jump to navigation

No More Caffeine Nightcaps September 17, 2015

Posted by geoff in News.
trackback

I always have a caffeinated soda before I go to bed because, why not? Apparently this is why not:

It’s no news flash that consuming caffeine close to bedtime can interfere with sleep. But…caffeine has another physiological impact on sleep by delaying the body’s natural surge in the production of the sleep hormone melatonin, which in turn pushes back the body’s circadian clock.

The problem in this case is that the circadian clock is “present in cells throughout our entire body,” says the researcher. “It’s in your fat cells; it’s in your muscle cells.” Messing with it appears to play a role in a wide range of health problems, from obesity to cancer.

Dang, when they said “…caffeine has another physiological impact…” I thought they were going to continue with, “…this stuff will make you a god damned sexual Tyrannosaurus, just like me. ”

Comments»

1. Retired Geezer - September 17, 2015

Yeah, and coffee makes you poop:

2. Sobek - September 17, 2015

Predator quotes are the stuff.

3. geoff - September 18, 2015

My new strategy is to immerse myself in caffeine for all my waking hours, so that all my cells get with the program.

Hmmm…actually that’s always been my strategy.


Leave a Reply

