jump to navigation

The Victorian Era vs. Generations Y & Z October 28, 2015

Posted by geoff in News.
trackback

Was just reading about the Invictus games, which led me to look up the poem (by William Ernest Hensley):

Invictus

Out of the night that covers me,
Black as the pit from pole to pole,
I thank whatever gods may be
For my unconquerable soul.

In the fell clutch of circumstance
I have not winced nor cried aloud.
Under the bludgeonings of chance
My head is bloody, but unbowed.

Beyond this place of wrath and tears
Looms but the Horror of the shade,
And yet the menace of the years
Finds and shall find me unafraid.

It matters not how strait the gate,
How charged with punishments the scroll,
I am the master of my fate,
I am the captain of my soul.

A far cry from uptwinkles, safe spaces, and trigger alerts.

In a world full of Morlocks, we’re raising a generation of Eloi.

Comments»

1. Retired Geezer - October 28, 2015

In a world full of Morlocks, we’re raising a generation of Eloi

That, right there, is some insightful writing.

(full disclosure: I had a crush on Weena)

2. geoff - October 28, 2015

I think all guys like their weenas. That’s why they give them names.

3. Retired Geezer - October 28, 2015

Oh and thanks for using ‘Invictus’. It’s been a while since I read it.

4. lauraw - October 28, 2015

To show fortitude in adverse conditions, or high regard for same, is a microaggression.

5. daveintexas - October 29, 2015

Sack up

6. daveintexas - October 29, 2015

(not you humpy, wimpy people)

7. geoff - October 29, 2015

Perhaps a hyphen or some form of colon would have better than a comma in that comment.

8. lauraw - October 30, 2015

heh, he said ‘colon’

9. Retired Geezer - October 30, 2015

I still use Jade East ™ colon.

(I’m part Ninja).


Leave a Reply

