jump to navigation

The Stigmata of Racism April 2, 2014

Posted by geoff in News.
trackback

Some rabid comments about white privilege have been making the rounds:

“Being a white person who does anti-racist work is like being an alcoholic. I will never be recovered by my alcoholism, to use the metaphor,” Radersma said. “I have to everyday wake up and acknowledge that I am so deeply imbedded with racist thoughts and notions and actions in my body that I have to choose everyday to do anti-racist work and think in an anti-racist way.”

She argued that until white people admit they have a problem, they will not be able to fight against white privilege.

There’s lots more ridiculous, stupid stuff at the link.

But I just want to focus on the snippet above. Here’s the deal: If I’m so inherently racist that I can never be cured, well, I guess I’ll just give up. If my white skin afflicts me with a racism that I can’t even sense or fully comprehend, then what’s the point of trying?

It seems like this hopeless situation that the whiteness folk have created would actually encourage racism. After all, there are no gradations of racism acknowledged by their philosophy. So if I’m going to be called racist for the incurable condition of being white, why not go Full Racist?

Of course there is a basic reason why that won’t happen (you never go Full Racist). It’s because most of the people that Radersma is maligning are fundamentally decent, well-intentioned people who try to be fair and kind despite their apparently incorrigible nature. Rather than giving them credit for those efforts, Radersma is alienating them by raising the bar impossibly high and assigning them guilt for crimes they can never stop committing.

Radersma and her ilk have created a new Original Sin which is itself deeply steeped in racism. It’s another example of how the liberal elevation of Perfect Justice to the highest societal ideal creates more injustice, more acrimony, and more societal dysfunction.

As for me, I’m going to strive to be nice and treat everybody equally. Like I’ve always done. That’s hard enough without worrying about things I can never change.

Comments»

1. Cathy - April 2, 2014

I feel like Radersma just threw an old smelly wet wool blanket on me when the temperature outside is 97 degrees

I choose to remove that nasty old blanket and enjoy being the decent, kind, and caring person to others that I was taught to be by my parents over 50 years ago.

Maybe if she would stop gazing at her lint-filled navel and find ways to enjoy doing something for others, her self-absorbed thoughts would get rightly adjusted???

No… Methinks she’s having far too much fun being stupid.

2. skinbad - April 2, 2014

If you gave me the choice of doing five years of hard time or sitting through a weekend white privilege conference I would have to give it some thought.

3. OBF - April 2, 2014

That is just a stupid way to consider life. I say we vote her off the island!

4. lauraw - April 2, 2014

I don’t really care if this damaged and indoctrinated person wants to self-flagellate for past crimes that she had nothing to do with or current attitudes that she feels she has no self-control over. Adults are old enough to make their own choices and that includes the right to defy logic and believe silly things.

I *DO* care that this pap is being taught to schoolchildren who are utterly innocent of all this baggage. No one has the right to punish your child or treat her like a guilty person when she is new on the Earth and has done nothing wrong.

The notion that evil is a racially inherited trait is indistinguishable from the first kind of racism that we are supposed to be purging.

5. ChrisP - April 2, 2014

The folks that think this way should be rounded-up and isolated with their own kind, so as not to spread this insanity (and that’s what it is) to other impressionable people.
They should certainly not ever be put in a position anywhere in the education bureaucracy where they can spread their foul-shit to young people…


Leave a Reply

