jump to navigation

Fun With Ferrofluids July 24, 2013

Posted by geoff in News.
trackback

Last year I made my daughter do a science project with ferrofluids in a rotating magnetic field (rather than the tired old “what mixes with what” kind of junk she wanted to do). She eventually got into it and actually ended up enjoying the experiment (and forgiving me). But now I’m totally bummed that we didn’t have any hydrophobic coatings to work with (which, per AoSHQ, are now available at Home Depot), because check this out:

More info and videos here.

Comments»

1. Jimbro - July 24, 2013

Ya know, looking at those shapes, that may be the way Stonehenge was formed.

2. Retired Geezer - July 24, 2013

That was awesome. Good for you and your daughter.

3. geoff - July 24, 2013

Thought I should explain what ferrofluids are: basically they’re little magnetic particles that are encapsulated in oily stuff so that the magnets don’t clump together. With the magnets distributed reasonably uniformly through the liquid, the liquid acts like it’s magnetic.

4. skinbad - July 24, 2013

Well, that’s pretty cool–and I’ll bet the other science fair dads just LOVE having you around year after year🙂

5. Michael - July 24, 2013

My best science project was about the reaction of Mentos with Diet Coke, which made a huge mess on the gym floor and got me in trouble. I was 50 years ahead of my time.

6. Mr. Matamoros - July 25, 2013

Really wild, General!

7. geoff - July 25, 2013

For those who may find Mr. Matamoros’s comment obscure:

[Click on “More” at YouTube to see the transcript]

8. Mark in NJ - July 25, 2013

Heavy on the 30-weight, mom.

9. geoff - July 25, 2013

I’ll bet the other science fair dads just LOVE having you around year after year

What, you mean my bitches?

10. skinbad - July 25, 2013

That’s exactly what I mean.

11. lauraw - July 25, 2013

HAAA HA HA HA HAAAA HA HAAA


Leave a Reply

