jump to navigation

Till the Next Goodbye March 25, 2015

Posted by skinbad in Ducks, Family.
trackback

I’m sure you can imagine why I have hesitated to share this anecdote with the group, but I guess as a last thought or tribute I want to just say a big thank you to Michael and Cathy.

When the original IBSBP was being concocted, Michael got to the “need a head count” phase and I watched some responses being sent to the blog. I talked to my wife about it and we just laughed because it wasn’t realistic. I sent an email to Michael and told him as much. He responded saying it might be a big deal for me, but it wasn’t for him because he had a million frequent flier miles he would never use and he could arrange a ticket for me if I would like to come.

So, I did what any self respecting, introvert moocher would do when faced with the reality of an awkward social gathering–I asked if I could bring my wife. He said that would be fine. You know, what’s a couple of airline tickets between people who had never met or even spoken to each other.

We had a wonderful time. Some fake, internet friends became very dear, real friends to us. So thanks again to Michael, Cathy, Innocent Bystanders and assorted hangers on for a lot of laughs and thought fodder (that’s not to say I have to meet you to include you in the circle of friendship).

I have it on good authority that Michael is doing fine in the Mormon Re-Education camp. There are plenty of jello salads and casseroles at the mess hall and he has a part-time job skimming the pool and keeping the chemicals balanced. He’ll have it ship shape when we get there.

Comments»

1. geoff - March 25, 2015

When we close comments (tomorrow?), I’m going to backup the site to my hard drive. Anybody who wants a copy, just let me know. I imagine the files will be sizeable, so I may have to send you a disk.

2. Retired Geezer - March 25, 2015

Skinbad, so glad you shared that with us.
That gathering was where we were introduced to the sacred waffle fork (since broken).

3. Retired Geezer - March 25, 2015

Gosh, I don’t think we should close comments that soon. There might be people that won’t find out about it for a week or so.
I haven’t seen any mention of our demise on The Mothership.
I can think of several people who haven’t stopped by; Russ and Enas, off the top of my head.

4. Mrs. Peel - March 25, 2015

Agreed, we should leave comments open a little while longer. I’ll tweet Mitch and get him to stop by. Haven’t seen Russ in a long time, though.

5. geoff - March 25, 2015

OK, that’s fine. But since you volunteered an opinion, I’ll leave it to you to close them when you think it’s time. Bwahahaha!!

6. Retired Geezer - March 25, 2015

We sent Russ and the lovely Janis a Christmas card but it was returned, address unknown.
Never heard that they moved.
*hoping for the best

7. Retired Geezer - March 25, 2015

I’m open for suggestions but I think keeping the comments open for 30 days would be enough time for people to drop by and pay their respects.

8. Sobek - March 25, 2015

If Russ stops by, I’m going to threaten to punch him in the balls.

For old time’s sake.

9. Retired Geezer - March 25, 2015

I hope geoff will make some charts (with or without triangles) that show some highlights of our run: average visitors, best traffic day, best traffic post… stuff like that.
In his copious free time, of course.
Didn’t we get an Instalanche once?

10. Will - March 25, 2015

*tap* *tap*
Is this thing on?
No?
Okay.

11. Lipstick - March 25, 2015

Yes, please wait! I just saw yesterday that the blog is being closed down. I recently promised myself that I would contribute with posts now that I’m emerging back into the world, but, of course, the world doesn’t wait and I can’t expect it to.

Thank you Geoff and RG and Sobek and anyone I’m forgetting for keeping IB alive. It has been truly wonderful.

12. lauraw - March 25, 2015

I have it on good authority that Michael is doing fine in the Mormon Re-Education camp.

Why you naughty, naughty, man.

13. ChrisP - March 25, 2015

It’s been a lot of fun.
Thank you all…

14. Mitchell - March 25, 2015

It’s the End of an Era! :,-( *sniff*
I wish I’d been around more, but that’s the way things go for Official Blog Lurkers.

It’s not really goodbye as I’ll see y’all around the tubes elsewhere. Oh, and you might want to check out ricochet.com if you haven’t already. Yes, it costs to join but it keeps out the riffraff.


Leave a Reply

