jump to navigation

Goodbye My Friend January 8, 2015

Posted by BrewFan in News.
trackback

Comments»

1. BrewFan - January 8, 2015

I don’t know about you but I’m going to be keeping a close eye on the Flag Counter. You never know!

2. Cathy - January 8, 2015

Thank you, everyone for your kind thoughts about Michael. His life was very rich because of you morons at Innocent Bystanders, Hostages, Ace of Spaces and the various Interwebbies where he enjoyed commenting and making trouble. I will miss him a bunch!

3. daveintexas - January 8, 2015

Drop the rucksack and take a knee Michael.

Fight’s over. You won.

4. lauraw - January 8, 2015

It was my honor to have met Michael and to get to spend time with both of you on several occasions. His passing is very sad and untimely. I am glad he is at peace now.

Condolences to your family, from the Ws.

5. Bart - January 8, 2015

Cathy, I am very sorry for your loss. Michael was a good man.

6. wiserbud - January 8, 2015

Goodbye, my friend. You will be sorely missed.

My condolences to you and your family, Cathy.

7. Adriane the Critic - January 8, 2015

Please accept my condolences …

8. xbradtc - January 8, 2015
9. Farewell, Batman | Bring the heat, Bring the Stupid - January 8, 2015

[…] Longtime internet and meatspace friend , one of the great early commenters at Ace of Spades, Splitter in Chief, Michael, has gone to be with the Lord. […]

10. txmarko - January 8, 2015

Rest In Peace, Micheal.

11. roamingfirehydrant - January 8, 2015

Eternal rest, grant unto him, O Lord, and let perpetual light shine upon him. May he rest in peace. Amen.

My condolences to the family.

12. Jazz - January 8, 2015

Cathy, my condolences to – and earnest prayers for – you and your family. Michael, requiescat in pacem. Please finish the green jello before I get there.

13. Car in - January 8, 2015

I just want to mention that not only was he a moron friend, but he was a pretty darn good writer. Entertaining. Funny. Smart. I didn’t always agree with everything, but I usually had a pretty hard time arguing with him.

14. beasn - January 8, 2015

*pictures him arguing ‘Luthern’ doctrine with St. Peter*

15. Piercello - January 8, 2015

My condolences, Cathy.

16. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere - January 8, 2015

I’m glad he is at peace.

I’m sorry he’s gone.

17. Andy - January 8, 2015

Farewell, my friend.

18. mesablue - January 8, 2015

Michael, if it weren’t for you, I wouldn’t know ninety per cent of these gophers.

Thank you and Godspeed.

19. lauraw - January 8, 2015

JackM sends his condolences through me via Twitter.

I don’t know how many remember, but many of the core group here were the regulars from LfDR, one of Jack’s prior blogs.

20. ChrisP - January 8, 2015

So long, Michael. You will be missed.
GOD will probably to welcome a good attorney…

21. geoff - January 8, 2015

I’m just going to have to sit awhile and process this. Michael was one of my favorite fake internet friends, and I always enjoyed his humor and insight. When he stopped blogging here it changed the site permanently for the worse. His leaving us has done the same to the planet.

22. The Great Satans Ghost - January 8, 2015

Rest In Peace Micheal, and condolences to Cathy and the rest of the Batman family. Although I never met the man, I really enjoyed reading his thoughts.

23. mesablue - January 8, 2015

*goobers dammit.

24. skinbad - January 8, 2015

Good choice of music, Brew. Fly your clarinets at half mast because Michael would appreciate the humor. He was a smart and funny and generous person. Hugs to Cathy and family. I will miss him.

25. Tushar - January 8, 2015

Godspeed Michael.
Hope to see you in a few years, if I am good enough to slip through the pearly gates.

Cathy, my deepest condolences to you and the children.

26. HayZeus - January 8, 2015

Damn. Just damn. So long Michael!
Cathy and family, you have my deepest condolences.

27. Mr. Chumpo - January 8, 2015

Thank you, Michael for your inspiring words. Toward the end you shared a unique and beautiful perspective on life and friendship. (before that time it was a lot of fun to get drunk w you and make fun of the world.)

All Love and Blessings, Sir to you and all.

