jump to navigation

For Rosetta April 13, 2016

Posted by daveintexas in News.
trackback

He was one of the funniest, sweetest men ever.

It was my privilege to call him my friend. As it was for so many of us. His mirth, I’d call it a gift of mirth was infectious and upbeat. Bigger than life, gregarious, loving. He always made you feel like the most important person ever.

We used to laugh with one another (I mean all of us) about being “fake internet friends” but we’re not.  We built friendships without ever having seen one another until many of us decided “hey, we’re actual friends, let’s meet one another.”

So this guy I never met but I’d been laughing with for five years on the blogs, for the first time we met at a gathering of more friends we had never met.

We did not shake hands. He opened his arms and hugged me like a brother and damn near lifted me up off my feet. That was real. Friends who cared about one another sharing the joy of just finally getting to laugh and care in person.

Damn I’m gonna miss those hugs. They were epic.

This is real too, and my heart is broken for us all tonight. Sometimes the cost of loving is losing the ones you love (or them losing you), and tonight it does hurt. I’d still choose to love each and every one of you. You made my life better. He made my life better.

I’m glad we loved you Rosetta, and I’m glad you loved us back. Goodbye my friend.

 

For all of you who feel this ache too, I pray you’ll find some comfort soon. You are heavy on my heart and I love you all.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments»

1. Tushar - April 13, 2016

Dave, I am thankful you are going to be in StL. I desperately want to go, but cannot.

As Rosie would say, count your dick!

2. geoff - April 13, 2016

Thanks, Dave. And fare thee well, Rosetta.

3. Retired Geezer - April 13, 2016

I’m sorry I never got to meet him IRL.

When he sent us his baby’s birth announcement, it made us weep.

4. daveintexas - April 14, 2016

I still think we were 20 bucks away from convincing Officer Paul to tase him

Missed opportunity

5. SoWhat - April 14, 2016

Thanks Dave. I agree completely. I loved the big lug.

6. Cathy - April 14, 2016

Thanks, Dave. So happy you are gonna be in St. Louis. I know it will mean a lot to those there that ‘we fake internet friends’ care.

7. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere - April 14, 2016

Ya dun gud, Goober.

8. lauraw - April 14, 2016

Thanks, Dave. I still can’t actually believe this is happening.

9. wiserbud - April 16, 2016

We did not shake hands. He opened his arms and hugged me like a brother and damn near lifted me up off my feet. That was real.

When we first met, he was not as forthcoming with the hugs.

He was a little shy, a little concerned about what he might be walking into. As was I.

We then spent the next 9 hours laughing.

The hug at the end of the night was fantastic.

He was truly one of the best huggers I’ve ever met.

Thank you for this post, Dave.

Rosetta was a great friend to all of us. He will be sorely missed.

And despite what Lauraw says about you, I still think you are one of the best ever.

10. daveintexas - April 16, 2016

You should listen to LauraW I’m a big jerk

I still can’t believe this is real.

There was so much appreciation expressed from his family and friends to all of us. They all get it that we loved him. That was the appreciation.

11. Herr Morgenholz - April 17, 2016

Thanks for going Dave. I feel like I was represented there just a little bit by you and the others.

12. daveintexas - April 17, 2016

You were, and you’re welcome for what little I could do.

His parents didn’t understand our friendships with him, but his close friends really did. They’ve been reading the stuff at H2 and seeing the love we all had for each other. One of the men who spoke for him on Friday and I talked and he was amazed at the treasure trove of Rosetta’s humor and love at the H2. He looked at me and said “you all love him like we did. Your friendship was absolutely as real as ours”

And we didn’t shake hands. We hugged hard.

13. Tushar - April 17, 2016

Great, Dave.

now you are making me cry again.

14. daveintexas - April 17, 2016

I’ve been cryin like a bitch all week. Might as well hug it out

15. digitalbrownshirt - April 17, 2016

I waited a few days to say anything, but I still don’t know what to say. It’s not supposed to happen this way.


Leave a Reply

