jump to navigation

Darwin Dating January 29, 2007

Posted by Retired Geezer in Ducks.
trackback

I nominate Bart as our official IB entry.

We live in an ugly world. War, disease, famine and ugly people seem to rule our daily lives. Darwin Dating is a dating site that cuts through this ugliness and has been created for attractive people only.

Gosh, too bad I’m over the age limit. I’m sure I could have qualified. Oh, and I’m happily married too.

In 1859 Charles Darwin proposed the theory that living beings evolved through a process of natural selection where the fittest, healthiest and most attractive beings bred with each other to further their species. It has become difficult for the modern attractive human to find other modern attractive humans. Darwin Dating has been created to better the lives of attractive people and to encourage them to find other attractive people with whom they can breed.

BTW, it’s all a joke but still a funny website.

About Darwin Dating – Darwin Dating

Comments»

1. eddiebear - January 29, 2007

What about pretty people being stupid? How will that work?

2. Rightwingsparkle - January 29, 2007

I interrupt this thread to bring you a related story (kinda).

The most depressing post and thread you will ever read:

http://drhelen.blogspot.com/2007/01/why-men-and-women-dont-want-sex.html

3. Dave in Texas - January 29, 2007

It’s a loaded audience RWS – everyone who responds is answering a question about what’s wrong with sex. What if she asked “well, what’s right about it” and rest of the people who aren’t having problems listed their 101 reasons why they think sex is “really where’s it at man”.

If you go looking for unhappy people, you can find them. It’s like watching Dr. Phil over and over… you may have noticed he only deals with fucked up people. Now I don’t know for certain, I don’t watch him, but has anyone ever heard him say “well, you seem perfectly ok to me, nothing for me to do”?

Don’t let depressing people depress you.

4. Rightwingsparkle - January 29, 2007

Dave,

Oh don’t you worry. I smack down and beat the crap out of depression all the time. I leave it bleeding in the bushes.

Then I go on to have a wonderful day.
;-)

5. Bart - January 29, 2007

I got a package today. In that package was a bag of candy. WTF?

Then I remembered that a few days ago I was nostalgic for a Zero candy bar.

WTF am I doing buying bags of candy from the internet? I think I’m losing it.

6. kevlarchick - January 29, 2007

A swell quote from that Dr Helen thread:

“Women just aren’t fun anymore.”

This submitted by a woman. She has a point. Except for a precious few of us chicks, the funnay is gone.

7. Wickedpinto - January 29, 2007

I don’t care if it’s a joke. I’m likely to die childless!!!

Now I’m going to weep and hope for the affection of a fertile woman.

8. Dave in Texas - January 29, 2007

Well, it’s anecdotal of course, but most of the women I interact with seem to have a healthy sense of humor.

Maybe it’s just me? I am a helluva lot of fun to hang out with.

9. Wickedpinto - January 29, 2007

100% true.

I’ve slept with the vast majority of women that I am friends with. We don’t really wanna go that way again, though I have a couple of those mutual contracts (when I’m X age, and if you are X age, and we don’t have children, and want them, lets toss eachother some genetic material, kinda thing) but now that we are all older we know that that is childish and selfish.

The number one relationship killer for me? ACTUALLY LIKING THE WOMAN!

I would rather live my life knowing that I have someone that I can turn to for advice about someone else, as I seak (sought) the attentions and the companionship of a partner, rather than allowing myself, and my friend (female) to be saddled with inadequate mates.

The bitch of it is, that all of my adequate mates are my friends, and I’m WAY WAY! to flighty (and they know that) to foist myself onto them as the kind of emotional anchor that I know I would be.

CURSE YOU FATE!!!

10. kevlarchick - January 29, 2007

No Dave, we’re laughing AT you, not WITH you.

11. Retired Geezer - January 29, 2007

Well, it’s anecdotal of course, but most of the women I interact with seem to have a healthy sense of humor.

Sense of Humor = it’s the new 6-pack Abs.

12. Wickedpinto - January 29, 2007

either that, or he has one of those pendulous scrotums, that change axes with the rotation of the earth.

13. Wickedpinto - January 29, 2007

which I would find pretty Effing funny.