28. Retired Geezer - January 8, 2015

Mrs. Geezer and I were fortunate enough to stay with Michael and Cathy in Ohio during the first IB Gathering. Many times we think about his generosity and kindness during that visit. Except for the time that Mrs. G got between Michael and his fancy coffee maker.

R.I.P. friend.

29. Anonymous - January 8, 2015

Farewell, Michael. I will miss you, but I’m sure I’ll catch you on the flip side. Cathy, my condolences to you and your family.

30. LC Aggie Sith - January 8, 2015

Be not sad, for he is in the arms of the Lord.

31. digitalbrownshirt - January 8, 2015

Michael was one of the good guys. I’m sorry for his passing.

32. edward_von_bear (@edward_von_bear) - January 8, 2015

I apologize that I have not been around for some time, but I cannot help but feel multiple emotions today. Michael & Cathy treated my family and me with more respect and decency than I deserve by a factor of ten. To all who knew him, this is a loss on multiple levels, many of which I cannot even begin to understand, and for that, I extend my deepest condolences and sympathy as he shuffles off this mortal coil. That said, I cannot help but have some happiness in this time of sorrow, for it was his efforts that brought many of us together in meatspace to laugh and have fun, and there is no way I can be sad at that. Over the last couple of years, I have had opportunities, often difficult ones, to reassess my life and what is important, and nothing is more important than having a positive outlook on life, no matter what comes along. Therefore, I close with a quote (I forget by whom now): “Do not be sad he is gone; rather, be glad he was here.”

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=SnSOYavRa0g

33. lauraw - January 8, 2015

Eddie! Great to ‘see’ you again.

34. Sean M. - January 8, 2015

I regret that I never got to meet you, Bruce. Enjoy the all-you-can-eat Jello up there.

35. MCPO Airdale - January 8, 2015

“Now cracks a noble heart. Good-night, sweet prince;
And flights of angels sing thee to thy rest. ”

36. See-Dubya - January 8, 2015

I am deeply sorry for your loss, Cathy. Thank you for sharing Michael with us drooling electronic reprobates…it was clear he was a kind, passionate and very clever man and he is sorely missed.

37. Rosetta - January 8, 2015

Michael would be proud to see this collection of miscreants.

He earned every tribute that he’s received because he was a good man, an excellent debater, a great foil, a brilliant commenter and a good friend.

One of the things he said that sticks in my mind was that his Batman avatar looks outward to the right so that he can look for trouble and see it coming. I always liked that. I also liked the Luthern jokes. He pretended he didn’t like them but I know he did.

*spills some casserole in tribute*

Godspeed buddy.

*infinite bear hugs for Cathy*

38. Rosetta - January 8, 2015

*looks askance at Bart, gives stink eye*

I’m glad you’re still around punk. It was nice of you to make your presence known here.

39. doubleplusundead - January 8, 2015

I’m glad to have met Michael, and you too Cathy, you guys were gracious hosts. Michael was as awesome a guy in person as he was in our wacky corner of the digital world. Cathy, you have my condolences. Michael was a brilliant, funny dude, and at the same time enlightening, he was the kind of guy you could always learn a little something new if you paid attention…and sober…semi-sober-ish. We are all richer for having met him, digitally or in person.

Hope to see you on the other side, Michael.

40. jam2 - January 8, 2015

.

41. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX - January 8, 2015

Rest in peace, sweet man.

42. doc - January 8, 2015

condolences, Mrs. Michael. Michael was a brilliant and funny man, he will be greatly missed. Damn, I really wish I wouldve made it to a meatup. Just goes to show what an impact he had on folks he never even met. Enjoy the casseroles in heaven, friend.

43. Pupster - January 8, 2015

So long Michael, thanks for all the comments.

44. The Lovely Janis - January 9, 2015

God speed Michael.

I had the privilege and blessing of meeting Michael and Cathy and many others at the Ohio meet up. They were the most gracious host to a 6 month pregnant woman with Russ in tow and Bandit dog too.

Our thoughts and prayers to you Cathy and your kids and extended family.

45. sandy burger - January 9, 2015

I’m so sorry to hear this, Cathy. Best wishes to you and your family.

