jump to navigation

Everything’s Bigger in Texas August 30, 2007

Posted by skinbad in Food, Science, Travel.
trackback

But let’s leave egos and Tex-Mex induced diarrhea aside for the moment. What about spider webs? Yep. They’re big too. 200 yards worth of mosquito graveyard.

“There are times you can literally hear the screech of millions of mosquitoes caught in those webs.”

spiderweb-gaaaah1.jpg

Texas also leads the nation in the number of dessicated joggers’ bodies found in public parks.

It’s true. Google it!

Comments»

1. Pupster - August 30, 2007

Uh, skinny? It’s “eggos”. They make the waffles bigger in Texas to fit the over-sized sized slots in the Texas Toasters.

2. Wickedpinto - August 30, 2007

Yes, Daves tend to be “bigger” though I would lean towards “rounder” in texas.

3. Mrs. Peel - August 30, 2007

Dude, that just makes Texas even more f’n awesome! Look at that kickass skeeter graveyard. Texas Spiders FTW!

4. Wickedpinto - August 30, 2007

spiders make me piss myself.

5. eddiebear - August 30, 2007

Indiana Jones is not pleased.

6. Wickedpinto - August 30, 2007

Snakes!

7. Mr Minority - August 30, 2007

Did you get a good look at those skeeters in the web? They are HUGE also, big enough to carry off a small poodle (as if that would be a lose). I killed a centipede at work last week, that had to have been at least 10-12″ long. It took 4-5 good stompings with the heel of my boot to crunch that thing.

8. Michael - August 30, 2007

FYI, Skinny, your original spiderweb pic was a high resolution 3.555MB file that was making the IB main page load very slowly. So, I downloaded it to my hard drive, compressed it for a web page in Microsoft Picture Editor, and substituted the compressed picture for the original. This took about three minutes. It’s now a 151.76KB file. On our main page, you can’t tell the difference. 3.555MB is way more information than will be visible on the site, and just slows down the page load and uses up our storage (for which I am now paying the princely sum of $20 per year, and thereby jeopardizing my financial security).

The Help tab has a link to some useful information about the compression of .jpeg files. Just about any picture editor software will make this easy. Shoot me an email if you want more information on how to do this.

9. Wickedpinto - August 30, 2007

Skin, QUICK!!! call firsties at Aces. DiT totaly ganked your post!!!

10. Michael - August 30, 2007

Did you get a good look at those skeeters in the web? They are HUGE

I hate to point this out, but the biggest and most voracious skeeters in America are in those frickin’ Scandi states — Wisconsin and Minnesota. They’ve got skeeters the size of robins with the attitude of Dracula on meth.

They don’t have centipedes, however. I remember Texas centipedes, and scorpions, in my house. They scared the shit out of me.

11. Mr Minority - August 30, 2007

I remember Texas centipedes, and scorpions, in my house.

Yeah, those little bastards do like to come in the house and give you a good scare. I haven’t had a centipede come in yet, but have had a bunch of scorpions. And I have been stung by one, hurts like hell, but won’t kill you or make you sick.

12. BrewFan - August 30, 2007

“…Wisconsin and Minnesota. They’ve got skeeters the size of robins with the attitude of Dracula on meth.”

We shoot ’em with bows and arrows.

13. daveintexas - August 30, 2007

I hate mosquitos. This might make me love spiders.

Maybe.

14. Mrs. Peel - August 30, 2007

Spiders, lizards, snakes, bats…all things I love because they eat things I hate. Creatures of night, brought to light!

(The Last Unicorn rocks.)

15. Michael - August 30, 2007

I’ve gotten stung by a scorpion a couple of times. I sat on one once that was hiding in the chaise lounge cushion by our pool in Texas, and it poked me in the ass.

It’s really no worse than a bee sting that you would shrug off in the north. They’re just such evil looking little critters that they seem worse than they really are.

16. Coyotito - August 30, 2007

The scorpion bite is muy mal.

[I’ll bet Mrs. Peel gets this one]

17. Wickedpinto - August 30, 2007

Spiders, lizards, snakes, bats…all things I love

because the killing them makes chicks hot.

