jump to navigation

Almost Famous… in Finland January 3, 2011

Posted by Retired Geezer in Man Laws, Music.
trackback

Anybody who has read my blog, knows of my addiction unhealthy fascination interest in the Power Lines that are in the big field near Camp Geezer ™. In fact, when the Skinbad Clan visited us a couple of years ago, I would catch them all staring at them, as if mesmerized.
Many times I have gotten up before sunrise and trudged out through the snow to take photos of them. (the power lines, not Teh Skinbads).
Apparently all that work has paid off.
Back in September I received a letter from a young man in Finland named Tapio Oksa. He liked one of the power line photos that I had posted on my blog and wanted to use it for the cover of his CD. I gave him my blessing to use it in whatever way he wished as long as he gave me photo credit.

Imagine my surprise when I received a package from Kankaanpää, Finland today. Inside were 3 copies of his CD and a nice letter.

TAJU, is the name of his group. It’s a duo with his friend Juho Hakala. Tapio tells me that they do ‘Ambient Music’, using pre-programmed synthesizers and live keyboards. Mrs. Geezer and I enjoyed it. It reminded me of ‘Art of Noise’. Tapio was proud of the fact that they were able to perform at the Milavida Palace, as it was opened to the public for the first time in 12 years. Here’s the picture he sent me of that event.

It wouldn’t surprise me if Michael or Lipstick has visited the palace.

The title of their CD is ‘XYZ‘. You can see that they photoshopped the power lines to spell it out in the picture at the top of this post.

Here’s the money shot: You can click the back side of his CD cover to see my name in lights print. See, I’m Almost Famous.

Best wishes to Tapio and Juho.
Here’s their blog: http://taju.cjb.net/

As of today, Innocent Bystanders has had 3998 visitors from Finland. Perhaps when I tell them about this post, we will reach 4000.

Comments»

1. Retired Geezer - January 3, 2011

I’m sending one of the CD’s to Michael and Cathy.

The other one goes to the first person who asks.

2. Dave in Texas - January 3, 2011

That photo reminded me of the cover art on Pat Metheny’s As Falls Wichita, So Falls Wichita Falls.

Nice to see it appreciated.

3. Retired Geezer - January 3, 2011

Good catch, Dave.

4. Michael - January 3, 2011

It wouldn’t surprise me if Michael or Lipstick has visited the palace.

Nah. Closest I got was Stockholm. Business trip with Ericsson. I got to see the old town and had a ride on a yacht past a whole bunch of islands.

Nobody goes to Finland unless they have business with Nokia. Finland is like the Ukraine and many similar places. They’re probably pretty interesting places with a fascinating history and cool stuff to see and good looking women, but nobody goes there. Probably because the food sucks.

5. Michael - January 3, 2011

RG, I’m looking forward to the CD. The Intertubes is indeed a marvel.

The amazing thing about this is that some kids in Finland actually found a photo on a really obscure site owned by a retired guy in Idaho that featured power line towers that (might) spell out XYZ.

How the hell did that happen?

No search engine is that good.

6. Retired Geezer - January 3, 2011

How the hell did that happen?

Skinbad blabbed.

Or Evil Con Carne.

7. Michael - January 3, 2011

Skinbad blabbed.

Or Evil Con Carne.

Me, I would point the finger at Russ. He is always amazingly current on obscure bands that nobody cares about.

8. Dave in Texas - January 3, 2011

>> Good catch, Dave.

Memory is a funny thing.

And by “funny” I mean “goddamned annoying sometimes”.

9. lauraw - January 3, 2011

You’re already famous.
Why didn’t you have them credit your real name?

10. skinbad - January 3, 2011

Cool stuff, R.G. Mrs. Skinny thinks this is pretty neat as well.

11. geoff - January 3, 2011

I’m kind of a fan of trance and ambient, where by “kind of a fan” I mean I’m pretty addicted. So, since Enas isn’t around…

12. THe Lovely Janis - January 3, 2011

Way Cool!!!

#7 I would have to agree with that!

13. Dave in Texas - January 3, 2011

RG is the only person here who would link something called “money shot” that I wouldn’t be afraid to click.

14. Mitchell - January 3, 2011

So, since Enas isn’t around…
D’oh! Day late and a dollar short!

Very cool RG! Congrats!

15. geoff - January 3, 2011

Dang – now Enas and I will have to arm rassle.

16. Retired Geezer - January 4, 2011

Why didn’t you have them credit your real name?

Ahhh, no money was involved and more people know me by RG than my real name.
It was just for fun.

17. Sobek - January 4, 2011

RG, that is butt-kickin awesome. Seriously.

Here are some pretty pictures of Finland: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JtA9Js-22ko

18. BrewFan - January 4, 2011

Can I have your autograph?

*holds out Real Idaho Potato™ and Sharpie*

19. skinbad - January 4, 2011

I would catch them all staring at them, as if mesmerized.I would catch them all staring at them, as if mesmerized.

Actually, we were usually staring at Bud the Welder–wondering when he was going to put pants on.

20. Retired Geezer - January 4, 2011

Actually, we were usually staring at Bud the Welder–wondering when he was going to put pants on.

Oh crap, I bet you were there on a Tuesday, weren’t you?

21. Tushar - January 4, 2011

Way to go, RG!

Personally, I would have used that photo of yours holding a few intimidating syringes, with a apprehensive horse in the background. But those Finnish kids made a good choice too.

22. kevl - January 4, 2011

Great story Geezer. And very cool photo. It’s important to pursue what you love!

23. MostlyRight - January 4, 2011

Retired Geezer isn’t your real name?

Great photo, and I like how they Photoshopped it too.

24. Cathy - January 4, 2011

Kudos, Retired Geezer!

What a great story! Thanks for sharing it.

25. Lipstick - January 4, 2011

Yay Geezer, you always have the coolest stories.

Nobody goes to Finland unless they have business with Nokia.

I was in Helsinki last summer. It was beautiful.

26. harrison - January 4, 2011

And your connection with Nokia is…

27. Lipstick - January 4, 2011

I used to have one of their phones! :)

28. harrison - January 4, 2011

AHA!!!

29. Retired Geezer - January 4, 2011

So, if I switch back to Nokia, I get a free trip to Finland?

Sweet.

30. daveintexas - January 4, 2011

>> It’s important to pursue what you love!

Unless it has four legs and can outrun you.

Or it could be this.

http://www.despair.com/persistence.html

31. Retired Geezer - January 4, 2011

I see by the IB Official Flag Counter that Finland has topped 4000.

Shouldn’t I be elegible for an Award of some kind?

32. Michael - January 4, 2011

Finns only come here to look at the Yeti picture.

33. Retired Geezer - January 4, 2011

Dude, you better not talk about Lipstick that way.

Just sayin’

34. Cathy - January 4, 2011

Sure, Geezer. How ’bout the Award Of Some Kind

35. Michael - January 5, 2011

Award of some kind

OK, I vote that Geezer is entitled to a Nobel Peace Prize.

Happy now?

36. Retired Geezer - January 5, 2011

OK, I vote that Geezer is entitled to a Nobel Peace Prize.

No thanks, they give those out to anybody these days.

37. I’ve Got the Power | Innocent Bystanders - September 19, 2013

[…] Here’s another photo being used on the Album cover from a music group from Finland: […]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 199 other followers