46. Mark in NJ - January 9, 2015

I’m so sorry to hear about Michael. He and I had our occasional run-ins but he was always a mensch. Very funny & smart, too!

Cathy - January 9, 2015

THANK YOU everyone for all the words — yes every single WORD on this thread is one I cherish. Although I’ve not been commenting or posting much, I still lurk and try to read something from every thread. I miss you morons bunches!!!

Although Michael and I were no longer spouses when he died, we did develop an amazing and trusted friendship after our divorce chocked with honesty, respect, and dark humor as we continued to parent our two adult children, Andrew and Ellen. At his request during the past year or so, I continued to help him coordinate things with the gardener, maid, plumber, electrician, pool repair guy, or other paperwork, and took care of things around his place — like pruning and fertilizing the roses, azaleas, and palms. He knew he might not have more years and wanted to be able to enjoy his home, back yard, and pool for the last time, so I agreed to help that happen.

And Michael got to know my husband, Steven, and genuinely liked him. Steven and I did what we could to attend to Michael’s needs during his last few months. Steven even took on the task of his ‘pool boy’ — okay y’all can laugh now because it got a snicker out of Michael just a week ago.

At his request I became Michel’s medical power of attorney during his time in hospice in his own home. I did what I could to let Michael’s life closure be what he wanted it to be with as little intervention or unhealthy control issues from others. From my time in ministry and as a hospital chaplain — specifically to cancer patients — I learned how our warriors and champions with cancer feel incredible grief and pain at the loss of control. Michael knew me very well and trusted me to assist him in having his way to the very end.

Michael’s was not a pretty ending, but it was Our Michael’s way until his very last breath.

My experience and skills in caring ministry had me ready for the grieving I knew I would experience, but I never thought it would be this hard on me. I cried when I saw a pair of his socks on the dresser. I cried when I walked into his closet and saw all the clean shirts lined up standing at attention on hangers — remembering when I used to do his laundry, I cried touching all his beautiful custom tailored suits hanging in the large cedar closet. But I cried the most when I found his “Innocent Bystanders” sweatshirts that I designed and embroidered way back in 2007 and 2008. And I’m crying again now — just thinking about it.

Thank you everyone for being the sweet crazy fools and morons that God made each of you to be. Coming back here is balm. This place is special. And each of you is very special.

Squishy Hugs and Sloppy Kisses all ’round!

47. The Lovely Janis - January 9, 2015

Love you Cathy!

Big squishy hug back at you,

48. The Lovely Janis - January 9, 2015

And sloppy kisses too. We still wear our Ib sweatshirts, but Bacon Baby Moses’ had to be retired (kept in a tub with the Iowa State stuff for the future). The sweatshirts have a special meaning to us all. Sniff sniff, I got dust in eye.

49. Mr. Matamoros - January 9, 2015

My condolences to your family for your loss, Cathy. It’s a good and wonderful thing when your friends are able to gather ’round, remember stories and share your burden of grief.

50. Sobek - January 9, 2015

Nice vid, Brew, but this one has a better beat to it:

51. BrewFan - January 9, 2015

I like yours better Sobek but I think I just heard some thunder!!

52. BrewFan - January 9, 2015

Cathy, you’re the best. You don’t know how happy I am that you were there at the end and not that other person. God bless you and Steven for reflecting the love of God.

53. Retired Geezer - January 9, 2015

What Brew said.

54. Americano - January 9, 2015

God Bless you, Batman. Rest in peace.

55. Bob Reed - January 11, 2015

Requiescat en Pace. Godspeed, and may God grace his family with all they need in their time of grief.

56. Elzbth - January 18, 2015

Rest in peace, Michael.

57. Retired Geezer - January 19, 2015

It’s nice to see that Elzbth is still hanging around the internet. She was there at the beginning of IB.

One of the funniest things I’ve read is Sobek’s interview with The Innocent Bystanders where she is mentioned.

58. DeeDaGo - January 21, 2015

Rest in Peace Michael. My favorite splitter.

59. IB Annual Report | Innocent Bystanders - December 29, 2015

[…] It’s only fitting that the most popular post of the year was about Michael: […]


Leave a Reply