14. Mrs. Peel - January 29, 2007

between that Dr. Helen post and the women’s magazine thread at Ace’s, romance is taking a pretty heavy hit today.

Well, if you’ll excuse me, I’ll just trot back off to the land of Young Love. It’s nice there.

15. Wickedpinto - January 29, 2007

HEY!!!!

I was VERY romantic (here.)

16. Dave in Texas - January 29, 2007

No Dave, we’re laughing AT you, not WITH you

I take what I can get dear.

17. rightwingsparkle - January 29, 2007

Enjoy it while you can Mrs. Peel…;-)

The women’s magazine thread over at Ace’s makes me wonder WHAT FREAKING FREAKS these guys date.

I would never say that there though…geeze!

18. Mrs. Peel - January 29, 2007

I was thinking something more along the lines of how many bitter divorcés apparently post at Ace’s…

19. lauraw - January 29, 2007

RWS, the real goal of feminism was supposed to be equality; but instead it has spawned:

1. A group of narcissistic women who have been told their poop smells like roses since they were little girls, and who subsequently view their men as mere household appliances and not truly life partners; they shun responsibility.

2. A much younger generation of demoralized girls who will do anything, with anyone, at anytime.

The first group is what has engendered the feelings of bitterness that is evident in men my age and older.

It is yet to be seen what will occur with the younger group as they develop into maturity. We can already see that they are fertile, though.

20. Wickedpinto - January 29, 2007

2. A much younger generation of demoralized girls who will do anything, with anyone, at anytime.

The first group is what has engendered the feelings of bitterness that is evident in men my age and older.

Men of my generation feel exactly that.

Why should we bother if all we are are measures of YOUR feminism?

We don’t find attraction and love based on pre-defined social checklists, we are young and dumb and buffoons who just want to be with a woman. I’M Sorry GLORIA!!!

Men don’t have checklists, we just think and act, and cant decide which of the two we are doing at any one time. Thanks for humiliating manhood.

21. Wickedpinto - January 29, 2007

also, I think, “my age and younger” lauraw.

We have made our progeny weak. I’m one of them.

22. Dave in Texas - January 30, 2007

lauraw’s #2 point is the truth that breaks my heart.

23. lauraw - January 30, 2007

Yeah, but dude, if you have any understanding of history or reality, whatever you’re doing to fuck up your life is still your own fault.

This victim shit doesn’t go very far with me except for verifiable ghetto-cases.

24. lauraw - January 30, 2007

Was speaking to WP

25. Wickedpinto - January 30, 2007

I was correcting grammar.

As for my generation? Everyone within reach of me, has joined in the mutual failur that our parents gave us.

26. Enas Yorl - January 30, 2007

1. A group of narcissistic women who have been told their poop smells like roses since they were little girls, and who subsequently view their men as mere household appliances and not truly life partners; they shun responsibility.

My niece got married about a year and a half ago. I don’t know her very well – she grew up far from where I lived. The few times I was around her and her husband she was exactly like that. He took it with good grace as general “teasing” in public. They have been separated since Thanksgiving and are likely headed toward divorce. Nobody knows the real reason for the separation, but I wouldn’t be surprised if he got bone tired of being “teased” treated like dirt.

27. Wickedpinto - January 30, 2007

We were supposed to be the push button generation, our parents played down our accomplishments to the point that no matter how great we might have been we could never compare to them.

Look at todays politics. VIET-FUCKING-NAM!?!?!?!?

How many of my gen even know that there was a vietnam other than the lies and manipulations that the previous generation FORCED on us?

How about NIXON?

WATERGATE, wasn’t WATERGATE, it was a silly stupid fuckup that was a part of common politics at the time, forgiven previously, In fact one of the WORST practictioners was Kennedy, but he’s a saint so lets not talk of that.

All the lies of lies of lies of lies of lies that exist in politics, were built on offending righty’s, thanks to LEFTY’s.

Don’t shit on my MOM! I wasn’t being foolish, I was being snarky.

28. Wickedpinto - January 30, 2007

OH! LauraW?

I’m completely at fault for my own failurs, I will NEVER lay that at anyone elses feet.

I’m a failure on my own efforts.

