jump to navigation

Innocent Bystanders = Michael’s Dream March 24, 2015

Posted by Retired Geezer in Heroes.
trackback

Best Pool Table Evah

ibwindow

OK, show of hands, how many of you remember Michael’s ‘I had a Dream’ rant?

Behold:

https://michaelscomments.wordpress.com/2006/12/08/jack-move-or-no-jack-move/#comment-30641

From clipped fingernails to shorn scrotum in 8 comments. That’s what I love about IB.

There was a time, Elzbth, when I had a dream. I dreamed that I would be the Site Administrator of an intertubes forum devoted to dignified and scholarly discussion regarding matters of public importance.

I had a dream that day.

I dreamed that one day every valley shall be exalted, every hill and mountain shall be made low, the rough places will be made plain, and the crooked places will be made straight, and the glory of the Lord shall be revealed on my website, and all flesh shall see it together!

I dreamed that commenters would come from the red hills of Georgia to Lookout Mountain in Tennessee, all united in contributing their witty comments to a single noble purpose. Our voices would rise together in solemn assembly, and we would say: let freedom ring!!!

From every village and every hamlet, from every state and every city, the IB commenters would hasten the day when all of God’s children, black men and white men, Jews and Gentiles, Protestants and Catholics, will be able to join hands and sing in the words of the old Negro spiritual, “Free at last! free at last! thank God Almighty, we are free at last!”

*sigh*

Needless to say, the dream has died. We are talking about clipping nails.

Anyway, I really do endorse the Phillips sonicare™. That is a great little electric toothbrush. Well worth the price.

Y’all really should go to the link and scroll up and down to read the whole thing including the comments.

I remember when we first started IB, we all suggested and then voted on our ‘Official Endorsements’: Theme song, Attitude Picture, Bird, Crimefighting Dog and Official Chemical Element (Carbon).  I think it was Skinbad who had the vision to suggest Carbon. We were cutting edge from the get go.

I remember reading some of the hilarious comment threads out loud to Mrs. Geezer and having to stop because I was laughing so hard. Lauraw usually wrote the comments that cracked me up the most.

I remember going to the first IB gathering at Michael and Cathy’s home in Columbus. They treated us like royalty.

I remember everyone putting their weaponry on Michael’s pool table. Somebody has a picture of that, I’m sure.

I remember Sobek’s classic post interviewing Innocent Bystanders on his blog.

Most of all I remember the kind, clever, funny and generous people that we have met online and in person through this endeavor.

Thanks.

Comments»

1. Retired Geezer - March 24, 2015

We still love our Phillips Sonicare toothbrush that Michael recommended.

2. kevlarchick - March 24, 2015

So IB passes into the Dormant Realm.

Or as we Catholics might call it – The Dormition of Innocent Bystanders. Which means that eventually we’ll all be commenting together again. Somewhere. With Michael.

Much love to everyone here. You are all friends and dear to my heart.

3. Retired Geezer - March 24, 2015

KC! Big Hug.
So glad you got to come by to say farewell.

4. wiserbud - March 24, 2015

Much love to everyone here. You are all friends and dear to my heart.

damn. I think I still owe KC a pair of shoes…..

5. Retired Geezer - March 24, 2015

I added a (centered) photo of the stained glass window that Mrs. Geezer made for Michael and Cathy at the first IB gathering.

6. daveintexas - March 24, 2015

>> damn. I think I still owe KC a pair of shoes…..

I think I still owe her some money.

what are y’all lookin at me like that for?

7. Sobek - March 24, 2015

I remember that pool table picture.

8. BrewFan - March 24, 2015

Hi KC!!! *waves*

9. Retired Geezer - March 27, 2015

I just remembered another funny comment that Lauraw wrote.
It was just after we scored another flag (Cameroon?).
Laura wrote something about making a cool spider costume for Halloween using common household items like sheep forelegs.
Michael was horrified.
I laughed so hard I cried.

Wish I could find that comment.

10. BrewFan - March 27, 2015

I hope you don’t mind me adding a picture, RG…

11. Retired Geezer - March 27, 2015

Yay, I knew someone still had it.

12. daveintexas - March 27, 2015

Hahahahahaha awesome

that Kimber was the belle of the ball

13. Retired Geezer - March 27, 2015

Yes, I enjoyed caressing shooting it.

Fun Factoid: Half those guns belonged to Russ.

14. Sobek - March 27, 2015

I like the magazine rainbow at the top.

15. lauraw - March 27, 2015

Holy crap I can’t believe you remembered that, RG.
Here: https://michaelscomments.wordpress.com/2010/11/15/amish-paradise/

16. Retired Geezer - March 27, 2015

Lauraw you were in great form on that thread.

I snorted and chuckled all the way through.

17. lauraw - March 28, 2015

*Hugs Geezer*

I hope we get to meet someday so I can bore the heck out of you in person.

18. Retired Geezer - March 29, 2015

Me too.
In the meantime, let us say farewell to our old friend that you created.

https://michaelscomments.wordpress.com/2007/07/09/a-fat-naked-woman-with-greased-thighs/#comment-266567

19. Elzbth - April 12, 2015

I remember it well. Everyone was hilarious (or strange). So much funny!
\

20. Retired Geezer - May 9, 2015

I subscribe to ‘Smarter Every Day’, his videos are awesome.
Here’s one that blew me away. I hope Mrs. Peel likes it as much as I did.

21. geoff - May 9, 2015

I really like those “Smarter Every Day” vids. I think the most mind-blowing was the one on Prince Rupert’s Drops.

Retired Geezer - May 9, 2015

Wasn’t that about some melted glass?

22. lauraw - May 10, 2015

I just watched the Rupert’s Drop one. Very cool. I love how that guy animates his vids, too.

Retired Geezer - May 10, 2015

Another guy I kind of lump together with him is The King of Random. His videos are always entertaining and well edited with no fluff.

23. daveintexas - May 11, 2015

boo!

24. lauraw - May 12, 2015

I just watched the one where he builds a little foundry in a bucket! Awesome!

Retired Geezer - May 12, 2015

I liked the one where he built a tiny crossbow out of the hair clips.
Barrettes?

25. Lipstick - May 14, 2015

ooo, a secret weapon hidden in a lady’s hair. I like it.

26. Retired Geezer - May 14, 2015

Behold:

27. lauraw - May 16, 2015

The mousetrap one is great too! It cracks me up.

Retired Geezer - May 17, 2015

I hadn’t seen that mousetrap vid, it was cool.
I actually made 3 of these nail puzzles and gave 2 away to friends.

28. Retired Geezer - May 23, 2015

*geezer casually slips in another video*

29. lauraw - May 26, 2015

Jeebus, that’s scary.


Leave a Reply

