jump to navigation

Waiting for a Girl Like You October 4, 2011

Posted by Retired Geezer in Music.
Tags:
trackback

Since I did my post on Paul Carrick, I have been thinking about all the Great Voices of Rock. Here’s my second offering, Lou Gramm, the lead vocalist for Foreigner.

Sorry, embedding is disabled on this video but it’s the best version I could find.

This song is the ringtone I hear when Mrs. Geezer calls me on the phone.

When I call her, she hears the sound of the Red Phone from Our Man Flint.

‘Waiting’ wasn’t their biggest hit, that honor belongs to ‘I Want to Know What Love Is’.

The song features backing vocals from the New Jersey Mass Choir. The choir appears in the song’s music video.

Comments»

1. Retired Geezer - October 4, 2011

I’ll try to find that Flint Phone wav for your listening pleasure.

2. daveintexas - October 4, 2011

For some reason I was never able to get it to work on my iPhone4

3. Retired Geezer - October 4, 2011

I think because it was a WAV file. I sent you the iPhone ringtone.

4. daveintexas - October 4, 2011

I like you.

5. geoff - October 4, 2011

I loved the Flint movies.

6. lauraw - October 4, 2011

This song is the ringtone I hear when Mrs. Geezer calls me on the phone.

AWWWWWWWW! Pure sweetness.

7. BrewFan - October 4, 2011

My nomination for Great Voices of Rock (and jazz) is Joni. This clip has the added bonus of some great Tom Scott sax.

8. Retired Geezer - October 4, 2011

Thanks, Brew, I have a couple of Wimmins in line for Vocal Legends
but I had forgotten about Joni.

In other news.
I’m hoping that Geoff will write a post to put us some knowledge about Cain’s 999 plan.

http://www.hermancain.com/999plan

9. TXMarko - October 4, 2011

I LOVE Lou Gramm’s voice. Foreigner was on the FOX & Friends remote at The Villages last week and Lou still had the pipes.

Joni ain’t too bad either. Her Court & Spark needs to be listened to end to end, no cherry-picking allowed. Great experience.

10. TXMarko - October 4, 2011

Geezer, please don’t omit Karen Carpenter in your Vocal Legends search… 40 years on and the Carpenters are STILL played at Weddings and at Christmas time…

11. daveintexas - October 4, 2011

Flint was a Murcan spy, not like that dandy James Bond.

12. BrewFan - October 4, 2011

Karen Carpenter had the sweetest voice. I love her songs. Court and Spark is Joni’s best album but I highly recommend the Miles of Aisles live album because of her work with Tom Scott and the L.A. Express. There are some great sax pieces on that album.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 193 other followers