29. sandy burger - January 30, 2007

That Ace thread is interesting. Most of it is just joking, though. Some of it is hilarious. Still, you can sense some real bitterness, too.

30. Wickedpinto - January 30, 2007

I get it from my family pleanty, and I never request it from others.

31. Wickedpinto - January 30, 2007

Sandy?

Was I one of the bitter commenters? :)

cuz thats surprising, cuz I’m so ALIEN to bitterness :D

32. Wickedpinto - January 30, 2007

LauraW?

I don’t know what kicked it off, but, I’ve ALWAYS been the target of my own jokes, unless the jokes are obvious.

I like you, you are the cruel mistress who fosters us lost and lonely souls with a sort of love that most can’t accept until we’ve been trained into it.

I was already trained, and knew the routine, thats why you were willing to adopt me as I was, now that I’ve lived up to your expectations, I’m kinda offended that you would turn so quickly.

Thank you LauraW for the support, but please? at least DESCRIBE the conflict when you are so angry?

33. lauraw - January 30, 2007

Dude, I don’t even know how to respond to that.

I’m just a girl in the world.

There’s no ‘training’ or ‘support.’

There’s just lone voices crashing on the internet.

Sometimes we like what somebody says, sometimes we burn on him.

Please. Separate me from your false construct.

34. Wickedpinto - January 30, 2007

Nah LauraW.

You ARE the reason I was honest enough to comment here with your kindness.

Now you aren’t just “Not complimenting” me, cuz I did say that, I don’t know how to deal with compliments, but since you have just become an outright BITCH when it comes to me.

No offense to you, but in terms of me, really, you HAVE shat on me in almost everyway, and it makes a little confused, just like if you were to complimet me LarauW.

That is the point.

Going one way doesn’t validate the other, nor the other the first, and anthing else is confusing.

Thats all I mean.

35. Wickedpinto - January 30, 2007

In other words, you rock LauraW, and Please don’t think you must do anything on my part, and if you find a way to do something on my part, like shitting on me, I’m truly confused.

36. lauraw - January 30, 2007

Separate me from your own false construct.

I am not important to you.

37. Wickedpinto - January 30, 2007

LauraW?

when I concern myself with nothing in the real world, and yet I accept your validation, what does that make you?

38. Wickedpinto - January 30, 2007

You are a true construct of my own failed existence.

It’s not your fault, it’s just your burden.

39. sandy burger - January 30, 2007

Dude, it’s not her burden. Wait a second, you’re drunk, aren’t you?

You ARE the reason I was honest enough to comment here with your kindness.

Now, the reason I started commenting here was because I saw Bart say at AoS HQ that he wouldn’t post here, and so I had to come over and make fun of him when he started to. Ha ha, Bart.

40. Wickedpinto - January 30, 2007

Drinking yes, will be drunk in the next hour or so, (I drink enough that I can time myself) I commented here because LauraW complimeted me at Aces place, and I told her, that I don’t respond to complliments well, and I proved it.

a couple of days later, out of appreciation for LauraW, I remembered Gary, and I told the “junkyard” story, not because I was arrogant, but because I was as thankful to LauraW as I was to Gary for the fact that he gave my moniker.

When L first offered me praise I insulted her, and all people. I don’t know how to accept kindness, I DO NOT! I take it, and turn it into some ridiculous arrogance “I SO EFFING ROCK” or some such.

I’m not pissing about being less than what others think I am, thats all cool, I’m just . . . .well, I hoped that LauraW would realize that I am EXACTLY who I was on day one,

A COWARD unwilling to express himself honestly.

She, for a moment caught me as I am.

Thats Why I’m calling LauraW out.

She ONCE saw me, and she could capture the human behind the idiotic creation I hide behind in wickedpinto and his “bitch breaking” but somehow, she got bored.

I find that sad, not for her, but for me, because I have lost someone that I thought MIGHT have been a friend.

I mean really, how the FUCK CAN I SAY THE SHIT I DO in character, at all times?

LauraW hurts me because she is like the family member who makes corrections at the right time, while not making me anything other than who I am.

I was completely unscencored for a long time that She knew, but now? I’m an employee, and unworthy.

It hurts.

41. Wickedpinto - January 30, 2007

I don’t know if that is an appology, but I can’t think of anything more abject that I can offer.

