jump to navigation

The New York Times: Slow to Come Around October 18, 2015

Posted by geoff in News.
trackback

Here’s a post I wrote at my old site back on November 16, 2006:

************************

The post below on Iran was perhaps a tad long, so I’ve put together an amateurish graphic to explain the relationships among the players. Standard disclaimers apply – I don’t claim that this is complete, data is hard to find, and circumstances can change quickly. That said, here ’tis (as always, click on the graphic for a better view):

Irans terror relationships

Note that the US is fighting the bottom-tier of the power ladder, which is a ridiculous situation for a superpower. The Russians and Chinese use Iran and Syria as proxies. Iran and Syria use terrorist groups as proxies. And the US fights the proxies of the proxies.

We can’t win this way, regardless of the number of troops we send to Iraq. Arguing about troop deployments is just a waste of time. We’ve got to attack this ladder at every rung, and develop our own proxy networks. Much of that work is likely to be dirty, just as it was in the Cold War, but that’s the world we’re in.

*************************

Here’s the New York Times last Monday:

Insurgent commanders say that since Russia began air attacks in support of the Syrian government, they are receiving for the first time bountiful supplies of powerful American-made antitank missiles.

With the enhanced insurgent firepower and with Russia steadily raising the number of airstrikes against the government’s opponents, the Syrian conflict is edging closer to an all-out proxy war between the United States and Russia.

A little has changed since I wrote my interpretation of events (we’re no longer fighting terrorists directly – we’re now arming insurgents), but it’s sad to see that the relationships that were obvious to me 9 years ago are just now becoming clear to the New York Times.

Comments»

1. Sobek - October 18, 2015

Yesterday I got “Of Mice and Men” from the library and read it, because they were discussing it in the last season of Longmire. I want to be like Longmire.

That’s a great book. Much better than I remembered, when I was in High school.

2. lauraw - October 18, 2015

Huh, now that you mention it, high school probably destroyed most of the classics for me. Should probably go back and re-read some, sometime.

3. skinbad - October 19, 2015

I started watching Longmire on my father-in-law’s recommendation. We have some “off the grid” neighbors who are highly distrustful of government, so he told us we needed to watch a certain episode. I liked it, so I went back to the first season and have watched a few. I recommended it to R.G., but he’s already a fan.

Maybe we should meet at Camp Geezer for a Longmire retreat. We could drive Ford Broncos, pick up litter, and say few words to each other.

I’ve mostly recovered from the high school ruinization of classics–other than The Sound and the Fury. What were they thinking?

4. Retired Geezer - October 19, 2015

We had the New York Acting Company come to Idaho and do ‘Of Mice and Men’ in my Theater. It was awesome. They also did Hamlet the following year.
I liked the Gary Sinise / John Malkovich movie version Mice and Men also.

Longmire has a great cast.

5. Sobek - October 19, 2015

Tale of Two Cities. Hated it in high school, love it now.


Leave a Reply

