jump to navigation

IB Blog Authors September 28, 2014

Posted by geoff in News.
trackback

Just looking over the post tallies for all the approved authors at this site. We have a total of 5910 posts since the blog’s inception in 2006. Michael is like the Brett Favre of blogging, with an unassailable lead in posts:

Author # of Posts
Michael 1872
geoff 774
skinbad 592
Retired Geezer 543
DinTX 458
Sobek 343
EddieBear 271
Brewfan 238
Kevl 99
Lipstick 99
Harrison 93
pupster 91
RussinWinterset 78
lauraw 65
composmentis 60
digitalbrownshirt 26
Mrs. Peel 23
wiserbud 6 4

Most of us aren’t online as much as we were back in the heyday (2003 – 2010). You see a lot of names of people who don’t hang out all anymore, like Brewfan, EddieBear, Kevl, Mrs. Peel, and composmentis. Harrison, of course, passed away two years ago, which has never stopped sucking.

With all the casualties of time and real life, I think the blog needs a jolt to get a little more energy in the place. Personally, I’ve avoided writing on most of the mainstream news topics just because I think other blogs have beaten them to death. But I think I’ll start hitting them anyway. Nothing like the outrage du jour to get the blood flowing.

Beyond encouraging the authors to continue/resume posting (Sobek was awesome over the past week, and Lipstick’s post was an all-too-rare treat), I’d like to extend an invitation to those who might want to join the illustrious roll of IB authors. I’d particularly like more humorous posts because, well, mine rarely are.

I’d like to get the blog back up to 3 – 4 posts a day, and resurrect the comments section so it’s as interactive and lively as it was 4 years ago.

But I’d prefer to keep the cats to a minimum. Really. Hating the cats.

Comments»

1. Sobek - September 28, 2014

*looks at DiT*

*cracks knuckles*

2. Retired Geezer - September 28, 2014

I miss Harrison. I probably mentioned that I bought one of his photos of Mt. St. Helens, it’s awesome.

3. Retired Geezer - September 28, 2014

I’m not articulate enough to post anything serious. I go for the heartwarming or funny, mostly.
I like to post tear-jerkers just to make me and Dave cry.

4. Lipstick - September 28, 2014

It would be nice to get back to the heyday. I will try to do better, plus, I have to do only one more to break the tie with KevlarChick!

Come back KevlarChick!!!

5. Lipstick - September 28, 2014

Just got back from a week in my old beach town stomping ground, and it put the icing on the cake of my mental recovery. I was actually laughing from sheer joy. I feel like me again.

6. sobek - September 28, 2014

Lips, that makes me so happy to hear.

7. Lipstick - September 28, 2014

Thank you, Sobek.

8. digitalbrownshirt - September 28, 2014

The Assassin’s Creed kitten video is pretty awesome.

9. Retired Geezer - September 29, 2014

Me and Dave changed Kev’s tire at the first IB Gathering.

I miss her too.

10. skinbad - September 29, 2014

“6” for wiserbud? I heard it was more like “4”.

11. geoff - September 29, 2014

Dang, you’re right.

12. Jim - October 1, 2014

The 2003 – 2010 comment really hits home, it was the golden age as a regular reader / lurker on many more sites than today. It’s now hard to find more than 3 or 4 sites with original, interesting/funny content each day. All of them rooted back to the early days at Ace’s for me, now that I think about it.

13. geoff - October 2, 2014

Yep – it was a time when we were exploring what bloggers could really do. Now it seems commonplace, but the idea that a bunch of reg’lar folk could grab their keyboards and change things in the real world – well, that was just a gleam in our eye back then.

Reading through old Ace comments is sad – there are so many names you remember that have completely disappeared from the blogosphere.

It’s now hard to find more than 3 or 4 sites with original, interesting/funny content each day.

Even Ace, who was consistently hilarious back in the day, has really diluted the funny.

This site has a bunch of hilarious people, but they don’t participate so much. Instead you get a bunch of dry graphs ‘n stats from yours truly.

14. Retired Geezer - October 2, 2014

I don’t mind the dry graphs. You’re good at that stuff.

I remember reading some comment threads aloud to Mrs. Geezer and having to stop because I was laughing so hard.

15. Retired Geezer - October 2, 2014

Even Ace, who was consistently hilarious back in the day, has really diluted the funny.

The world isn’t as funny as it was back then.

16. digitalbrownshirt - October 2, 2014

Sadly, that’s it in a nutshell.


Leave a Reply

