jump to navigation

My Typical Work Week of Blog Surfing February 20, 2014

Posted by geoff in News.
trackback
  • Monday is Leon’s “Ridiculously Fit Women with Ginormous Aft Ends” post at The Hostages
  • Tuesday it’s pointless to get on the Intertubes
  • Wednesday is RFH’s “Hunky Hunks and the Lonely Women Who Love Them” post at The Hostages. I get a lot of work done on Tuesday and Wednesday.
  • Thursday is Hooker and Booze’s “Thursday Random” post
  • Friday is MJ’s “I Can’t Find Many Skinny Women With Huge Boobs, so I’ll Rerun Previous Entrants; Otherwise I’d Have to Run Plus-Sized Chicks Like Rosetta” post at The Hostages

Today is Thursday, so you should be hustling over to Hookers and Booze for their Thursday Random post. A sample:

cookbooks-lol

Comments»

1. LC Aggie Sith - February 20, 2014

Thanks so much for the linkie love.

And I do read cookbooks, like the Anachist’s one😉

2. Jimbro - February 20, 2014

H+B: Short and sweet, always worth reading. I can catch up quickly on the weekend.

3. roamingfirehydrant - February 20, 2014

All of the above plus AoS are blocked at work, which does help my productivity.

4. lauraw - February 20, 2014

Geoff….help me…I…pls help….unh

http://www.theatlantic.com/business/archive/2014/02/happy-birthday-stimulus-you-saved-the-world/283950/

can’t…not…see….going….dark….

*has seizure

5. geoff - February 20, 2014

That revisionist nonsense (from Time Magazine also) really galls me. Unfortunately I don’t have time enough to write a good post about it. Although I’m a little more motivated today: because of the great recovery, my hours were reduced by 30% this morning (a company-wide slowdown).

That would be my paid hours, not my working hours, so I still have little time for blogging..

6. geoff - February 20, 2014

I should hasten to assure everyone that the cutback won’t affect me much (I work for another company as well, so I can pick up hours there). But it is annoying.

7. daveintexas - February 20, 2014

Tuesday is shit.

8. lauraw - February 20, 2014

Wow. Sucks. But it is good that you have planned ahead and can compensate for the change, Geoff! Annoying is better than Devastating.

Question: let’s say I have two identical-size plastic barrels of water. One is transparent, and the other one is painted black.

Placed in sunlight, I understand the water in the one painted black is going to heat up faster than the clear one.

Would placing a large dark object inside the transparent barrel of water make it heat up like the black-painted one?

9. lauraw - February 20, 2014

…I mean like a large flat sheet of material, not filling the space entirely. The amount of water in both barrels remains almost the same.

10. geoff - February 20, 2014

Well, if the barrel body doesn’t obstruct the sunlight, then I think that would work pretty well. Probably better than the barrel.

11. lauraw - February 20, 2014

When I was raising tropical waterlilies, I was setting just a couple black rocks inside of big tubs of water, with a sheet of plexi across the top to reduce evaporation. They got incredibly hot inside, even in early Spring.

I want to put up some passive solar greenhouse dealio in my yard for next Winter but I don’t want a wall of black barrels on the North side.

12. lauraw - February 20, 2014

Thanks, man. I was hoping it would be in the ballpark of not a bad idea.

13. lauraw - February 21, 2014

Of course, then there is this thing called algae.

14. daveintexas - February 21, 2014

When I planted water lilies they died

15. lauraw - February 21, 2014

I know, honey. I know.

16. Michael - February 21, 2014

Scroll down, and you’ll see that The Chart was remembered in this article bashing the notion that the stimulus actually worked.

17. daveintexas - February 21, 2014

I’ll be okaaaaaay

18. Retired Geezer - February 22, 2014

My sheep’s udder is filling up.

I predict baby lambs in 2-3 weeks.

19. Lipstick - February 22, 2014

Holy Moley, you know what that means?!!

Adorable, fluffy, gamboling lamb pics!

*marks calendar
*resolves to call The Geezers daily to see if they have arrived
*realizes I don’t have their number

20. lauraw - February 22, 2014

Lambs…tew.

21. Retired Geezer - February 22, 2014

*looks up ‘gamboling’
*sends Lipstick, ‘lamb hotline number’
*sends Dave, ‘sheep hotline number’

22. BrewFan - February 23, 2014

lamb + fresh garlic + olive oil + Italian seasoning rub + fire = delicious

23. Lipstick - February 23, 2014

Shush up yinzes.

They will be a-gambolin’ and not a-grillin’

24. lauraw - February 24, 2014

You only need two to make a proper spider costume for the Falkland Islands Day Parade.


Leave a Reply