18. daveintexas - August 30, 2007

noooo. the mosquito is the state bird of Louisiana.

19. Lipstick - August 30, 2007

Everything’s Bigger in Texas

As the wife of a Texan I say: “yep.”

20. daveintexas - August 30, 2007

heh

21. Wickedpinto - August 30, 2007

thats what you SAY. . . . . but you MEAN. . . . . ?

The love of my life, whenever we would sleep together would go out of her way to humiliate me. She was a real sweety 🙂

Even if it was good for her, it was my job to ask, and she would always go all Vger (star trek the motion picture) on me, and be like “oh yes it was great.”

“bitch”

And then we would have sex again.

Women are devious creatures, kinda like 4 eared rabbits.

22. Wickedpinto - August 30, 2007

I don’t care if she was telling the truth, it was hillarious.

23. Michael - August 30, 2007

Women are devious creatures, kinda like 4 eared rabbits.

Hmmm. I’ve never really thought of Mrs. Michael as a 4-eared rabbit before, but that actually makes sense.

24. Wickedpinto - August 30, 2007

Ever meat any of Nibblets special forces?

25. Michael - August 30, 2007

Ever meat any of Nibblets special forces?

Yes, and the meat was delicious. Rabbit sammiches are great! Even better than squirrel.

26. eddiebear - August 31, 2007

Hassenfeffer (spell?) is great, especially with red cabbage, potatoes and rolls. The Bevo Mill and Schneithorsts in STL had the best.

27. Wickedpinto - August 31, 2007

Michael?

You tread a thin ground.

28. eddiebear - August 31, 2007

Back somewhat on topic. The mosquito problem is out of control in STL. I can barely take my daughter out without having to spray her down. Poor thing gets eaten alive whenever we go out.

The City of STL used to have trucks go around and spray about once a week.But, they stopped becauseenviroweenies were threatening to sue, and the City, lacking money, just quit the program.

29. eddiebear - August 31, 2007

I need to spell better.

30. Wickedpinto - August 31, 2007

Growing up I never had an insect problem.

The house I lived in used to belong to one of the most renowned mayors of my home town, and only 4 doors down the mother of the mayor lived, and on a few more doors was the policechief’s official residence (even though he actually lived in a neighboring town) And “HIS” neighbor was the chief assessor.

So growing up, my neighborhood was always deloused.

31. Wickedpinto - August 31, 2007

That is absolutely true.

32. Sobek - August 31, 2007

I hate mosquitos with all the intensity of a thousand exploding stars.

33. Sobek - August 31, 2007

OT, I’m going to hike the second highest peak in Nevada this week-end. It’s near the bustling metropolis of Baker, Nevada, so there’s a chance I’ll end up lost and dead in the middle of the desert without ever actually finding the trailhead. If I don’t make it back, please avenge my death by burning Baker to the ground and sowing its fields with salt.

34. Michael - August 31, 2007

Eddiebear, is the Bevo Mill still open? Jeez, that place was like a time warp to another century. I remember decades ago when their bar had Jaegermeister before it became a college-kid fad.

Michael? You tread a thin ground.

Yeah, I kinda knew that Nibblets was a religious subject for you.

Hassenfeffer (spell?)

Close, you left out the “p” and added an “s” — it’s “Hasenpfeffer”. In German, this literally means “rabbit-pepper”, but it’s understood as the noun for the popular rabbit stew.

35. compos mentis - August 31, 2007

Spiders, lizards, snakes, bats…all things I love because they eat things I hate.

Preach it sister. Especially when they eat mosquitos, mice, moles, and other varmints, including Yorkies.

Here, authorities were alerted to a dead hawk. It was found to have the West Nile Virus.

Have fun Sobek!

36. Mrs. Peel - August 31, 2007

They eat Yorkies? SWEET! My sister has a couple she needs to get rid of. They’re not housetrained and she’s fixing to have a baby. You can’t have a baby crawling around on a carpet dogs have been peeing and crapping all over.

