jump to navigation

The Best Christmas Present December 27, 2007

Posted by Sobek in Personal Experiences.
trackback

I hate shopping for Christmas presents.  Actually, it’s not really the shopping, it’s the coming up with an idea of something to buy.  Once I figure that out, the shopping part is pretty easy.

I’ve hit a few out of the park.  When Mrs. Sobek was pregnant with our first, her lower back hurt her something awful, and I got her a handheld massage thing.  I think that’s the best one.  For her birthday this year, I got us two tickets to see the Nutcracker.   For Christmas this year, I spent a very long time making a movie based on an Ogden Nash poem called The Tale of Custard the Dragon, featuring two of my kiddos.

The idea was to burn it onto DVD and give it to all the kiddos’ grandparents and great-grandparents, but I had technical difficulties, and didn’t get the DVDs ready.  But I showed the video to everyone, and promised that the DVDs are forthcoming.

So, what’s the best Christmas present you ever gave?

Comments»

1. daveintexas - December 28, 2007

I can’t wait to see Laura threadjack this sucka

2. Robert - December 28, 2007

What Laura hasnt threadjacked it yet! She is slipping!

3. skinbad - December 28, 2007

I bought my wife a gold (looking) watch for our second Christmas together (14 years ago). I was working part-time and she knew I had interviewed for a full-time position at the same place and I got the job a couple of weeks before Christmas but kept her in the dark until she unwrapped her “retirement” watch. She found out she could quit her job and stay home with baby Con Carne and she was very, very happy. My gift-giving has been downhill ever since.

4. eddiebear - December 28, 2007

My wife and I were married on 2-14-98. For our first Christmas together, I went to Build A Bear Workshop to buy a blonde teddy bear with glasses and a bow tie, to reflect my blondeness, recent addition of corrective lenses, and my still favored choice of neckwear ( I only wear a straight tie when I have to). She forgot the necklace I bought her and latched onto what I had considered something small and basically a throw in for Christmas. That thing is still around and thriving. And my daughter loves him more than most of the toys we buy her.

5. eddiebear - December 28, 2007

I know this may sound a bit silly, but my mom wanted to organize a group gift to send to my brother for this Christmas, so that we all could add stuff and ship it at once to save on freight. I went to a local cigar store and found a 4 pack of Macanudo Maduros for him (he likes to light up a stogie once in a while) and found an international phone card. When he called on Christmas, he deeply expressed his gratitude. To me, that actually is the best thing I have given.
Turns out, he kept one cigar and gave the other three to his fellow Captains.

6. Retired Geezer - December 28, 2007

One of our first dates while courting was taking her to see the Nutcracker.
Mrs. Geezer has given me a Nutcracker every year since we’ve been married. Sometimes two.
Maybe I’ll get a picture of them. Some All of them are really nice.

7. BrewFan - December 28, 2007

The best present I ever gave Mrs. BrewFan was me.

8. lauraw - December 28, 2007

Sobek! How you feeling? Still recovering from that cold?

9. kevlarchick - December 28, 2007

We gave my mom a book with quotes from the kids and grandkids saying what we loved about her.

Grandchild 1: she hugs me and rocks me in the rocking chair
Daughter 2: she loves me unconditionally
Grandchild 3: she bakes me cookies
Mr Kevlar: she smokes cigarettes with me

10. daveintexas - December 28, 2007

Hmmm… too sappy. How about the worst Christmas present I ever got. First Christmas after I got married, I took every dime we had and bought my wife a washer and a dryer.

We had exactly zero dollars and seven cents left to get any other Christmas gifts.

Not the hit I thought it was going to be. It is funny though, when something bad happens when you are just so darn sure something good is about to happen. You really do stand there for a few minutes, not comprehending, asking probing questions like “whaaaaat?”

11. dr4 - December 28, 2007

Divorce papers.

12. Pupster - December 28, 2007

Best present given? That’s easy.

13. composmentis - December 28, 2007

dr4 wins.

14. Cathy - December 28, 2007

One year early in our marriage, Michael gave me the most beautiful ski gloves I could imagine. They were a soft yellow leather, fur-lined, and matched my old ski jacket perfectly. I so needed those because I had gotten frostbite on several of my fingers a few years earlier using regular gloves when I skied with family in Switzerland. It meant a great deal to me that he made this effort to help me care for my fingers. We skied a lot that year in Colorado with friends and family at Breckenridge, Copper Mountain, Vail, Keystone, Winter Park. Those gloves got used a lot.

This year he gave me something else for one particular finger…a new wedding ring in 18K white gold with lots of diamonds in a cathedral style setting. My oval-cut diamond fit in the setting perfectly.

Michael put the ring on my finger and said nice things to me.

I’m a happy woman.

15. kevlarchick - December 28, 2007

Cathy! That is fabulous. A girl likes a little bling. Or in your case, a lotta bling. Go Michael, you stud.

16. Sobek - December 28, 2007

“Still recovering from that cold?”

I might be able to recover from it if I could relax a bit, but I can’t, so I haven’t. I have a brief nap penciled in for mid-February.

Two Mondays ago I actually left work early so I could go home and try to get some rest. Instead I ended up watching the kids, doing some legal research for a client, and going to bed late (as usual). I tried napping on the couch, but got nowhere.

17. Michael - December 28, 2007

By the way, the First Annual Innocent Bystanders Bandwidth Fund-Raising Drive™ will be announced in the near future. I’m putting together a flier which you can all use to solicit cash from your family, friends and neighbors.

18. Cathy - December 28, 2007

I’m so sorry to hear that you are still struggling to get better, Sobek.

This is the worst time to be sick.

Liquids, sleep, good nutrition, hot clear broth soups. Blah. Blah. You know all this stuff.

