jump to navigation

I Love Tomatoes, and Geoff Is Worthless April 28, 2008

Posted by Michael in Personal Experiences.
trackback

Geoff posted an interesting alleged fact today:

Eating five tomatoes a day could help protect against sunburn and premature ageing, research suggests.

This assertion was made by Brit scientists, so the source material is suspect.

Still, I love tomatoes, I’ve had basal cell carcinomas, and I’m interested in skin care (so long as it does not involve Texas gay stuff like paraffin wax baths, because I would never do that).

I’m thinking, Geoff should give me a chart to show me the way about tomatoes and skin. You can normally count on Geoff for a good chart that makes complicated stuff clear to morons like me.

Geoff totally let me down. No chart. No visual representation of a possible tomato remedy for basal cell carcinoma.

You can see what I mean if you check out Geoff’s chartless and worthless post: From the “totally not worth it” file « Uncommon Misconceptions

I’m thinking this ever-popular post is still the answer about how to use tomatoes .

Comments»

1. eddiebear - April 29, 2008

My daughter loves the grape kind of tomatoes. I can eat a whole bucket of them as well. Too bad they are about 5x the cost of your standard tomato.

Oh well, but at least she eats fruits and veggies.

2. sandy burger - April 29, 2008

My parents have a little vegetable garden. I love visiting when they have ripe tomatoes. They have those small type which eddiebear’s daughter likes. We pluck ‘em, wash ‘em, and put ‘em in a salad, still warm from the sunshine. Delicious!

3. sandy burger - April 29, 2008

Man, Michael really went to town with the hyperlinks on this post.

4. Dave in Texas - April 29, 2008

>> I’ve had basal cell carcinomas

mine were all pre-c but the doc still burns em off. me and the derm have an annual date.

sucks that it all comes from shit you did when you were 13, running around without a shirt on as a kid.

my pre-thong days.

5. Retired Geezer - April 29, 2008

sucks that it all comes from shit you did when you were 13, running around without a shirt on as a kid.

Yeah, growing up in Nevada during the above-ground nucular test probably contributed to all the BCC’s on my noggin.

Mrs. Geezer ran around topless too but she didn’t get any.

Yeah, it’s safe for work.

Guess which one she is. Hint: her smile and her eyes are the same.

6. kevlarchick - April 29, 2008

Yes that’s her. Lovely as ever, and modestly covered with mud.

And there’s nothing better than fresh tomatoes from the backyard on the dinner table. I can’t stand the peels though.

7. Retired Geezer - April 29, 2008

What’s wrong with Paraffin?

8. Dave in Texas - April 29, 2008

Not a darn thing, unless your ego is easily bruised.

9. Muslihoon - April 29, 2008

That was a fun, old thread.

I wonder where Feisty is now. And HayZeus.

10. eddiebear - April 29, 2008

I have seen HayZeus here a few times. As for Feisty, might as well add AnalogKid and Elzbth to the list of people who seem to have disappeared.

11. Mr Minority - April 29, 2008

…so long as it does not involve Texas gay stuff like paraffin wax baths,…

Michael,
How dare you slight all Texans based on 1 Texan’s fetish with candle wax!

Good Day, Sir!

12. Cathy - April 29, 2008

@#5 – Glad you included that photo Geezer. She still is a looker.

Maybe covered in mud is like SPF 45…

13. eddiebear - April 29, 2008

11: candle wax? So Dave upgraded?

14. eddiebear - April 29, 2008

12: mud has an excellent sunscreen impact.

Just sayin’

15. skinbad - April 29, 2008

I tried to upload a pdf tomato chart. It just kept putting in a link instead of the image. Which of the nine assistant site administrators can help me? Did I mention I find the New and Improved dashboard not very new and improved?

16. Michael - April 29, 2008

No idea, Skinbad, pdf is an allowed file type to upload into WordPress. Are you sure you downloaded a real pdf file and not just a link? I sometimes have had that problem — on some web pages you just copy a link unless you double-click the image to get the file on it’s own page.

17. Michael - April 29, 2008

BTW, to upload images you now look top right of the Post window (not below), where you will see “Add Media,” and click the first icon, “Add Image.” The resulting popup is pretty cool. You can use Flash or your browser to do the upload. Try both ways if you’re having problems.

18. Michael - April 29, 2008

OK, Skinbad, I just checked our media library and it looks like you uploaded six copies of “Tomato Science”, and based on the file size you’re only uploading a really small thumbnail of the graphic which is not making it to the post.

I’ll delete all the useless copies.

19. BrewFan - April 29, 2008

Although pdf documents are allowed to be uploaded, it is not an image type and can’t be displayed as such. If you have the original document you might trying saving the picture as a jpeg or gif and then upload that. I’m guessing the funny-to-effort ratio may be an issue, however. :)

20. Michael - April 29, 2008

And I take it back — you uploaded more than a thumbnail and I can’t get it to post either.

21. Mrs. Peel - April 29, 2008

I hate tomatoes, and geoff is awesome.

22. skinbad - April 29, 2008

I’m guessing the funny-to-effort ratio may be an issue, however.

With me, it always is.

23. Michael - April 29, 2008

Well, I think Geoff is awesome too, but I wouldn’t admit that in public.

24. Cathy - April 29, 2008

Well, I think Geoff is awesome too, but I wouldn’t admit that in public.

Sweetie, I think you just did. I admit in public Geoff is awesome too.

BTW — I started buying organic tomatoes…they taste so much better… like what came out of my mom’s garden 40+ years ago… worth the extra coin.

25. Michael - April 29, 2008

Sweetie, I think you just did.

Huh? Is this site public now?


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 175 other followers