(Of course, good luck getting my sister to see that. I can’t believe she likes those nasty little rat dogs so much that she’s willing to risk her baby’s health. She’ll swear up and down to you that they are housetrained, but I know she’s the one who cleans up all their shit, because my brother-in-law is not about to lift a finger. I guess it’s like Mac users telling you their computer never crashes even when it frequently does.)

Little Coyote, no habla espanol.

37. lauraw - August 31, 2007

Hey eddiebear, I don’t know if you’re using DEET on the kid, but just in case, there’s a couple of good lotion-type products on the market that don’t contain DEET but are an herbal preparation.

Cutter and Off! both have their versions of it. I find it works great.

Also, if you have any storm drains in front of your house, drop a mosquito puck in each of them. It helps a lot.

38. eddiebear - August 31, 2007

Bevo Mill is still open. Now, it’s a breakfast/brunch place only. My dad still goes there at least once a month.

39. Dave in Texas - August 31, 2007

Anybody can spray repellant on their skin. It takes a real man to face meningitis.

40. Lipstick - August 31, 2007

If I don’t make it back, please avenge my death by burning Baker to the ground and sowing its fields with salt.

Should we blow up the thermometer, too?

41. Sobek - August 31, 2007

I mean Baker, Nevada. It’s in White Pine county, and from how it looks on the map, I’m not sure if anyone would ever notice if it were razed. So yeah, please take out the thermometer in Baker, CA, too. Just so the message is clear.

42. eddiebear - August 31, 2007

We use some sort of “Toddler Friendly” apray that is firly effective. It’s just that even being out for something innocuous, like getting junk out of the car, leads to an attack.

I never heard of the mosquito puck. I’ll give it a try.

43. Mr Minority - August 31, 2007

I never heard of the mosquito puck

How do you think baby skeeters are made? The stork sure and the hell doesn’t bring them.

44. Coyotito - August 31, 2007

Mrs. Peel,

Coyotito was the name of the baby who got bit by the scorpion in The Pearl.

45. BrewFan - August 31, 2007

^me

46. lauraw - August 31, 2007

Puck…d’oh.

I think they are actually called dunks.
You can get them by the sixpack at Home Depot, they last about a month in standing water. EPA approved biological mosquito control. They are an organic base (peanut hulls, I think) full of a bacterial toxin that only affects mosquitoes and other small fly larvae.

I also use them in my lily/ lotus water barrels that have no fish in them.

Also check your gutters for clogs and standing water. Our Locust tree with it’s messy leaves shedding all season used to create a mosquito breeding situation quite often in our gutters. You couldn’t walk three feet into the yard without being swarmed when that was going on.

47. Sobek - August 31, 2007

Brew, I recognized the name but forgot that the baby got stung by the scorpion. I only remembered what happened to Coyotito at the end.

48. lauraw - August 31, 2007

its messy leaves…

49. eddiebear - August 31, 2007

Thanks.

50. Dave in Texas - August 31, 2007

I do that it’s thing all the time. My worst proofreading pain.

51. Retired Geezer - August 31, 2007

its messy leaves

Shouldn’t it be it’s ?

52. composmentis - August 31, 2007

You’d think so, but “it’s” isn’t possessive, it is a contraction.

The possessive of it is its, which rhymes with tits.

53. composmentis - August 31, 2007

Which give me contractions.

54. Michael - August 31, 2007

My worst proofreading pain is that I can never remember how to spell occassional. I don’t know why; it’s some sort of mental block or something.

55. kevlarchick - August 31, 2007

it’s = it is “It’s (it is) raining.”
its = possessive pronoun like his/her/her “Its messy leaves stained my gown.”

Should we make The Pearl next on our reading list?

56. Dave in Texas - August 31, 2007

I know how the rule works, I’m just so damn lazy I don’t check for it in my typing.

That’s why it bugs me when I do it.

57. Lipstick - August 31, 2007

KC, are we in charge of the September reading suggestion?

I’m leaving Tuesday for 2 weeks of train travel across Canada. With my dad. In a completely non-smoking train.

