. But she needs her other ear kissed, WP. She’s not quite to the broken sammich bringer phase yet.

14. Wickedpinto - October 28, 2008

I didn’t kiss the ear on purpose!!!

It was supposed to be the “cheek touch air kiss” thing.

Don’t blame me, cuz she has bad ballance!!

15. Wickedpinto - October 28, 2008

you guys musta been drunk!

16. skinbad - October 28, 2008

It was supposed to be the “cheek touch air kiss” thing.

Well what in the hell was the wrapping your pipe-cleaner legs around me and pressing your junk into my hip supposed to be?!!!

*shivering douche-chills*

17. Wickedpinto - October 28, 2008

Well, that was special, supposed to be between just us.

18. Wickedpinto - October 28, 2008

And I don’t have pipe cleaner leg’s, You can hammer damascus steel on my thighs!

Like a ROCK!

I let my shoulders go, but my thighs? I can seperate rhodium from uranium between my thighs. . . .

That might explain my small testicles, but STILL!!!

19. skinbad - October 28, 2008

‘Salright. I only wake up crying once a month or so now.

20. Wickedpinto - October 28, 2008

And you didn’t have to apply ass lotion!


Sorry comments are closed for this entry