jump to navigation

First Day at the Range September 30, 2013

Posted by Sobek in Ballistics.
trackback

On Saturday, I took Kidd-o to the range where he shot his first actual firearm.  It was a .22 rifle that I just got for my birthday, and it used to belong to my grandfather so it’s probably about 90 years old or so.  He shot around twenty bullets before I gave him a fresh target and told him to see what he could do.  Here’s what he did at 50 yards:

IMG_3515

Click to embiggen

It might be a little hard to see, but that’s six shots in the black, out of fifteen.  Not ready for the rifle team yet, but I can work with it.

Also, the sights are off and I didn’t have any tools to adjust them, so I put the orange dot there and told him to aim at that.

Teach your boys to become men.

Comments»

1. Cathy - September 30, 2013

Bravo!

2. Jimbro - September 30, 2013

Good shooting! My boy just turned 10 and he’s been asking. Still can’t repeat The Big Four safety rules so no range yet. Soon.

3. Retired Geezer - September 30, 2013

That’s a good idea to make them know the 4 laws before they can shoot.
I did that with my grandkids.

4. OBF - September 30, 2013

I was pretty happy when my kids could count to four.

5. daveintexas - September 30, 2013

Nice.

I started my girls on an old .22 plinker.. maybe about that old. It was dad’s. Just to get em used to the popping and stuff.

They both carry now.

6. Sobek - September 30, 2013

OBF, none of your kids can count to four.

A nice old gentleman at the range informed me that there are free .22 rifle classes for kidd-os (officially for those aged 10-20, but they’ll allow younger kids, too, so I’m told) once a month, including both safety and accuracy. So now I’m pretty excited about that, because I don’t know how to teach others to shoot.

7. phat - September 30, 2013

Took my kids out to shoot clays a couple of weeks ago. Took about 10 shots, but then my daughter was busting them.

She loved it.


Leave a Reply

