jump to navigation

Reflections on Veterans Day November 11, 2015

Posted by digitalbrownshirt in Family, Honor.
trackback

I wanted to write something wordy and serious in honor of Veterans Day, but quite honestly there’s probably enough of that going around already. My father, myself and my son are all veterans. I’m just glad we’re celebrating our involvements in various conflicts with Veterans Day instead of Memorial Day.

Air Force Dad

The DBS 27 years ago. I was on a plane to Korea a few days later.

Comments»

1. Retired Geezer - November 11, 2015

Thank you for your service.
People say that a lot, here in Idaho, for instance whenever I use my 10% veterans discount at Lowes or Home Depot.

2. geoff - November 11, 2015

I didn’t know you could get a veterans discount at Lowes and Home Depot. Dang – we’ve spent a fortune at those stores over the past 9 years.

Very cool that you have 3 generations of veterans, DBS. We have 2 generations on my and my wife’s sides, with the 3rd generation currently on active duty. Hopefully we’ll be able to claim 3 generations of veterans someday as well.

3. geoff - November 11, 2015

…but it looks like you’re taking a commanding lead in getting the 4th generation lined up.

4. Retired Geezer - November 11, 2015

I think the vet discount even applies to appliances.

5. lauraw - November 11, 2015

Thank you, DBS, and thank you too, Geoff and RG.

6. digitalbrownshirt - November 11, 2015

My grandfather was a Merchant Marine during WWII. I think they were given veteran status later on since so many of them got killed doing their jobs. His little brother was a Sailor and I think my great grandfather was in the Army during the First World War. I was talking to my Uncle Randy (Army) about it and we think that just amongst the men in our family there’s probably more veterans than non-veterans.

BTW, Tmobile has a discount for veterans too. I get it every year when we renew our contract. It’s surprising how many companies give some kind of incentive for vets. I bought a new Hyundai a couple years ago and got $500 off. I’m pretty sure the vet discount at Lowes is for everything. Everyday it’s for retired and VA card veterans (like wounded), but there are several holidays like 4th of July, Memorial Day, Veterans Day and I think one other that is open to everybody. My local indoor gun range gave free range time to vets today. I thought that was pretty nice of them. They normally give a discount to any vet on regular days too.

7. skinbad - November 12, 2015

I received an email thanking veterans that said “It’s the land of the free because of the brave.” I like that.


Leave a Reply

