jump to navigation

Superhero Lunchboxes: A Force for Good September 4, 2015

Posted by geoff in News.
trackback

966-Man-from-U.N.C.L.E.-300x225Can you imagine school without superhero lunchboxes? Some people can:

A little girl named Laura was sent home with a note because she had brought a Wonder Woman lunchbox to school. (The website the Mary Sue first reported the story, from a post on the social-media site Imgur.) In the letter addressed to Laura’s parents, the school explained: The dress code we have established requests that the children not bring violent images into the building in any fashion — on their clothing (including shoes and socks), backpacks and lunchboxes. We have defined “violent characters” as those who solve problems using violence. Superheroes certainly fall into that category.

At the link, Jonah Goldberg does a great job of showing that solving problems using violence is very often an act for good and the only realistic alternative. But I think he missed a bigger point.

The great lesson of superheroes is that power must be used responsibly and in the service of good. It’s such a common mantra in comic books that it’s turned into a joke: “Hah! I opened this jar of peanut butter!! Henceforth I vow to use these powers for good and not evil!”

It’s a lesson that anybody who rises to a position of power needs to learn, and of course we all rise to a position of power at some point. Just becoming a parent, for example. Or driving a car. Teaching. Supervising. Making laws.

Watching President Obama’s rampant abuse of Executive Orders, I’ve got to believe he never carried a superhero lunchbox. And looking at the idiocy of the staff at little Laura’s school, they never carried any, either.

So now they use their powers for stupidity and not good.

[Full disclosure: I carried a Man from UNCLE lunchbox and a Superman lunchbox until we switched to sack lunches. I included a photo of the Man From Uncle lunchbox because the movie is out, and because everybody’s probably seen Superman lunchboxes.]

Comments»

1. geoff - September 4, 2015

Chinese drivers didn’t have superhero lunchboxes:

Why Drivers in China Intentionally Kill the Pedestrians They Hit

2. geoff - September 4, 2015

Speaking of which, I kinda expected some confessions from you guys as to the nature of your lunchboxes.

3. geoff - September 4, 2015

I’ll bet Sobek totally had a Teletubbies lunchbox.

4. Sobek - September 5, 2015

Had?

5. Retired Geezer - September 6, 2015

I want a Ronda Rousey lunchbox.

6. vaitguy - September 7, 2015

Lo, these many years ago I STOLE a GI Joe Frogman stainless steel piece of solid freaking awesome and brought it home for Mother to fill with lunchlove. I never saw the awesomeness that was the box after that day, and still had to walk back home M-F for lunch to cheese raisins and peanuts or leftover bubble and squeek… And Ding-Dongs… sometimes.
I’m sure the lunchbox rotted in lost and found for the year until being LANDFILL fodder at the summer break because nobody recycled anything in the 60s.
Still sorry for the theft, not, but were the circumstances similar today, the rightful owner of that coolest of vessels would have been shot and the perp awarded the trophy for participation.

7. Sobek - September 7, 2015

I don’t remember what I had, but I think I vaguely remember a Return of the Jedi box. I could be wrong.

8. skinbad - September 8, 2015

You had lunchboxes???

My mom would use raw chicken skin from Sunday dinner prep to sew a lunch sack for me. It had to last all week and I walked to school in a cloud of flies every day.

Seriously, though. Never had a lunch box. A kid did nail me in the head with his when I teased him on the bus. It really did escalate quickly. I saw some stars.


Leave a Reply