42. sandy burger - January 30, 2007

Was I one of the bitter commenters?

No, and I didn’t even have anybody or any particular post in mind. But, you know, divorce rates really are very high, so of course people are gonna vent a bit on a thread like that. It meanders between being hilarious, being cathartic, and being wrong and unhealthy. But in any case, it’s all interesting.

43. Wickedpinto - January 30, 2007

Sandy?

MONTHS!, and nearly a year ago.

44. Mrs. Peel - January 30, 2007

lauraw’s description of the #1 and #2 groups are right on…as a cogenerationist of the #2 group (I’m not a member of it, obviously), I was pretty concerned about finding a man who didn’t expect me to give it up on the first date. They’ve gotten that from so many women that they’ve been trained to expect it. I’m so glad that I did meet someone who doesn’t feel that way, and, in fact, resents the supposition that he’d take advantage of any opportunity to “get laid” or whatever phrase you want to use.

The younger group has some of those same ideas about men being household appliances, though.

In general, society is oversexualized. I hate that it’s gotten to the point where even two men can’t be friends without people thinking they’re gay lovers.

well, better get ready for work. I have training on technical communication today. BORRRR-RING! (Actually, one of my fellow new hires said it was a really good course, so we’ll see.)

45. Rightwingsparkle - January 30, 2007

All that Lauraw and Mrs. Peel says is true. My heart truly breaks for the girls growing up today.

I understand some men’s bitterness, but happiness lies within us. Not to sound preachy here, but God gives us the peace and joy we need. And He, unlike men or women, NEVER disappoints.

I always say Life is hard, even when it’s easy. Giving love instead of expecting it gives one more joy than anything else in life.

If we all just put each other first, this world would be a spectacular place.

46. lauraw - January 30, 2007

Wow. You ever notice how things seem so different in the light of day? And how words spoken aloud often don’t work the same way on the internet?

I just realized that ‘separate me from your construct’ sounds eerily similar to ‘throw some rope and an axe in the trunk and drive to Connecticut.’

So it is I who should apologize, WP, not you. I’m truly and well sorry.

47. Dave in Texas - January 30, 2007

On the other hand, “get laid” sounds pretty much the same 12 hours later.

So we got that going for us.

Which is nice.

48. geoff - January 30, 2007

I couldn’t get past:

I’m just a girl in the world.

I had to fold up my prayer rugs and stop facing CT.

49. kevlarchick - January 30, 2007

I’m just a girl livin in captivity
Don’t let me out of your sight…

I’m just a girl in the world
That’s all that you’ll let me be

Good Gwen Stefani song.

50. lauraw - January 30, 2007

I like that song!

51. daveintexas - January 30, 2007

who?

I was thinking something more along the lines of how many bitter divorcés apparently post at Ace’s…

Now dear, AoS is all fine for giggles and shits, but don’t be taking any relationship advice from anyone there.

Except me.

and maybe lauraw.

KC’s good.

oh and geoff. He’s a peach.

Maybe harrison, skinbad, brewfan.

wait this is getting too hard. How bout an IB “no advice” list instead.

Michael.

52. kevlarchick - January 30, 2007

Somebody post “I’m Just a Girl” by No Doubt. Use that funky song post thingy Michael uses.

The chicks around here need to shake it. WP can dance with us.

53. Retired Geezer - January 30, 2007

wait this is getting too hard. How bout an IB “no advice” list instead.

*lower lip trembles slightly*
I didn’t make the cut.

54. daveintexas - January 30, 2007

That’s because I consider you part of the “take advice from him” group. Your so wise. You’re like a miniature Buddha, covered with hair.

55. Retired Geezer - January 30, 2007

Patrick Ruffini sent me an email saying he supported Rudy. I responded that I couldn’t vote for him cause of his stance about the 2nd amendment.
And the flames began.
Well not really flames but they said I shouldn’t be a one-issue voter.

Heck, you might agree with them.

56. HayZeus - January 30, 2007

Well I do, though I’d probably phrase my disagreement with you more politely than they did. Being a one-issue voter myself (that issue being national security) in a practical sense, I can respect another person’s choice to view critically important issues. The right to keep and bear arms is certainly one of those.

