jump to navigation

The Official SobekPundit Blogger Interview: Thomas Sowell March 24, 2015

Posted by Sobek in News.
trackback

Howdy, folks.  I have a real treat for you all today.  Much to my amazement, I actually got the opportunity to interview Pulitzer Prize winning economist Thomas Sowell.  I’ve long admired his insightful work, so I can’t really express how excited I am about this.  I should add that for no real reason at all, I wanted to start the interview with the following citation from the Book of Revelation:

And when the Lamb opened the seventh seal, there was in heaven a silence which lasted about the space of half an hour.  And the seven angels who had the seven trumpets prepared themselves to sound.

sobek

Welcome, Dr. Sowell.

SeventhSeal

sobek

Who are you?

SeventhSeal

I am Death.

sobek

Have you come to close the blog?

SeventhSeal

I have long walked at its side.

sobek

That I know. Ever since WickedPinto did that thing with the…

SeventhSealDO NOT SPEAK OF IT!
sobek

Sorry.

SeventhSeal

Are you ready?

sobek

The Hostages are, not us. Wait a moment.

SeventhSeal

You all say that.  But I leave no respite.

sobek

You play chess, don’t you?

SeventhSeal

How did you know that?

sobek

I drew this really bitchin’ picture of you for the cover of my heavy metal album.  I haven’t decided on a name for the band yet. I’m leaning towards “Mouserat.”

Chess

SeventhSeal

I’m actually quite a skillful chess player.

sobek

Not more so than me.

SeventhSeal

Why play chess with me?

sobek

Because my co-bloggers are counting on me.

SeventhSeal

*snicker*

sobek

What?

SeventhSeal

Nothing.

sobek

The condition is, the blog stays active as long as I resist you.  If I conquer you, you free me.

*…three moves later…*

SeventhSeal

Checkmate.

sobek

Shit.

Comments»

1. Sobek - March 25, 2015

Sorry, everyone. My bad.

2. wiserbud - March 25, 2015

*shrug

Eh, you tried.

3. geoff - March 25, 2015

I missed those interviews. They were always a crackup. But you should have known the fundamental rule of chess:

“Never go in with a Sicilian when Death is on the line!”

4. Retired Geezer - March 25, 2015

That was funny. I’ve always loved those interviews but I had trouble finding the one with IB.
How do we find them easier?

5. Sobek - March 25, 2015

The top post at sobekpundit.blogspot.com has an interview with LGF, and links to all the others at the bottom.

6. Mrs. Peel - March 25, 2015

You fool! Never open with g4! It’s called the Fool’s Mate for a reason!

7. BrewFan - March 25, 2015

Should have ended with some scripture: O Death, where is your victory…never mind.

8. Sobek - March 25, 2015

Brew, I overheard Paul saying that to Death, once, and Death got all sulky and pouty. Between you, me, and the wall, Death can be a real drama queen.

9. Sobek - March 25, 2015

You know what, I don’t like the name Mouserat for a heavy metal band. I need a new band name, and definitely one that fits with my drawing up there.

10. wiserbud - March 25, 2015

Fluffy Kittens of the Apocalypse

11. Retired Geezer - March 25, 2015

Got to have the word Twinkles in there somewhere.

12. Lipstick - March 26, 2015

Sobek, you’re really messing with heaven and its inhabitants now — some of the pics aren’t centered.

13. Retired Geezer - March 26, 2015

Speaking of Death and Taxes Texting.
Imagine if you’re minding your own business and one of these guys comes at you.

14. wiserbud - March 26, 2015

Name for Sobek’s band:

DeathMate

15. daveintexas - March 26, 2015

Sobek I always loved the Official SobekPundit Blogger Interviews@trade;

16. daveintexas - March 26, 2015

3 moves? dude

17. Sobek - March 26, 2015

In my defense, I’m really bad at chess.

18. gengap - March 29, 2015

I hope the bishop doesn’t read your blog. Or your kids or your wife, either.

19. Retired Geezer - March 29, 2015

oops … busted


Leave a Reply

