jump to navigation

Post-5 Million Nostalgia September 23, 2013

Posted by geoff in News.
trackback

I was just going through some old posts at IB and thinking, “Man, I haven’t been embroiled in a decent argument in forever.”

What has the blogosphere (or at least IB) come to?

The other thing that struck me was how much time has elapsed since the heyday at AoSHQ – what I consider the “golden years.” For example, what year would you guess Gabe started coblogging at Ace’s?

2007.

I’d have guessed it was 2 or 3 years later. I still kind of think of him as a “new” coblogger, which is ridiculous given that he’s been writing there for more than 6 years.

Here at IB it’s been 5 years since the Amish flap, 4 years since WickedPinto was banned, and 3 years since Megan was asked to leave. Time flies.

Heck, it’s been more than 4 years since the first appearance of The Chart and the infamous triangles controversy.

Fortunately our aging processes have completely stopped while we’ve been blogging. Otherwise we’d be getting old too.

Comments»

1. Retired Geezer - September 23, 2013

Here at IB it’s been 5 years since the Amish flap, 4 years since WickedPinto was banned, and 3 years since Megan was asked to leave. Time flies.

*feels old*

Yep but I’ve met some purty nice people IRL through IB.

Still waiting to shake Geoff and Mrs. Peel’s hands though.
Also waiting to give Lauraw a squishy hug.

2. BrewFan - September 24, 2013

What about me? No hugs for me? *smells armpits*

3. Retired Geezer - September 24, 2013

*gives Brew a squishy hug*

Let’s go Fishin’

4. Tushar - September 24, 2013

I am unaware of ‘The Amish flap’. Anyone wants to enlighten me?

5. Retired Geezer - September 24, 2013

That song “I won’t back down” comes to mind.

6. Sobek - September 25, 2013

Amish said something really offensive. When called on it, he excoriated all of us and left forever. The end.

It really was about that abrupt, too, which is what I thought was the most surprising part.

7. Michael - September 25, 2013

Then there was the Bart flap. Sobek kindly omits to mention that it ain’t pretty when I lose my temper.

8. Retired Geezer - September 25, 2013

I don’t remember the details on the Bart flap.

But it’s nice having a Bad Cop, like Michael, to keep things honest.

9. geoff - September 25, 2013

Didn’t the Bart flap happen at The Hostages? At least I thought so, so I left it out here.

10. Tushar - September 26, 2013

Yes, the Bart flap happened at the hostages. Bart made some homophobic comments about gabe, and batman let him have it.

11. digitalbrownshirt - September 28, 2013

I try to ignore Gabe as much as possible, so it’s hard to remember when he started blogging at AoSHQ. I get enough “You’re a racist!” crap from the media and the Democrats, I don’t need it from Gabe.


Leave a Reply

