jump to navigation

It’s Always Fine When It’s Someone Else’s Money… February 14, 2015

Posted by geoff in News.
trackback

…but when it’s your money, all of a sudden your values change. Take, for example, the kids at Cornell, who are being asked to pay a subsidy fee of $350 if they have their own insurance and don’t purchase the school’s $2350 insurance plan:

Students who do not opt in to the $2,352 per year plan must pay the $350 fee, which “most likely” won’t be covered by financial aid, according to campus newspaper The Cornell Review.

The recent announcements prompted 150 students to storm the school’s main administrative building as well as Skorton’s office.

Despite heavy opposition from the student body, it appears that Cornell is doubling down on the new policy. Cornell Vice President for Student and Academic Services Susan Murphy said in her own statement on Wednesday that “the fee is necessary to create a sustainable model for health services while also increasing accessibility and protecting student privacy.

“It is our responsibility to work together, to make sure everyone in our community who needs help gets it. That is a burden, and a benefit, we all share,” She said.

I have a little sympathy for these kids, who have never before been exposed to the “we’ll decide how you should spend your money” ethos of the libs. But I’m sure they’ll turn around at the next opportunity and vote for spending other people’s money, as if this never happened.

So, only a teeny bit of sympathy.

Comments»

1. digitalbrownshirt - February 14, 2015

My sympathy is zero. It’s only Valentines Day and thanks to my back surgery on 2/12 I’ve already met my $3000 deductible on my health insurance, which is already costing me a couple hundred dollars a month. I’ve got good insurance compared to most companies our size, but it’s not free and I understand why we have to share costs to keep it down. My using it as much as I have this year is making up for all the years I paid into it without using the majority of benefits.

2. Sobek - February 14, 2015

DBS’ back is racist.

3. OBF - February 16, 2015

…and probably a gimp. We’re safe in saying that since he he can’t outrun us with his bad back and all.

4. digitalbrownshirt - February 16, 2015

I think it throws my aim off a little too, so you’ve got that going for you.


Leave a Reply