57. HayZeus - January 30, 2007

Err, that should be, “view their voting through the singular lens of a a critically important issue”, not “view critically important issues”. Not sure if I crtl+Zed that right out of existence or what.

58. BrewFan - January 30, 2007

I have a hard time with the logic that we should all support Rudy despite the fact he favors gun control, is pro-choice, and is socially liberal just so a democrat who favors gun control, is pro-choice, and is socially liberal doesn’t get elected. WTF? I will vote for the conservative because thats what I believe in.

59. kevlarchick - January 30, 2007

What does crtl+z do? Is it SFW?

60. harrison - January 30, 2007

It blows up your computer.
Save it for last.

61. skinbad - January 30, 2007

ctrl+z causes the user to squeal and shake their booty.

You don’t even need it.

62. rightwingsparkle - January 30, 2007

RG,

Well, I had to weigh in on Rudy there too.

The truth here is this. I will say it here first. Hillary will be our next President. There is no stopping that train to hell.

63. kevlarchick - January 30, 2007

*hitting ctrl + z*

*again*
*again*
*again*

Damn that’s good, but a few people are looking over the top of my cubicle now.

64. HayZeus - January 30, 2007

Ctrl+z is an undo shortcut. It’s also an easy way to wipe out some typing if one isn’t paying a lot of attention.

65. harrison - January 30, 2007

RWS, giving up so soon?

66. daveintexas - January 30, 2007

Nah, she just thinks a) the only human in the world that could beat her is McCain, and b) McCain is getting bitch-slapped by the base 3 times nightly plus lunch and dinner.

Have to say though, I don’t see any strong R to get all interested in.

67. Retired Geezer - January 30, 2007

The truth here is this. I will say it here first. Hillary will be our next President. There is no stopping that train to hell.

Gosh, I hope you’re wrong RWS. I guess in my wildest dreams I see Condi as the GOP nominee.
She would neutralize Hillary’s Feminity, (in a Serious Way.)
She would neutralize Obama’s race (in case he was the VP running mate).

I like what Condi stands for.

68. rightwingsparkle - January 30, 2007

It’s not about giving up. It’s about the stupidity of Republicans. They won’t agree to disagree and nominate the one person who can beat Hillary….McCain. You may not like him, but there it is.

When I saw Hillary on Tv this week I knew that there was no way to beat her. She made a deal with the devil long ago and he will keep his promise to her.

69. rightwingsparkle - January 30, 2007

RG,

I hope to God I am wrong too.

70. daveintexas - January 30, 2007

the stupidity of Republicans

c’mon. If he can’t win the nomination, that’s like over HALF of your side voting for somebody else.

Over half is a pretty serious negative to overcome. The guy should be reaching to the right now, and to the middle in the general election. Instead he stays right where he is because that’s what he is, a squishy middle of the roader who liked pushing people around in the Senate and believes that’s called “leadership”.

No thank you. If it takes 4 years of Hillary to teach us why we need strong conservative leadership, we can handle it.

71. lauraw - January 30, 2007

Hillary stole things from the White House when she was there the last time, and was forced to give them back with a red face. I can’t believe anyone would vote for a no-class looter.

Also, if she wins I will owe Allah $50, and this simply cannot come to pass.

72. daveintexas - January 30, 2007

That would suck.

73. rightwingsparkle - January 30, 2007

lauraw,

Start saving your money honey.

74. harrison - January 30, 2007

RSW, Ace has a piece on Rudy.
http://minx.cc/?post=213344

Please try to stay positive. It’s waaay early in this thing to be throwing the hands up.

75. lauraw - January 30, 2007

Sincerely, almost two years out and we’re already fretting? I don’t even want to think about it for another year.

76. geoff - January 30, 2007

I agree – it’s way too early, and the hype during the last 3 months alone is enough to burn me out.

77. BrewFan - January 30, 2007

RWS, in all sincerity, from a guy who is VERY conservative, I’d vote for Hillary before I voted for McCain. But not to worry. Neither Hillary or McCain will make it out of the primaries. This is my last comment on the ’08 race until ’08. My ulcers need to heal.

