jump to navigation

Nerdery June 27, 2015

Posted by Sobek in News.
trackback

The book in working on now includes the following footnote, which I swear I’m not making up:

“There is a joke about a deranged mathematician who frightened other inmates at an insane asylum by screaming at them, ‘I’m going to differentiate you!’ But one inmate remained calm and simply responded, ‘I don’t care. I’m e^x.”

You see, mathematicians, this is why no one invites you to parties.

Also, totally unrelated, the WordPress toolbar has a rainbow flag at the top. What a load of horse crap.

Comments»

1. Sobek - June 27, 2015

I want someone to develop an app that lets me submit a picture of the spider crawling around my house and it will tell me what kind of spider it is.

The app could be called “what’s that thing crawling on my neck? “

2. geoff - June 27, 2015

I like that joke.

Here’s another old one:

An astronomer, a physicist, and a mathematician were riding on a train through the countryside when they saw a black sheep.

“All sheep are black!!” declared the astronomer.

“Some sheep are black,” corrected the physicist.

“Some sheep are black some of the time,” replied the mathematician, with withering scorn.

******************
They don’t get funnier than that.

3. Tushar - June 28, 2015

Speaking of Physics, Shroedinger’s hypothesis stands totally debunked


Leave a Reply

