jump to navigation

Exploring Gender Sensitivity July 29, 2014

Posted by geoff in News.
trackback

From The New Yorker:
What Is a Woman?
The dispute between radical feminism and transgenderism.

Seeing that article prompted the following conversation with my wife last night:

geoff: I just can’t follow all this cis/trans gender stuff. I mean, now Facebook has, like, 50 different designations for gender.

Mrs. geoff: Why does it bother you?

geoff: Well, in the old days we had just 2. Male/female. M/F. M. F.

Mrs. geoff: So?

geoff: Well now I don’t know – maybe I’m not a male anymore.

Mrs. geoff: [snorting] You’re a male.

geoff: You don’t know that. Maybe now I’m some sub-category cis-trans-winnebago guy. Maybe I have rights!

Mrs. geoff: You’re a male.

geoff: Help! I’m being repressed!

Comments»

1. gnardopolo - July 29, 2014

The Monty Python reference confirms you are male, and a geeky one at that.

2. geoff - July 29, 2014

You should see the Zardoz reference in the comments on the preceding thread.

3. Retired Geezer - July 29, 2014

I confess that I’m curious.

About geoff.

4. sobek - July 29, 2014

“Maybe I have rights!”

Not if you’re a male.

5. Mr. Matamoros - July 30, 2014

You hetero-normative cis-gender brute, you.

6. Cathy - July 31, 2014

Hint! Hint! Gentleman!!!

When your woman says: “You’re a male” shut up with the dispute, take it as a compliment, move in close, slide your arms around her waist, look her in the eyes, kiss her slowly and full on the lips and say “Thank you.”

You’re welcome.

7. geoff - July 31, 2014

…look her in the eyes, kiss her slowly and full on the lips and say “Thank you You’re welcome.”

FTFY

8. Cathy - July 31, 2014

Hahahahah! You’re good, Geoff!!


Leave a Reply