78. lauraw - January 30, 2007

RWS, I have to hand it to you for being tough. You’re really taking a pounding with good grace over there.

I wish I could agree with you.

79. Retired Geezer - January 30, 2007

RWS, I can understand some people being for McCain but it puzzles me that any blogger could be.
Sorry for the harsh statement but cmon’ isn’t his legislation being used to muzzle dissent?
Wasn’t there some DJ’s in Washington state who had to give equal time during the last election?

That anti-free speech angle scares me.

80. Dave in Texas - January 30, 2007

Oh don’t make me suffer from remorse now.

Dammit

81. rightwingsparkle - January 30, 2007

RG,

I have to be honest with you. If it weren’t Hillary running I wouldn’t be for McCain. I know people think I just love him, but the honest to God truth is that the thought of a Hillary presidency just makes me literally SICK. SICK. SICK.

I just believe that he is the only one who can beat her. If you show me somone else who can, then will jump on that bandwagon in a new york second.

82. harrison - January 30, 2007

New York Second?
Rudy!
Rudy!
Rudy!

83. daveintexas - January 30, 2007

Rudy could beat her RWS.

He could do it.

84. Wickedpinto - January 30, 2007

your last to me LauraW was funny as shit.

I’m a wackjob, and I was trying to describe the nature of my offense.

My point is that I like you, and that I thank you. After all, if there is any appology you owe anyone it isn’t me, it’s to everyone who reads my crazy, cuz it was YOU! that fed me.

I told you, I don’t react well to praise :)

No, I wasn’t blaming you, I was screwing up an effort to win back your favor.

you are not at fault.

85. rightwingsparkle - January 30, 2007

dit,

If Rudy beats her you and your wife will come to Houston and I will buy you dinner and you can stay with us.

The more I think about it, the more I want ANYONE to win other than her. ANYONE.

86. rightwingsparkle - January 30, 2007

WP,

You are so….interesting.

Show us a picture of yourself. Please. I want to see the person who has all this inside of him.

87. Wickedpinto - January 30, 2007

Ted danson with more hair, also darker features. 1/312th indian or something like that according to my mothers gradpa, who was a horrible, pathetic(not abusive) drunk.

Since he was a drunk, and knowing as little as I know of his lineage, I wouldn’t be surprised if he were a drunk, I mean indian.

88. Dave in Texas - January 30, 2007

RWS, I gave you a ton of shit today over McCain.

I apologize.

I understand where you’re coming from dear. I’m looking for small victories. I think the courts are where those are.

89. Dave in Texas - January 30, 2007

and whoever wins, I would love to have dinner and commiserate/gloat.

90. sobek - January 31, 2007

I think Rudy could beat Hillary. If he can get past the primaries, he’s unstoppable. He’s got the charisma and he’ll pick up the center easily.

McCain certainly gets the centrist vote, but loses a lot of the conservative base (the “I’d rather stay home and teach the GOP a lesson” crowd). I’m not even sure McCain does so well with the centrists, because the MSM will turn on him the second it comes down to a McCain/Hillary showdown, and then all his goodwill in the media is gone.

Romney looks good in the primaries, as long as he can get around his pro-choice statements, but is too easily tarred as a right-wing nut, and especially if he can get around his pro-choice statements. I can’t imagine the religion thing hurts him much — people only complain about the religion when they have other reasons not to like the guy (consider the silence on the Left over Slick Willie’s frequent mention of his religion).

Newt’s damaged goods. Clinton got him but good.

The rest of the announced candidates … well anything can still happen, but none of them have the name-recognition yet, and cash likes to flow towards the candidate who’s perceived as in the lead.

91. Rightwingsparkle - January 31, 2007

I can’t imagine Rudy getting through the primaries. Think about the last few primaries. Has anyone who is even remotely liberal gotten through?? No. And Rudy is very liberal.

At this point, and like lauraw said we are too far away to really know, I see McCain getting the nomination. The question will be if those who hate him can stand voting for him enough to beat Hillary.

92. HayZeus - January 31, 2007

Think about the last few primaries. Has anyone who is even remotely liberal gotten through??

*cough* Dubya *cough*

93. Essa Morty - September 19, 2007

that’s why it will never wor. Essa Morty.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 175 other followers

