jump to navigation

Semper Latte and My Glass House September 24, 2014

Posted by geoff in News.
trackback

Semper LatteI can’t get too outraged over the President’s silly “Semper Latte” salute. Sure it was a lame salute, and sure it was symptomatic of a president who has no empathy for the military, but let me tell you the tale of a USAF 2nd Lt and his ice cream:

‘Twas some 30+ years ago when the Inspector General came to review our organization on base. We had been scrambling for two weeks to make sure our files and classified material storage were up to snuff, and had been shredding classified documents day after day to make sure that we didn’t get dinged for storing out-of-date materials. This was a big deal, since we had 25 years of documents that had built up; people just kept ordering more safes to store the damn things.

Anyway, after 2 weeks of devoting about 20 hours a day to this and not getting any real work done, they finally arrived. And it was like angry and vengeful gods had descended upon our happy little village. Seemed like nothing we did was absolutely per all the regulations, because these guys pulled out regulations we’d never heard of. You were destined to fail – kind of like a Kobayashi Maru scenario for office work.

At some point amidst the bloodbath this 2nd Lt decided to walk across the street to the convenience store and grab some ice cream (aka lunch). I was partial to the triple scoop of vanilla in a dish, and on that day it didn’t disappoint. I was mowing through it as I walked back to the office and was 50 feet from the front door when one of the dread IG nasties emerged.

Startled, I snapped off a salute (pretty nicely done, if I do say so), since he outranked me. He returned the salute, and I resumed walking, pretty pleased that I had my cover (my stupid Air Force cap), and had followed military protocol without losing composure. But then he said,

“Next time take the spoon out of your mouth.”

So President Obama gets a pass from me on this one.

Comments»

1. historyupclose - September 24, 2014

No pass for O. He pulls way too many tude stunts.

2. historyupclose - September 24, 2014

‘rude’ stunts.

3. skinbad - September 24, 2014

Why he gotta be so rude?

4. MJ - September 25, 2014

Eh. I’ve seen other Presidents do the same thing.


Leave a Reply

