jump to navigation

slice of life November 26, 2012

Posted by digitalbrownshirt in Crime, Family, Personal Experiences, Stupid shit, WTF?.
trackback

I came home from lunch Sunday and found my youngest son wearing a pair of these:

Youngest son: “Dad, check these out!”

Me: “Um, what are they?” (in my head, it sounded like WTF?)

Oldest son: “His gay shoes.”

Mom: “Hush!”

Youngest son: “They’re for running.”

Me, after a pause: “Like outside? You wear them in public?”

Youngest son: “Yeah, they’re good for circulation.”

He’s a diabetic, so circulation’s a big deal, but I kind of felt like he checkmated me with the circulation comment, because I was ready to give him a bad time on the goofy shoes. Apparently they’re kind of a big deal, but I’d never heard of them before yesterday.

I feel like I get older everytime I talk to that kid.

 

 

Comments»

1. Retired Geezer - November 26, 2012

I feel like I get older everytime I talk to that kid

Welcome to Geezer World.

2. Pupster - November 26, 2012

cArIN over at H2 swears by them, says they help her maintain proper form when she runs.

They do look goofy.

3. lauraw - November 26, 2012

Barefoot shoes are supposed to correct improper running technique. Basically, that heel-to-toe stride we Westerners use wrecks your knees. When people run barefoot- that is, when we run the way we naturally used to, since big clunky shoes are somewhat of a recent invention- it is natural for us to run on the balls of our feet more, which prevents a lot of joint damage further up the leg.
Those shoes still look silly.

4. lauraw - November 26, 2012

Egads, I’m a bore.

5. Retired Geezer - November 26, 2012

On the contrary, I liked your explanation. Mrs. Geezer recently developed plantar fascitis. Perhaps those could help.

6. Tushar - November 26, 2012

Why is Mrs Geezer becoming a Fascist?

7. Tushar - November 26, 2012

And Fascists wear jackboots, not these goofy shoes.

8. Mitchell - November 26, 2012

I have a pair of these too! I don’t run though. I wear them to get strange looks.

9. lauraw - November 26, 2012

I doubt it Geezer. My mom has that, she needs to sleep in a night brace for it. It’s clunky and she won’t do it. So she lives with the pain for years now.

10. Sobek - November 26, 2012

I know lots of people with those shoes. That’s because I hang around with crazy people who run marathons (Mrs. S included) who do all kinds of goofy things, like run marathons and wear strange shoes.

Yeah, supposedly it’s to correct your form. But the trick is, if you go straight from your normal clunky shoes to the toe shoes, you’ll mess yourself up, because you start using different muscles in your legs than you’re used to.

11. daveintexas - November 27, 2012

>> Egads I’m a bore

Thanks Cliffy!

Hey, on the plantar fascitis thingy, I had that years ago (let’s just SEE who can be boring here), tried gel heel inserts, cortisone shots in the heel (not fun).

I got relief from these

http://www.healingfeet.com/blog/foot-care/orthotics-an-introduction

The white one in the center worked best for me. It’s hard plastic, slips inside your shoes and gives you extra arch support, taking weight off of the heel until your plantar fascia can heal (SWIDT?).

A month later I was fine.

12. lauraw - November 27, 2012

You mean that little hard plastic one in the middle left, Dave?

13. daveintexas - November 27, 2012

Middle lower left, says DURA on it. Goes from the heel to just behind your toes. They were like, $20. Mine were a different brand, called Foot Soldiers I believe.

Doc also told me to stop going barefoot at home, get a good pair of sandals like Birkenstocks. Curiously, the year before we ripped out all of our carpet and put down hardword laminate floors. hmmmmm

Worked great and the pain never came back.

14. lauraw - November 27, 2012

Mom has hardwood floors and always goes around barefoot.

15. daveintexas - November 27, 2012

2 + 2 for me. That’s when it started.

16. Michael - November 27, 2012

You people are tiresome, talking about your health problems.

[In my case, two appointments this month for seven surgeries to deal with basal cell carcinomas, including two Mohs procedures, and more minor surgeries to come in December (I'm trying to max out my 2012 health plan deductible using my pretax HSA dollars). I can't even count the number of painful stitches I have endured. One of the Mohs procedures was a little scary, because they nicked an artery that bled profusely until they cauterized it, it was on my face, and the tumor was dangerously close to a nerve which would have been a big issue if the carcinoma had penetrated the fascia and started traveling in the nerve. The other Mohs procedure on my chest was for a bigger tumor, it went down through the fascia to muscle, but was easily excised by cutting a huge hole. But all is well. I've gotten used to this over the last 30 years. As for the scars, I'm just going to say I got in a knife fight in a Nuevo Laredo whorehouse parking lot, and the other guy looks worse.]

So, like I said, let’s follow my example and try to keep the whining and appeals for sympathy to a minimum.

17. geoff - November 27, 2012

I have not yet begun to whine.

I will stop no whine before its time.

A bitchin’ whine saves time.

18. daveintexas - November 27, 2012

I am glad you did not burst into flames Michael.

19. Nan G - November 28, 2012

I had to quit running on the beach because of needles and glass.
Regular shoes were worse than not running on sand at all.

I wonder if those would make it possible to get back out there?
But, they do look goofy.

20. lauraw - November 28, 2012

Jeez, Michael, that sucks.

21. daveintexas - November 28, 2012

what she said, but I’m glad you are avoiding the cancers Michael.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 192 other followers

