jump to navigation

Golden Years January 29, 2008

Posted by Michael in Science.
trackback

Have you noticed that Retired Geezer seems like a relentlessly cheerful fellow? He is so darn good-natured that you just want to smack him sometimes.

Well, I do anyway.

A recent study suggests that this may be age-related, and that middle age tends to be depressing world wide. Fifteen years ago, Geezer was probably just as crabby as I am.

LONDON – Middle age is truly miserable, according to a study using data from 80 countries showing that depression is most common among men and women in their 40s.The British and U.S. researchers found that happiness for people ranging from Albania to Zimbabwe follows a U-shaped curve where life begins cheerful before turning tough during middle age and then returning to the joys of youth in the golden years.

Previous studies have shown that psychological well-being remained flat throughout life but the new findings to be published in the journal Social Science & Medicine suggest we are in for a topsy-turvy emotional ride.

You start pulling out of the middle age funk in your fifties. Whew. The worst is over for me. That’s good to know.

The report only speculates regarding the reason for this.

“It happens to men and women, to single and married people, to rich and poor, and to those with and without children,” Oswald said. “Nobody knows why we see this consistency.”

One possibility may be that people realize they won’t achieve many of their aspirations at middle age, the researchers said. Another reason could be that after seeing their fellow middle-aged peers begin to die, people begin to value their own remaining years and embrace life once more.

It seems to me that the researchers have overlooked the most obvious hypothesis that would explain this phenomenon.

You look in the mirror one day and see someone your parents age. That bums everyone out.

Middle age is truly depressing, study finds

Comments»

1. Retired Geezer - January 29, 2008

I like that – Relentlessly Cheerful – Yep. Pretty much describes Mrs. Geezer and Me.

Why? (I hear you wondering)
I’m on Social Security so I get paid for watching the snow fall outside my window.
I’ve got a backlog of videogames to carry me through the winter until I start fixing sprinklers in the Spring.
We’re going to meet a dozen or so of you people in a few days.
We’re going to sample Meat Cooked by Fire (like God intended) in Michael’s fancy crematorium.
We get to shoot guns.
We get to go to the (ex) Jack Hanna Shrine, the Columbus Zoo.
We get to scorch our tongues on Marie Sharp’s hot sauce.
We get to see Actual Concrete Corn.
We get to see Dancing Bunnies.
Dayton Air Museum… the list goes on.

Well, you get the picture.

2. kevlarchick - January 29, 2008

Shooting guns has headed off a full-on midlife crisis for me.

3. dr4 - January 29, 2008

He’s probably just so senile at this point that he’s forgotten how depressed he is.

4. Retired Geezer - January 29, 2008

^lol Amish

Probably a grain of truth in there.

5. Dave in Texas - January 29, 2008

I thought (when I was living them) that my 30s would be the years of significant change, but I was flat wrong about that. The one-two punch of watching your children become adults, and your parents age (and losing one or more) were huge changes in my life.

Pie has always been there for me. An old, steady friend.

6. Daughter Michael - January 29, 2008

Retired Geezer, don’t get too excited about the concrete corn field. They wear protective condoms in the winter, and the overall effect is much less majestic.

7. Jimmy Cap Corn and Amish dont care - January 29, 2008

Retired Geezer, don’t get too excited about the concrete corn field.

Its Corn -made of concrete!!!

One of the worlds most exciting foods constructed from one of the worlds most exciting building substances.

How could he not be excited ?!!!

8. Retired Geezer - January 29, 2008

I hope we get to meet Daughter Michael at the IBSBP.

9. Retired Geezer - January 29, 2008

‘Cause this just made me laugh – and the overall effect is much less majestic.

10. Daughter Michael - January 29, 2008

I understand your excitement, believe me. People cry when they first see the wonderous cement corn. I’m just saying, you’ll be less inclined to frolic through a field of condom-covered phallic statues, like some bizarre pagan ritual….. unless you’re into that.

11. Pupster - January 29, 2008

Mrs. Pupster just called to let me know we received Retired Geezer’s package via UPS.

RG called her before it arrived, and she called him back after delivery.

Her main takeaway from the conversations: HE’S SO NICE!

12. Retired Geezer - January 29, 2008

I’m just saying, you’ll be less inclined to frolic through a field of condom-covered phallic statues, like some bizarre pagan ritual….. unless you’re into that.

*Checks IBSBP flyer*
Well… Yeah, it was scheduled as a side trip.

And Pupster… Yeah, I’m.. uh, Relentlessly Cheerful.
We hit it off because our Golden has the same allergies as yours.

13. geoff - January 29, 2008

…like some bizarre pagan ritual…

Hello!!

14. Cathy - January 29, 2008

I drove out at 11:00 p.m. to check.

Good news.
No condoms on the Concrete Corn.

15. Retired Geezer - January 29, 2008

I drove out at 11:00 p.m. to check.

I would love to hear you give an honest answer to a policeman if you got stopped for a faulty taillight.

“Did you say you were checking to see if the condems were still on the corn?”

16. Cathy - January 30, 2008

^RG, That is what I would have said. Wouldn’t be the first time they heard it. If I’d said I was checking how much they had grown… hmm.

Not much goes on ’round here. Folks freak when kids from a rival high school sneak over to paint the big rock on school property.

17. Retired Geezer - January 30, 2008

You know about people taking pictures of Garden Trolls in front of well-known landmarks? The weatherman has a picture of himself that you can download and pose the same way.

Flat Larry is going to the corn

18. Dave in Texas - January 30, 2008

Me and the goobers in my high school chemistry class mixed up a bunch of “super-nitrogen” liquid fertilizer and poured it onto our crosstown rivals’ field in an RLT pattern (my school) in 20′ high letters. Even though they mowed it right before every game you could still see it for a month. They wound ripping out the turf and replacing it.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 176 other followers

