jump to navigation

Racist Electric Car Sales Lag Behind the President’s Prediction (Dec 2013) December 10, 2013

Posted by geoff in News.
trackback

Over the past few days we’ve seen how poorly employment, manufacturing jobs, and exports are doing. Might as well turn our attention to the green economy – another of the key areas of the President’s economic push.

The President famously promised to get 1 million electric vehicles on the road by the end of 2015. Let’s compare Presidential fancy with reality:*

ElectricCarSalesThroughNov2013

We’re seeing 1/3 of the predicted sales. That’s not too bad for an electric car pilot project. But it’s abysmal for a centerpiece of the President’s green technology initiative, and ineffectual in boosting the economy.

It’s not all the President’s fault – he got his numbers from the DOE, which has absolutely no expertise in predicting commercial sales of anything. But it’s certainly his fault for believing their optimistic swags. A competent or seasoned executive wouldn’t have made that mistake.

*Since we haven’t quite reached the end of the year, I multiplied the 2013 sales through November by 12/11. Next month we’ll have the real data, but I doubt you’ll see a difference.

Comments»

1. Jimbro - December 10, 2013

I saw my first electric car the other day (that I’ve recognized as such). It was plugged into a random socket in the parking garage. I’ve walked by that spot hundreds of times and never noticed the plug. I guess when you own an electric vehicle you start noticing things like that.

2. canucope - December 10, 2013

Interestingly, I actually am tasked with coming up with the forecast of EVs for my company (Major Oil) and we see a faster ramp up in Natural Gas vehicles than we see in EVs. Currently, they are too expensive and have too little infrastructure to support it. The real push will come when someone other than Tesla can build a EV that can go all day without a charge (it will help if the car doesn’t burst into flames as well…)

3. lauraw - December 11, 2013

Rainbow trendline is racist. Nice try, Hitler.

4. daveintexas - December 12, 2013

We need more guilt-ridden people to buy these expensive useless things.

5. lauraw - December 12, 2013

I like the idea of driving a car that burns to the ground if it gets wet. Danger excites me. Will it rain? Will I run over a puddle? Etc.

6. daveintexas - December 12, 2013

I want to park it in the garage and plug it in but my homeowner’s insurance would be cancelled.

7. skinbad - December 12, 2013

We need more coal-fired power plants to provide electricity for these cars.

8. geoff - December 12, 2013

Rainbow trendline is racist.

Looks like I forgot to include my normal “Rainbow Trajectory to Prosperity” and “Harsh Reality” labels on the graph. I hope by now everybody sees them even when they’re not there.

9. daveintexas - December 12, 2013

I see them.

They haunt my dreams.

10. OBF - December 13, 2013

Out here in God’s country the EV’s would be perfect. When the battery gets a little low you just pull off the road and plug them into a current bush.

11. skinbad - December 13, 2013

I would just use my charge card.

12. OBF - December 13, 2013

Retro-fit some lightening bugs?

13. lauraw - December 13, 2013

groaaaannnn

14. Tushar - December 17, 2013

This racist chart is deceiving because it is selective. If you add years before 2011, the projections (zero) will match reality (zero) perfectly and credit must go to obama.

15. jam2 - December 20, 2013

I saw a Tesla model S a few days ago (only the second one I’ve seen). It was being hauled on an open trailer by a Ford diesel pickup that was placarded “Tesla Support”. I looked over at the guy driving and he was not looking particularly amused; I couldn’t help myself – I started laughing.
I assume that means I’m a racist….

16. Lipstick - December 20, 2013

mmmm, natural gas car explosion. BAM!


Leave a Reply

