jump to navigation

Inorganic and Organic Humor, Telegraph Style August 12, 2013

Posted by geoff in News.
trackback

Researchers at the University of Edinburgh are apparently afflicted with the twin problems of too much time on their hands and a difficulty in creating jokes. So they’ve been programming a computer to generate “I like my … like I like my…” jokes.

Not very good so far, but you can see the potential:

I like my women like I like my gas … natural

I like my men like I like my acorns … buried

I like my boys like I like my sectors … bad

I like my men like I like my monoxide – odourless

I like my men like I like my court … superior

You may not laugh now, but humor was always thought of as the last bastion of human superiority over computers – the realm that was perhaps unreachable for inorganic intelligence. While it’s obviously still a ways off, this sort of research is chipping away at the wall between man and machine.

In the meantime, to attempt to make up for inflicting those upon you I give you the Telegraph readers’ top 5 favorite jokes from 2012 below the fold:

  1. “I had a car crash the other day. A dwarf got out the other car and said, ‘I’m not happy’. To which I replied, ‘Which one are you then.”
  2. “I swallowed some Tippex last night. Woke up with a massive correction.”
  3. “What’s the difference between a woman and a terrorist? You can negotiate with a terrorist.”
  4. “Two cannibals eating a clown. One says, ‘Does this taste funny to you?'”
  5. “Two goldfish in a tank. One says to the other: ‘How do you start this thing?'”

Dang, looks like I have to apologize for those as well. Telegraph readers are really hurting.

Comments»

1. red sweater - August 13, 2013

Come on, the dwarf one was funny.

2. skinbad - August 13, 2013

I like my women like I like my experiments . . . blind.


Leave a Reply

