jump to navigation

Kodak’s Karmic Komeuppance September 3, 2013

Posted by geoff in News.
trackback

Once upon a time I did some consulting work for a little company who made critical parts for spacecraft built by Eastman Kodak. After I’d done about 7 of these jobs, Kodak insisted that they needed to understand the analytic process in order to approve the designs. So they sent four guys down to learn how I did it. We had a lovely meeting wherein I pretty much had to give away the whole store: the theory, the application of the theory, background papers, etc.

And then, of course, I never heard from any of them again.

It wasn’t a surprise – I could see it coming, I could see it while it was happening, and I walked out of the meeting sure that I’d never be called upon to do any of that work again. And it wasn’t a lot of money – all 7 jobs probably totaled $25K. And it wasn’t a super exotic analysis – it only took me a couple of days to figure out a decent approach and implement it.

Still, the raw thievery galled.

So hearing that Kodak is now coming out of bankruptcy isn’t filling me with delight. But perhaps they’ve been punished enough, and I should grow a bigger heart and forgive them.

Naw.

Comments»

1. thirdnews - September 3, 2013

Who knew Kodak was run by the Chicom😉

2. Retired Geezer - September 4, 2013

*makes note never to mess with Teh Geoff*

3. geoff - September 4, 2013

So you’ll be going to the cdtmm&fmhc party after all? It’d be a shame if something happened to that nice state of yours.

4. Retired Geezer - September 4, 2013

I’m giving Mesa my Proxy… and a bottle of pink nail polish to use on anyone who falls asleep at an inopportune time.

5. geoff - September 4, 2013

*struggles to stay his hand from visiting his wrath upon Idaho*

*succumbs to poor discipline and lack of impulse control*


Leave a Reply