I may not survive.

58. Dave in Texas - August 31, 2007

I still think The Naughty Nymphs from the Planet Playtex would be a good read.

It was a helluva good movie *nods*

59. Retired Geezer - August 31, 2007

KC, are we in charge of the September reading suggestion?

You girls come up with something suitable.

Involving Pillow Fights, preferably.

Russ and I got our October Selection all picked out.

Its It’s more exciting than Pillow Fights.

(Depending on whose whoosh Who is involved.)

60. Sobek - August 31, 2007

The Who is involved?

61. kevlarchick - August 31, 2007

Damn Lipstick. Do you ever just hang out at home? What the hell are you going to do in Canada if you can’t smoke?

What was that Diana Garbandal (sp?) book you talked about? I have an idea for a book that is a nice change from the slaughter/bloodshed stories we’ve been stuck on.

62. kevlarchick - August 31, 2007

Lips, check your email. I gave you my book idea.

It actually has some slaughter,bloodshed, and prison scenes in it, so it could fly around here.

63. Dave in Texas - August 31, 2007

women in prison?

I’m in.

64. Bart - August 31, 2007

*said very slowly*

Must. Bite. Tongue.

65. Retired Geezer - August 31, 2007

*Has read 3 of Diana Gabaldon’s books*

pssst, Dave, there’s some steamy sex involving turgid nipples.

66. Bart - August 31, 2007

I’ve never before heard nipples be described as turgid.

Another first brought to me by ib.net!

Erect, yes.

Stiff, also.

Hard, even.

But never turgid.

67. Mr Minority - August 31, 2007

In a completely non-smoking train.
I may not survive.

Lipstick, I’ll let you in on a little secret – Nicotine Gum!

That is what I use on those 12 hr of flying and sitting in airports. And that is the only way I could survive without ripping some moron and their kid’s heads off in the airport/on a plane.

68. Dave in Texas - September 1, 2007

Or “taut”.

Taut is good.

69. Mrs. Peel - September 1, 2007

Bart, have you ever heard a drop of preseminal fluid on the tip of the one-eyed snake called “a tear of seminal longing”?

Well, now you have.

70. daveintexas - September 1, 2007

I thought I had heard just about everything.

As usual, I was wrong.

71. Retired Geezer - September 1, 2007

Well, now you have.

*blushes*

72. Pupster - September 1, 2007

Lipstick,
I’ll second Mr. M’s nicotine gum suggestion, I used it on my Utah trip. I chewed through a 50 pack of 4mg pieces in the first few days, then I bought a 2mg box. I preferred the 2mg gum, the 4mg made me a little shaky and upset my stomach, but that was because I chewed it like a regular piece of gum (you are supposed to put it between your cheek and gum after a few chews).

The 2mg gum I could just keep chewing and it did the trick. I’ve been smoke-free since June 15th.

73. Lipstick - September 1, 2007

Thanks Mr. M and Pups. I’ll get some gum for sure. Anybody ever try the patch?

74. Michael - September 1, 2007

Bart, have you ever heard a drop of preseminal fluid on the tip of the one-eyed snake called “a tear of seminal longing”?

Jeebers, Mrs. Peel is in a mood tonight.

Totally cool putdown of Bart, however. I can’t argue with that.

Anybody ever try the patch?

No, but the gum works for long flights.

75. I Have a Life... You? - September 4, 2007

Is this your life now [redacted]? Growing pale in the gloom of your infested apartment, drinking yourself into oblivion each night desperately trying to forget that you, not [redacted] or the Corps, are solely responsible for your demise? Lashing out from behind the cowardly refuge and anonymity of the perpetual whiner’s “blogosphere” domain?

76. Retired Geezer - September 4, 2007

Lashing out from behind the cowardly refuge and anonymity of the perpetual whiner’s “blogosphere” domain?

Uh, isn’t that an IB prerequisite?

77. daveintexas - September 4, 2007

I have a Life,

That is a no no. Don’t be disclosing people’s names without their permission, or I might start disclosing your IP address(es).


Leave a Reply

