jump to navigation

I Picked My Seat November 6, 2013

Posted by Retired Geezer in Crime, Entertainment.
trackback

At the Movie.

We went to a brand new theater last night to see Captain Phillips.

I was surprised when the guy at the box office spun the computer around and told me to pick my seat. Since there were only 4 seats taken, I chose two that were away from everybody.

Just before the movie started, 4 people came in and sat down one chair away from us… Really?

I don’t know about you but I like to check out the crowd and sit away from chattering teens and people that I figure will be annoying.

This theater is in a new upscale shopping center. The seats were leather and reclined but the projectionist had the image too low in the frame and it cut off half of the subtitles. The movie was OK but it had entirely too much Extreme Close-Up and hand-held camera shake. Mrs. Geezer was getting nauseous toward the end of the movie.  The admission was $10, I wish we would have waited to see it at the $2 theater.

How does this compare with your recent movie-going experiences?

Comments»

1. Retired Geezer - November 6, 2013

I don’t think we’ll be going back.

2. Jimbro - November 6, 2013

I rarely go to a theater nowadays. If I do it’s part of a treat for the kids—movie, dinner, etc. We saw Monsters University on the big screen last spring or summer. Before that I don’t recall the last one.

3. Cathy - November 6, 2013

Sheesh! I don’t go to movies much either. I wait to watch stuff on Netflix — so I’m REALLY cheap (but in a good way, I hope).

I also heard that the story was so rewritten for Hollywood that it’s barely true at all — that this Captain Phillips dude was a real life weenie and no hero. And Tom Hanks has lost his luster with me — a moron (in a bad way).

I was a mere 5 miles from the theater where all those people were gunned down in Aurora about a year and a half ago. Some of the kids in my youth group had considered attending that new release of Batman with their friends that night, but changed their minds because we were departing on our mission trip the next morning at about 5:00 a.m.

Like I said — not much for movie theaters anymore.

4. Cathy - November 6, 2013

…and that Aurora Colorado movie theater was the gun-free one that area. I’ll be avoiding those places and Starbucks too.

5. Pupster - November 6, 2013

We usually go see the Lord of the Rings and James Bond movies in theater, but like Cathy, most of our movie viewing is Netflix or DVD.

Might go see Ender’s Game this weekend.

Mrs. Pupster had a problem with a rude patron kicking her seat in one of those new fancy theaters like you describe, Geezer. Paid extra for the cushy seats and wait staff service. I’d much rather stay home but she likes movie theater popcorn.

6. vaitguy - November 6, 2013

Took the chillins to see the Sea of Monsters a month or so ago, and thank God we didn’t see it in 3D or I would have vapor locked for sure, it was pretty intense. Tickets were $7.50 for a matinee, but the popcorn was like $12 for a small bag… crazy.

7. Retired Geezer - November 6, 2013

Yeah Pups, I had a seat kicker behind me at the sold-out opening of one of the LoTR movies. Pretty annoying.

8. wintersetruss - November 6, 2013

We took Moses to go see “Planes” and “Despicable Me 2” at the drive-in over in Newton (about 70 miles East of Winterset on the other side of Des Moines)about a month ago. I figure that with the new digital projectors becoming the only game in town, his chances of seeing more movies at a drive-in is becoming very slim. We drove over in my F150, parked backwards, and snuggled up in blankets on lawn chair loungers while watching the movie. Just like back in high school….but without the booze and one common bag of $100 worth of Long John Silvers (one of our buddies worked at the LJS near the drive-in on the SW side of Des Moines, so he used to “load up” our orders with about 5x what we paid for).

It was fun. I hope they raise enough money to get a digital projector so we can do it again next year.

9. Retired Geezer - November 6, 2013

We still have a working drive-in in the valley. They brag about having the original popcorn machine. I think they just upgraded to Digital projection.

10. lauraw - November 7, 2013

Haven’t been to the movies in years.

11. daveintexas - November 7, 2013

This would be better if I could pick everybody else’s seat too.

12. lauraw - November 8, 2013

13. jam2 - November 8, 2013

My wife talked me into seeing “The Queen” back a few years ago… haven’t been back to a theater since; I’m waiting for Alzheimer’s to remove the memory.

The best part of the experience was the gay couple seated behind us (nearly empty theater) complaining that the movie wasn’t about an alternative lifestyle-

14. Nan G - November 9, 2013

I only gp out to see movies that ”deserve” the big screen treatment.
I saw Enders Game and then Thor recently.
In Utah many theaters allow you to pick where you want to sit.
They also have a couple rows of seats that move like at Universal Studios Jurassic Park ride.
I pick seats where there’s a walkway in front of me instead of another row of seats because I’m short and hate seeing the movie with a guy’s head on the bottom part of it.
Seniors get terrific discounts here.
$6 tickets and one free after five paid admissions.

15. Retired Geezer - November 10, 2013

I only go out to see movies that ”deserve” the big screen treatment.

Good point.
I have belatedly realized that faces of Somali Pirates do not deserve Big Screen treatment.

16. drketedc - November 11, 2013

I apologize for being like the people you mention. For me, sitting in the center is more important than being away from people. We try to see the big action movies like Thor, Sherlock Holmes, etc at the theater. The gun-free zone thing has put me off and since our tv is pretty nice, though not spectacular, we tend to watch dvd’s instead for most movies. I also resent spending $10-12 each to be preached to by left wing zealot movie actors and producers.

17. Retired Geezer - November 11, 2013

No need to apologize, I just thought it was weird that someone would pick 4 seats close to someone else, in an almost empty theater.

It’s kind of like Guy Law in the bathroom; if there are 10 empty urinals, you don’t just sidle up to the one occupied urinal.
Well, maybe in prison but you’d have to ask Pupster about that.

I also agree with Nan G about picking a seat with a walkway in front.

18. Pupster - November 11, 2013

There are no urinals in dog prison.

I mean, no specific urinals. Anything can be a tree with a little imagination.

19. Retired Geezer - November 11, 2013

Ya but, remember Skinbad’s Cautionary Tale about the bush he relieved himself on, in his front yard.

20. carboranadum - November 12, 2013

I don’t go to the theater anymore either. I can’t stand the incessant talking, texting, etc. I built a movie theater in my basement. I’ve got a 142″ screen, leather recliners…the works. The best part…I can kick someone out if they are talking or I can pause the movie and get a (free) refreshment when I want one. It’s bliss!

21. Nan G - November 16, 2013

Another point;
A lot of theaters charge a low price for their matinees.
Sometimes that’s a fun way to combine a day out running errands with some fun.
I saw Enders Game for $6 per person.
I don’t see anything else worth going out for until 47 Ronin hits the screens.

22. Retired Geezer - November 16, 2013

I saw trailers for two movies that I might pay cashy money to see: Noah and Lone Survivor.
I’ll wait and see if they turn out to be PC oriented or Environmental Preachy.

23. Sobek - November 17, 2013

Took the kiddo to Ender’s Game. We both liked it. Now he’s most of the way through the book.

24. osoloco11 - November 18, 2013

Just saw Thor last week at the matinee. We usually wait for the crowds to die down. I can’t make it through the Lone Survivor trailer without crying. Watching that movie will be tough. Box o’Kleenex like Passion.

25. Retired Geezer - November 19, 2013

Funny you should mention “Passion”. I bought it years ago but have yet to open it.
Also unopened on my shelf; Saving Private Ryan.

Guess I’m not ready yet.


Leave a Reply

