jump to navigation

Time to Tweet? August 13, 2015

Posted by geoff in News.
trackback

Update: vaitguy tells me that the 10000-character limit only applies to direct messaging. So Twitter still sucks (IMHO).

I had a Twitter account many years ago (DrRichardSeaton), but gave it up because it seemed to me that the 140-character limit was just driving us toward more bumper-sticker-style political discussion. It’s not like we need to be more shallow in our policy analysis.

That concern has been borne out by many years of tweeted tripe, but I didn’t realize that Twitter would become relevant because it was also a fast way to propagate news stories across the web. So yay Twitter. But I still didn’t feel that it was all that useful to me.

But now Twitter is going to allow 10000-character posts, which means you can actually say something that’s not just a surface-level jab at the opposition. That changes the game completely.

Might just have to become a tweetin’ fool.

Comments»

1. geoff - August 13, 2015

So I re-signed up as DrRichardSeaton (the protagonist of E. E.”Doc” Smith’s Skylard series). Now to figure out how it all works.

2. geoff - August 13, 2015

Hunh. Just tried it, and the 140-character limit is still very much in place. Guess it’ll take a few weeks.

3. Cathy - August 13, 2015

I was part of a study group in an international organization for several years awhile back. Weekly ‘homework’ doing exegesis and homiletics could easily take 7-10 hours. We also had to come up with a 10 word sentence that captured the ‘meat’ of the assigned weekly readings. 11+ words were not allowed. Period. At first, it was very difficult. But after practice, it became easy and fun.

Sometimes less is more…

Have a Twitter account. Don’t use it much. Not sure how it fits into my present life and pursuits. Maybe the new word max will change that.

4. geoff - August 13, 2015

Well, nothing ever ‘fits’ into our lives these days. Gotta jam it in there.

Cathy - August 13, 2015

^^ Okey-dokey, Doctor Geoff! I trust you’ll show me how to do that.

5. geoff - August 13, 2015

If you looked at my travel schedule this summer and fall, you’d see many miles and little sleep. Tomorrow, for instance, I fly to Boston, do a sidetrip to DC, then fly home on Thursday night, then drive out the next morning to San Francisco for a week.

And none of it involves vacation, so blogging may be light.

6. vaitguy - August 13, 2015

Twitter removed the 140 char limit from direct messaging only, not the feed. Like you never found it curvy enough to embrace it, except during short fits of whatever.

7. geoff - August 13, 2015

Oh crap. You mean Twitter still sucks?

I’ll close my account again.

8. Retired Geezer - August 13, 2015

I closed my Twitter account years ago but I reopened it because I won a book bundle in a random drawing at AoSHQ and needed it to claim my prize.
I never tweet anything but I enjoy reading stuff. My current favorite thing to read is https://twitter.com/LosFelizDaycare @LosFelizDaycare
Cracks me up.

My close personal friend Dave in Texas follows me. I wish that His close personal friend, Hugh Jackman, would follow me…
also Ronda Rousey.

*crosses fingers

9. daveintexas - August 14, 2015

I find it really useful for breaking news stuff, more so than any other medium.

And I love joking around there.

Thanks for reminding me who you were there Geoff.

RG MSG RCVD WRKN IT

10. geoff - August 14, 2015

Well, I deleted the account this morning, so there’s no “there” there.

11. lauraw - August 15, 2015

Oh, we don’t need to follow you on Twitter.

We have…people. To do that.

*crazy eyes*

12. daveintexas - August 15, 2015

shhhh ix-nay on the eeple-bay

13. Bunk Strutts - August 31, 2015

So Twitter is inventing FaceBook and blog comments. Awesome.

14. More Unsolicited Fashion Advice for the Wimmens | Innocent Bystanders - September 1, 2015

[…] finished my travels and have returned to bring you, once again, fashion advice for the IB wimmens. Today’s […]


Leave a Reply

