jump to navigation

Skin -lauraw June 25, 2007

Posted by anycomments in AA - Uncategorized.
trackback

Last weekend I was mucking around in the pond and turning rocks over by the edge and found a Garter snake’s old skin.

Crinkly-soft

What if people did that?

I imagine keepsakes, lovingly pressed onto archival paper in an album: ‘Baby’s First Skin.’

How much would one of Marilyn Monroe’s old skins fetch at a Sotheby’s auction?

Would shedding skin be considered a nasty bodily function, or would ancient rites have sprung up around the event?

Dad, reading aloud from National Geographic: “The stone-age Tahoondus from the upper Amazon basin ferment the castoff skins from young girls with jungle herbs and roots. This is served as a tonic to the village elders which is said to promote youthfulness and virility.”

Children: (in chorus) “Eeeeewwwwwwww!!!”

And what would beauty parlors be like?

Comments»

1. skinbad - June 25, 2007

And what would beauty parlors be like?

Pretty much like they are now. Full of men from Texas.

I’m mostly commenting here so the Recent Comments will say
“skinbad on skin-lauraw”

2. Bartpinto - June 25, 2007

I’ve had quite a few sunburns that resulted in massive peeling.

Does that count?

3. daveintexas - June 25, 2007

I can win the longest consecutive peel this weekend…

shoulder down south.

*true

4. sandy burger - June 25, 2007

Baby’s First Skin

That was just upsetting and wrong.

This is served as a tonic to the village elders which is said to promote youthfulness and virility.

But this, on the other hand, I could probably get on board with.

Now put the lotion in the basket.

5. lauraw - June 25, 2007

HAH!

Was waiting for the first Silence of the Lambs reference.

6. daveintexas - June 25, 2007

that movie still gives me the creeps

7. Retired Geezer - June 25, 2007

What a coinkidink.

Mrs. Geezer has a snake phobia.
I’m trying to get her over it.
We have a little garden snake that likes to hang out by the pond that contains the Tuber that Lauraw sent us.
I figured that if Mrs. G gave the snake a name it wouldn’t be so scary.

I found a skin from Elizibeth the snake a couple of days ago. Here she is actually Holding it.

It’s not as cool a photo as LauraW’s though.

8. daveintexas - June 25, 2007

the only good snake is a dead snake.

9. sandy burger - June 25, 2007

I’m trying to get her over it.

You should probably start out slow by putting harmless snakes in bed with her while she sleeps, then work up to dropping boas on her in the shower. She’ll be over her phobia in no time.

10. BrewFan - June 25, 2007

Trouble brewing…

11. lauraw - June 25, 2007

Well, unlike you we only have a couple species of man-killers here Dave.
Connecticut has Rattlesnakes and Copperheads.

The Rattlesnakes are pretty much confined to their rocky ridges (though in the midst of heavily populated areas), and the Copperheads are found everywhere since there’s water everywhere here, but are very patient and slow to anger even when deliberately screwed with.

Don’t ask how I know that. Hee.

12. skinbad - June 25, 2007

Dad would clean his ears with his car keys and then use them to scratch off his skin.

At the dinner table.

13. under skin - June 25, 2007

Your getting to me.

14. 4 skin - June 25, 2007

Someone had to.

15. kids - June 25, 2007

eeeewwwww

16. Mrs. Peel - June 25, 2007

Foreskins are actually saved from circumcision and given to biomedical companies, which place them on a nutrient scaffold and use them to grow sheets of skin that are later used for skin grafts. So when you get an extensive skin graft, it’s from someone’s dick. (Minor skin grafts usually just take your own skin from someplace like behind your knee.)

And now you know!

17. geoff - June 26, 2007

Brings a new meaning to the term “skin flicks.”

So when you get an extensive skin graft, it’s from someone’s dick.

Can I get a ruling on this? Is Mrs. Peel allowed to say that word?

18. eddiebear - June 26, 2007

Mrs. P:

Thanks. I guess.

19. eddiebear - June 26, 2007

I just love how this thread devolved from snake skin to….

Well, you know.

