jump to navigation

Goodbye, Farewell, Amen March 23, 2015

Posted by BrewFan in Ducks, Handblogging, Heroes, History, News, Sex, Terrorist Hemorrhoids, WTF?.
trackback

gfa

Shortly after 9/11/2001 I started reading Best of the Web Today by James Taranto. I really wasn’t interested in blogs but I was hungry for information about the new world we had all just been plunged into. James had links on his blog to other websites, one of which was to a blog called Allahpundit. I remember the tag line was something like, “an irreverent look at the Muslim world”. This intrigued me enough to click it and I was amazed at what I found; truly funny satire, brilliantly written. The comments were fun, and one of the commenters was a guy who had a blog called Ace of Spades HQ. This, then, would become my blogging destiny. There was no way to know that out of this fun read would grow friendships, both virtual and real. Over the many years since past I’ve had the distinct honor and privilege of getting to know some of the smartest, funniest, most compassionate people I have ever been blessed to know. Like a true family we’ve had good times and bad times, sharing and caring, and even the occasional dust-up.

I’m sure Geezer is going to share what inspired him to start this blog, so I’ll leave that to him. I’m just glad he did. With regard to how this blog should be ‘ended’, I believe the course that should be charted is to close comments, but leave this blog for posterity. There’s nothing quite like a stroll down memory lane and especially a thoroughfare lined with such beautiful memories as this one has.

I haven’t been participating much the last few years. Mostly lurking here and H2. I want everybody to know, though, that there isn’t a day that goes by that I don’t think of you knuckleheads. I wish I was independently wealthy so I could fly around the country and hug you guys. Maybe cop a feel or two, but mostly hug. That would be most awesome.

Finally, I lift my glass and toast the finest kind. You all. And I lift my eyes and look for the finest kind of angels; Michael, Patty Ann, Harrison, Cranky.

BrewFan

It is one of the blessings of old friends that you can afford to be stupid with them.
– Ralph Waldo Emerson

Comments»

1. Sobek - March 23, 2015

Other than the Taranto part, that’s how I ended up here, too. I don’t remember how I found Allah’s place, but I do remember trying to stifle laughter in the middle of a class at law school (pretending I was coughing was my best option).

2. geoff - March 23, 2015

Oho Kufrs!! I went from Instapundit to Allahpundit, and then, of course, to AoSHQ. Allahpundit is still one of my favorite blogs evah. I wish that whatever happened to him to shut him down had never happened. Sounded like some sort of legal action.

Brewfan, you’ve been way too scarce. Thanks for participating in the Grand Shutdown.

3. Retired Geezer - March 23, 2015

I started reading blogs with Michelle Malkin and then AoSHQ. It happened to be at the time that Ace was writing about Mr. Paul Anka. I wrote him about being a Lightman with Paul, with some inside baseball stuff and he wrote a whole post about it.

http://minx.cc:1080/?post=61876

4. Retired Geezer - March 23, 2015

I wish I was independently wealthy so I could fly around the country and hug you guys. Maybe cop a feel or two, but mostly hug.

Do I get to choose?

5. daveintexas - March 23, 2015

RG I was there when we passed around that crew pass you sent when we all met in Boston.

We all “ooed” and “ahhed” like cavepeople passing around fire.

It was awesome.

6. Sean M. - March 23, 2015

Dang, now I wish I had spent more time here. Well, it wouldn’t be right to leave without one of these…

L to R: IB, H2

http://is.gd/NJ8hPG

7. Retired Geezer - March 24, 2015

Dang, I haven’t even started on my post for tomorrow. I’m sure Dave has his all done.

8. Sobek - March 24, 2015

RG, I wrote one a few days ago, and then came up with something completely different last night.


Leave a Reply

