jump to navigation

The Forgotten Campaign Promise March 9, 2016

Posted by geoff in News.
trackback

If I was a manufacturing guy, I’d feel, well, abandoned by the administration. The administration grabbed a bunch of manufacturing union votes in the last election by promising to add a million manufacturing jobs in four years.

ManufJobsMar2016

With 5 months yet to go, they’re stuck below 400,000 jobs added. In fact, in the past year they added only 12,000 manufacturing jobs. Yep, a thousand jobs a month.

A racist might get the notions that: 1) the administration doesn’t have a prayer of making it, and 2) President Obama doesn’t care.

Fortunately none of us are inclined to be that cynical, nosirree.

Comments»

1. geoff - March 9, 2016

Ugh. Hate the title, but that’s all the time I can devote to this today. Feel free to suggest alternate titles in the comments.

2. Cathy - March 9, 2016

New title suggestion: “If I WERE a Manufacturing Guy…”

*grammar nazi*

*smooch*

3. geoff - March 9, 2016

I deserved that.

Cathy - March 9, 2016

Sumbunny has to keep you in line…
😉

4. Jimbro - March 9, 2016

Try this:

“More Manufacturing Job Creation Failure From Old Broke Dick Dog”.

5. digitalbrownshirt - March 9, 2016

I am a manufacturing guy. Our company has been bleeding cash for two years. We had a buy out last year that cut 125 people from a company that only had around 800 to begin with. This month we started lay offs to get below 600. I’m currently out on unpaid leave until my long term disability kicks in. I had spinal fusion in late November. I think I can be ready to go back to work by this summer, but now I’m afraid I’ll get laid off if I go back to work. I’m a machinist, which so far is a “safe” job, but with my back injury I’d probably have to change jobs when I got back, so I could end up in the next batch of lay offs. Most of our losses have been management and support personnel. One of my friends who’s been with the company for 15 years got laid off on Monday. The company is trying hard to keep alive and still treat people fairly, but we’re running out of options.

To add to the problem my wife and my son both work for the same company so we’re all worried about being unemployed before the year is out.

6. Cathy - March 10, 2016

Digital, your story makes me ache and scream. So sorry. Over the years we’ve heard IB & Hostages folks losing jobs and small businesses because of the crappy economy, cronies, and corruption in our government. There’s a special place in hell for them.

I hope things go well for you, and if you need to make a transition that you find something that uses your skills without hurting you physically. Hugs.

7. digitalbrownshirt - March 10, 2016

Thank you Cathy. It’s been pretty frustrating watching what was an extremely healthy, growing company that’s being destroyed by our crappy national leadership. My company disability insurance wants me to sign up for Social Security in case it turns out to be permanent, but the doctor said it might take up to 2 years to recover. That’s probably how long it would take to get approved and I’d rather go back to work some day since I can make a lot more money working.


Leave a Reply