19. Dave in Texas - December 28, 2007

A visit from my good friend Mr John Daniels couldn’t hurt.

20. Sobek - December 28, 2007

Mr. Daniels, huh?

Considering that I’ve never had a drink in my life, I think the effects of a bottle of whiskey would be … something to behold.

21. dsfhnzgfdhj - December 28, 2007

Considering that I’ve never had a drink in my life, I think the effects of a bottle of whiskey would be … something to behold.

you should try it.

You know whats weird about getting drunk? The different effects that different drinks have.

Tequila = Happy Drunk
Vodka = Sad Drunk
Whiskey = somewhere in between
Everclear = Drunktank

I bought a copy of Enders Game yesterday. I think someone here said it was good.

22. Sobek - December 28, 2007

Ender’s Game is very interesting, but I haven’t read enough sci-fi to know how good it is compared to other sci-fi books.

23. eddiebear - December 28, 2007

Tequila=Vomit Drunk
Beer=fat, urinating often drunk
Gin Martini=massive headach tomorrow drunk
Schnapps=God, I think I’m going to die!

24. The Comish (sic) - December 28, 2007

dsfh, I think you’ve mixed up your designations:

whiskey — fighting drunk
vodka — girly drunk (and yet I drink lots of vodka)
beer — “your football team stinks” drunk
rum — “this is my boyfriend Bruce” drunk
scotch — “I’m going to grow a mustache” drunk
tequila — vomiting drunk

Ender’s Game is great. I thought it had a surprising amount of depth. Hope you enjoy it.

25. daveintexas - December 28, 2007

if you’ve never had a drink in your life, skip that.

26. dsfhnzgfdhj - December 28, 2007

The first time i ever got drunk it was on Tequila. I drank about three quarters of a fifth and ate a bunch of candy as a chaser.I ended up puking in a brown paper bag and passing out in a fat chicks lap.

Im not a social drinker.I just drink to get drunk. And i dont even do that very often anymore. I dont like beer. I dont like the taste. Rather just drink a shot of liquor and get it over with. Never have wine with a meal or anything like that either.

27. eddiebear - December 28, 2007
28. lauraw - December 28, 2007

Glass of red wine makes my cheeks rosy and everything gives me the giggles.

Tequila- bedspins and vomit
Rum- guaranteed headache tomorrow
Beer- big belly growth hormone, but oh so nice after a long hot day

29. Will - December 28, 2007

I bought my folks a TiVo and a lifetime service plan (just before they stopped selling that option). They adore that damned thing.

30. sticky b - December 28, 2007

This Christmas I commissioned (maybe that’s to strong of a word, the artist is a guy who works for our maintenance dept) a pencil sketching of my two daughters hugging each other and smiling that was copied from my wife’s favorite photograph of them. The photo is 3×5 and the sketch is 14×22 and even I have to admit it’s really cool. My wife threw a wall-eyed fit when she noticed that her favorite photo wasn’t in it’s usual place on the piano, back around Thanksgiving, and questioned everybody who had been in our house over the past several weeks as to if they had maybe accidently stolen it or something. She came close to pissing my mother off royally, and it was hard for me to stay quiet. I taped the original photo and frame to the back of the frame of the new pencil sketch before putting it in a box and wrapping it with paper. When she opened her gift and discovered her missing favorite photo, she called me a shit right in front of my daughters. But when she saw the sketch she just broke down and started crying. I might have gotten a big old wet, sloppy, emotionally charged kiss out of the deal, but for the presence of the kids. Anyway she really likes it and has already hung it.

31. eddiebear - December 28, 2007

By the way, the First Annual Innocent Bystanders Bandwidth Fund-Raising Drive™ will be announced in the near future. I’m putting together a flier which you can all use to solicit cash from your family, friends and neighbors.
Why not auction off the remnants and artifacts from the IBSBP?

32. Michael - December 28, 2007

Why not auction off the remnants and artifacts from the IBSBP?

That’s likely to be disgusting guest towels, dried barf, spent cartridges, dirty underwear floating in the hot tub, cigarette butts, and leftover Dave’s Afterburner Chili.

Maybe I can get some money for the underwear. 🙂

33. daveintexas - December 28, 2007

Glass of red wine makes my cheeks rosy and everything gives me the giggles.

Oh hell yeah that’s true. She could not stop laughing at my Senor Wences impression.

She rolls her eyes when she laughs. That seemed unusual, yet familiar.

34. geoff - December 28, 2007

Anybody want to go to Albany?

Sounds like the work of Bob and Doug McKenzie.

35. geoff - December 28, 2007

By the way, the First Annual Innocent Bystanders Bandwidth Fund-Raising Drive™ will be announced in the near future.

I’d have thought that IB would be issuing refunds for unused Bandwidth since WP stopped commenting.

36. Michael - December 28, 2007

I’d have thought that IB would be issuing refunds for unused Bandwidth . . .

STFU, Geoff, I have a rather expensive Christmas “Bandwidth” with diamonds and cathedral setting that I need to pay for.

37. eddiebear - December 28, 2007

^well, my wife’s b-day is Jan 17, and our Anniversary is Feb 14. I have to start squeezing the truckers we use, I guess.

38. lauraw - December 29, 2007

Urrrgghh.

Hold your family close. Keep weapons.

http://tinyurl.com/24f2pd

39. daveintexas - December 29, 2007

wow.

40. Michael - December 30, 2007

Did you know there is a website dedicated to Odgen Nash?

Well, you do now, and they linked this post.

41. JohnBrady - January 12, 2008

Your preference for Nash is admirable and I’ve noted in a post on Blogden Nash where I report on the reach and influence of Ogden Nash on contemporary life.

Cheers!

John


Leave a Reply