Now, back to the thread.

My cousin used to have a pet tarantula. When the thing would molt its skin, he would stand it up and play with it.

To this day, I hate spiders.

20. Mrs. Peel - June 26, 2007

You guys got off easy. One time, I was attending a tour of an Orbiter crew cabin mockup, and one of the older women shepherding the group of college students in which I was leaned over to me (I was standing near several other girls, and happened to catch her eye) and whispered, “I wonder what happens when astronauts get their period in space.” I replied at my usual volume that I figured a lot of them skipped periods due to the intense physical demands of being on orbit. The woman looked slightly taken aback, but proceeded in the same whisper, “Do you think not having gravity keeps it from, you know, coming out?” “Nah,” I responded, again at full volume, “it’s the contractions of the uterus that cause that. I don’t think gravity plays much of a role.” The woman drew back and, staring at me, said, “Well, I guess you are a biomedical engineer.” I nodded matter-of-factly.

But when I looked around, I saw to my surprise that the girls had all stepped away from me and the guys’ cheeks were all flaming red.

21. Mrs. Peel - June 26, 2007

and I love spiders, snakes, and bats, on the principle that they eat other animals I hate.

22. compos mentis - June 26, 2007

I found a skin from Elizibeth the snake a couple of days ago. Here she is actually Holding it.

Um, Geez, she does understand that the snake is shedding its skin because it’s getting bigger, doesn’t she? And that it’s gonna unhinge its jaw and swallow that frog whole? Pretty soon it’s gonna run out of frogs and begin to get really hungry. Garden snakes are notorious for mistaking big toes for frogs.

Just sayin’.

23. Dave in Texas - June 26, 2007

I read somewhere that the biggest contributor to household dust is human skin.

Don’t know where I read it though, probably on a can of Pledge.

24. Sobek - June 26, 2007

“Can I get a ruling on this? Is Mrs. Peel allowed to say that word?”

No. Absolutely not. Never, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever again.

Here I was, thinking that a post by LauraW about skin had to be the awesomest thing in the entire world, and Mrs. Peel has to go scar me for life in the comments section.

25. Retired Geezer - June 26, 2007

Garden snakes are notorious for mistaking big toes for frogs.

No, you don’t need to read IB today, dear.

26. kevlarchick - June 26, 2007

We have a nice snake in our yard. He’s probably about 4 feet long and lovely. The frogs swim in the pool. Those are some clean frogs I tell you.

27. Dave in Texas - June 26, 2007

Now wait just a doggone minute.

Genesis 3:14-15

14 So the LORD God said to the serpent, “Because you have done this,
“Cursed are you above all the livestock
and all the wild animals!
You will crawl on your belly
and you will eat dust
all the days of your life.

15 And I will put enmity
between you and the woman,
and between your offspring [a] and hers;
he will crush [b] your head,
and you will strike his heel.”

Got that? ENMITY. It’s not just a river in Egypt.

28. Miss Piggy - June 26, 2007

Those are some clean frogs I tell you.

You betcha

29. kevlarchick - June 26, 2007

Dave, not to get all theological here, but the language is symbolic and prophetic.

Snake = Satan
Mary = Woman
Jesus = her offspring who will crush the snake’s head
Compos Mentis = the snake’s offspring who strikes at the heel of life

It has NOTHING to do with my little friend living under my pool.

30. Snake Under KC's Pool - June 26, 2007

Wanna bet?

31. daveintexas - June 26, 2007

Oh yeah, no doubt kc there’s duality.

But there’s also singularity in it.. the curse is real. Man toils for his bread, woman has pain, snake crawls.

32. geoff - June 26, 2007

Snake = Satan
Mary = Woman
Jesus = her offspring who will crush the snake’s head

Dust = Val-U-Rite Vodka

33. the Snake - June 26, 2007

Would somebody please get that Dave guy off my tits already?

34. compos mentis - June 26, 2007

Compos Mentis = the snake’s offspring who strikes at the heel of life

WTFF??

35. BC - June 26, 2007

Snake’s got tits!


Leave a Reply

