jump to navigation

Initial Unemployment Claims Skyrocket November 15, 2012

Posted by geoff in News.
trackback

The Initial Unemployment Claims report came out this morning, showing a sudden surge in claims from 363,000 last week to 439,000 this week. A significant amount of the increase is probably due to Hurricane Sandy – we’ll know for sure next week when the state-by-state info comes out (the state reports lag the national reports by a week).

Here’s what the claims data looks like since 2009. As you can see, we haven’t made any headway for almost a year. Welcome to prosperity, Obama-style.

One oddity in the report – make of it what you will. Last year the seasonal correction for this week was +31,000. This year the correction was -27,000. WTH?

Did they just erase 58,000 claims from the data?

Comments»

1. geoff - November 15, 2012

And now the Europeans have fallen into recession. It’s official:

The eurozone has slipped into recession for a second time in four years, as the sharp fall in activity in debt-ridden southern Europe economies weighed on output across the region.

Looks like the market is heading south again today.

2. lauraw - November 15, 2012

Hey geoff, have you been over to chizumatic lately?

3. geoff - November 15, 2012

I saw the news about Den Beste yesterday – damn shame. I hope he recovers quickly.

That said, I can’t stand his taste in anime, so I rarely visit Chizumatic. He hates action/mecha/monsters and I hate cutesy fairy girls. We’ll never see eye-to-eye.

4. geoff - November 15, 2012

About the only thing we do agree on is that many series draw girls with breasts so big that they detract, rather than add, to fan service (fan service = putting in the eye candy for teen boys and me). His standard is “no breasts bigger than her head.” I quite agree.

Oh yeah – the other thing we agree on is the “loli” characters, which are prepubescent girls who are treated as fully eligible love interests in some anime series. Nauseating for the western viewer.

5. lauraw - November 15, 2012

I know you think that’s a difference but all you anime people look the same to me.

6. geoff - November 15, 2012

I should have mentioned, though, that way back when he was running USS Clueless, I was an avid reader. I especially like his posts on energy.

7. geoff - November 15, 2012

I know you think that’s a difference but all you anime people look the same to me.

That’s so harsh. Compare and contrast:

Here’s one of den Bestes’ faves: A Little Snow Fairy Sugar (seriously, he likes this)

Here are a couple of mine: Hellsing and Trigun

8. geoff - November 15, 2012

Of course, my cinematic tastes were fully mature at age 16, which may account for some of the difference.

9. Retired Geezer - November 15, 2012

I just watched the Snow Fairy Sugar vid. Question: Are Lips that hard to draw or do Japanese just remove them surgically?
No lips in that vid, just mouth outlines.

10. geoff - November 15, 2012

Maybe lack of lips makes them cuter?

11. daveintexas - November 15, 2012

creepier.

Little anime girls just seem creepy and wrong to me.

And the action stuff..

ok, anime is not my thang.

12. geoff - November 15, 2012

Kinda figured.

13. Michael - November 15, 2012

I tried looking at some hentai, but you find some really creepy shit real fast. I had to hose down my computer with Lysol.

14. daveintexas - November 15, 2012

I’m not judging you.

15. geoff - November 15, 2012

Did they just erase 58,000 claims from the data?

No one else seems to have noticed this. But the seasonal adjustments seem to be wandering all over the place over the past couple of weeks, so maybe it’s nothing.

16. Pupster - November 15, 2012

His standard is “no breasts bigger than her head.” I quite agree.

With or without pony tail?

17. Mr. Matamoros - November 15, 2012

Thanks to Obama, Happy days are here again!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 195 other followers

