jump to navigation

Art December 19, 2013

Posted by Sobek in Art.
trackback

Done.  Finally.

11b
I slipped a disk in my back yesterday, so it was excruciating to finish this thing up, but I was so close to done that I didn’t want to wait.
And now I’m finally caught up with the wedding presents I’ve been making for my siblings.  My older brother got married a year ago last August, so you can see I was running a little behind.
I haven’t made one of these and kept it in a while (and that was because I married the gal I made that one for), so maybe I’ll do one for Case de la Sobek.  Unless any of you know any spectacularly wealthy art collectors who want something unique for, say, mid-2015.

Comments»

1. Retired Geezer - December 19, 2013

That is so perfect it looks like it was done with a machine.

2. lauraw - December 20, 2013

Amazing.
What is written?

3. Sobek - December 20, 2013

I could tell you, but I usually enjoy the helpful suggestions in the comments more than what I’ve actually written.

4. lauraw - December 20, 2013

OK. Sorry about your back. I have a recurring injury thing that happens and I know how painful it can be.

5. daveintexas - December 20, 2013

We’ve only been able to translate the title,

“To Serve Man”

6. skinbad - December 20, 2013

This is what I can make out:

“In the name of Allah, the most gracious the most merciful. Life is like being surrounded by menacing, giant ant mandibles. And if you want to get away from them, the only other option is to get sucked into a centrally located whirling vortex of nothingness. Peace be upon you and Allah’s mercy and blessings.”

7. skinbad - December 20, 2013

I like it. It centers me.

8. Michael - December 20, 2013

What is that weed between the ant mandibles?

9. Michael - December 20, 2013

Also, the symbols seperating the text look familiar. Does this design have something to do with nuclear energy?

10. Michael - December 20, 2013

Maybe the weeds are radioactive.

11. Lipstick - December 20, 2013

I thought nuclear symbols too.

And that’s a striped bagel in the center.

Oh – wait – the thing in the middle is a satellite view of a turban. Allah’s view.

12. Lipstick - December 20, 2013

The ant mandibles: http://tinyurl.com/q9z2v9l

Plus, I can’t take my eyes off the colors.

13. Sobek - December 20, 2013

As I said, I like what you guys come up with way better than anything I have to say.

14. lauraw - December 20, 2013

Ant mandibles!! You people are hilarious.

Obviously, those aren’t meant to be ants, but stag beetles, just coming into frame. This is an important distinction, resonating with great significance.

And that thing in the center is a turbine roof vent.

http://is.gd/B5lwDl

I need to really digest this one a little longer.

15. Sobek - December 20, 2013

I’m not saying this is better than what you guys wrote, but someone might assume the block texts said something like

“And it shall come to pass afterward, that I will pour out my spirit upon all flesh; and your sons and your daughters shall prophesy, your old men shall dream dreams, your young men shall see visions: And also upon the servants and upon the handmaids in those days will I pour out my spirit.” Which is basically just a rip-off of Joel 2:28-29.

And the rings around the celtic knots might say something to the effect of “And Moses said unto him, Enviest thou for my sake? would God that all the LORD’S people were prophets, and that the LORD would put his spirit upon them!” Which is like Numbers 11:29.

So in summary, I like Dave’s translation.

16. Retired Geezer - December 21, 2013

I remember Aunt Mandibles and Uncle Chitin.

Hi Lipstick.

17. Sobek - December 21, 2013

I saw Aunt Mandibles open for Skynard back in 1997. Good show.

18. daveintexas - December 21, 2013

Them ain’t stag beetles.. they’s stink bugs.

19. Lipstick - December 21, 2013

Hi Geezer!

20. Nanny G - December 21, 2013

I have plans to take a black/white copy of this or one of your other ones and enlarge it then add shading to it.
I recall how I used to like old cartoons like Popeye when the original cartoonists added shadows.
But then cartoons became very flat for decades.
“Who Framed Roger Rabbit,” is the first modern cartoon that went back to adding shadowing, iirc.
I just love your art.
My main area is mosaic art.
(I can be very flat-looking or, with the help of colored grout, quite 3 dimensional.)
I am branching into quilting (somewhat like working with mosaics) now because I am in my very first snowy winter.
(I moved from So Cal to Utah last March.)
So, I’m kind of stuck inside for long periods of time.

21. Retired Geezer - December 21, 2013

Mrs. Geezer wants to know how big it is. (the drawing)

22. Sobek - December 21, 2013

Nan, make sure you post a pic when you’re done.

Tell Mrs. G that this one is about 18 inches across. Smaller than #10, which may have been the biggest, but I’m not sure.


Leave a Reply

