jump to navigation

Aunt Mina’s Peanut-butter Fudge December 26, 2009

Posted by Pupster in Art, Family, Food, Man Laws, Personal Experiences, Philosophy, Religion, Sex, Women Ranting.
trackback

An old family favorite, from the hills of West Virginia where my mother’s family comes from. Pretty simple fudge recipe if you have some time to knock your family out with sugary rich awesomeness.

Aunt Mina’s WV Peanut Butter Fudge
In a heavy saucepan place:
3 1/2 c. white sugar
1 1/2 c. brown sugar
1 -12 oz can evaporated milk
3/4 stick margarine

Mix, bring to boil, turn down heat and keep at a rolling boil until reaches the “soft ball” stage.

(Pupster’s note: I boil the sugar mixture at least 20 minutes, I don’t have a candy thermometer and I’ve never seen this mixture turn into soft balls in cold water, but after about 20 minutes at a good boil while pretty much constantly stirring to keep it from burning, I get good results. Mix will stick together and stay firm when it cools. )

Remove from heat and add:

7 oz jar marshmallow creme
2 c. peanut butter
1 tsp vanilla
Mix well and pour into cake pan greased with margarine (or Pam). Put into fridge until sets. (A couple of hours.)
I’ve made changes to this recipe on accident, the last batch I used Marshmallow Fluff instead of cream, and it came out a little bit more crumbly and less sticky.
Peanut-butter fudge is freaking awesome even if you mess it up. Best if served with a glass of cold milk and good friends.
Comments»

1. Lipstick - December 26, 2009

Nom Nom Nom Nom Nom Nom!

That sounds awesome!

2. skinbad - December 26, 2009

I’ll vouch for the awesomeness of this fudge. Eating it with good friends is a nice bonus as well. After eating it, Mrs. Skinny can’t keep her mind off of Pupster.

DAMN YOU, PUPSTER!!

3. TattooedIntellectual - December 26, 2009

Pups, I’ve never had the pb fudge sugar mix do up a good softball stage either. If you’ve got a meat thermometer that’ll work in a pinch.

4. Pupster - December 26, 2009

I hat tipped you in the recipe Tattoo with a link title.

That helped me a lot when you linked to it the other day.

Thanks again.

5. TattooedIntellectual - December 26, 2009

Have you ever made the Fantasy fudge from the recipe on the back of the Kraft Marchmallow fluff jar? That stuff comes up damned near as good as my complicated recipe.

6. Retired Geezer - December 27, 2009

Mrs. Geezer wants to know what size can of evaporated milk?

7. Pupster - December 27, 2009

12 oz can is what I used Mrs. Geezer.
(recipe updated)

I’m pretty serious when I say this stuff rocks even if you mess it up or deviate from the recipe, it’s basically sugar + peanut-butter + marshmallow.

What could go wrong? (Just don’t burn the sugar; stir-stir-stir)

I prefer smooth, but you can go chunky if you swing that way.

I’ve made it without vanilla, with Eagle Brand sugar milk instead of evaporated, in a square brownie pan, round cake pan, 1/2 recipe, x2 recipe, and it’s always tasted good.

The one time I was disappointed is after I didn’t boil the sugar long enough, and the fudge did not set. It still tasted really good, but it was hard to eat without a spoon.

8. Saturday Wrapping Up « The H2: Pepper spraying Christmas shoppers since March 2009 - December 24, 2011

[...] will be making Peanut Butter Fudge, wrapping gifts, and generally being lazy as is my [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 175 other followers

