jump to navigation

So what next? June 1, 2016

Posted by digitalbrownshirt in News.
trackback

So, as of about 9am this morning, I’m officially unemployed. Our company has been taking a beating similar to my own physical health over the last couple of years. Combined, it seemed like the time for us to part ways so I took a buy out option today. Almost 19 years and it ended with a couple of signatures and a handshake. Kind of bittersweet, but I really need more time to heal and working 10 hour shifts standing on concrete wasn’t helping. I’m eligible for unemployment and they won’t contest it so I guess that’s something new I’ll be experiencing. In 30+ years of working I’ve never gotten an unemployment check. The company also is covering me for health insurance for the next two months. After that we’ll go through Sandra’s job for insurance, so that’s covered. I see God’s hand providing here too. This wasn’t a rash decision. I’ve been praying about it for weeks, contemplating what I need to do versus what I want to do.

My plans for the next year are to increase my health physically and spiritually, and to find something that would be less stressful on my back, so a career change is in the plans. Maybe I’ll take some computer classes. I know a bit about them, it’s what I did in the Air Force in a distant life, but I’d need more to get an office job or at least something that doesn’t involve standing all day. Something close to home would be nice too. I don’t even care about the probable pay cut I’d take for most of the jobs I’d look at. I’ll look into vet hiring programs too. I’m not in a hurry though. My back reminded me this morning (probably weather related) that this is the right choice.

In the midst of this storm I remember God is great and He is faithful. I trust in Him completely.

“And we know that God causes all things to work together for good to those who love God, to those who are called according to His purpose.” – Romans 8:28

God is faithful

Comments»

1. Jimbro - June 1, 2016

When the time is right I hope you find a new opportunity that suits you.

2. OBF - June 1, 2016

Doors open and doors close. As much as possible enjoy the interim as those periods of time where you don’t have to head out to work are always made available. Your faith is impressive!

3. Retired Geezer - June 1, 2016

I think you’ll be glad you made that decision.
Don’t feel guilty about taking an UI check. I’ve taken a few myself.
Also we took the food baskets and block o’ cheese from the food bank.
Opportunity !

4. skinbad - June 1, 2016

Good luck, DBS.

5. lauraw - June 1, 2016

Just focus on healing for now. When it’s time for the next opportunity, you will be ready for it.

6. digitalbrownshirt - June 1, 2016

Thank you. My main goal is to be able to walk a few blocks, maybe a mile, without doubling over in pain. I walked my dog to the corner and back and I was in pretty bad shape by the time I got back. Even so, it was better than I thought it would go. I figure a minimum of six months off before I consider going back into the work force.

OBF: God’s faith is impressive. I’m just doing what I need to do. He was faithful to me yesterday, I can trust Him with tomorrow.🙂

7. geoff - June 1, 2016

Wishing you good healing & good fortune, DBS.

But for the next six months you should be a blogging monster.

Just thought I’d point that out.

8. digitalbrownshirt - June 2, 2016

That’s actually what I was hinting at last week. I think I’ll be posting more often.

9. geoff - June 3, 2016

Outstanding.


Leave a Reply

