jump to navigation

The Bomb and Heavy Water February 15, 2016

Posted by skinbad in Heroes, History.
trackback

Since I have the day off, I’ll assuage a little guilt and post something. My wife had a new book related to her job with some of the yutes at the local school and started reading it to me as we drove about doing the family errands a few weeks ago. It seems to be aimed at young adults, and is on the history of the creation of the atomic bomb. This is it (centered appropriately):

Product Details

Oppenheimer is kind of the hero of the book and I learned quite a bit about him. The scientific explanations are also pretty good (IMHO). So, I recommend it as a fast read. BUT, the story that jumped out to me that I had never heard of was the fight over the control of a heavy water production plant in Norway. The Germans wanted the heavy water as they were in a race with the U.S. for the atomic bomb. The allies were determined that they not get it. It’s an amazing story of bravery and sacrifice. As my wife and I were looking for something to watch on Netflix last night, what did we come across, but this:

 

It’s a six-part miniseries done by the Norwegian Broadcasting Corporation. We watched the first couple of episodes and it’s well done. Whether you read about it or watch it, it’s a story worth knowing.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

