jump to navigation

Healthy living June 5, 2016

Posted by digitalbrownshirt in Family, Personal Experiences, Stupid shit.
trackback

Apparently trying to be healthy disagrees with me. I decided to take my German Shepherd for a walk. She’s not the most social animal in the world, but she is obedient and HIGHLY protective. About a block from our home we passed a house with 3 medium sized dogs in the backyard. Two of them were pit bulls and the third a mixed breed of similar size. One of the pits decided to engage my dog so it got out of it’s yard, ran down the street and tried biting my dog on the neck. Riley, our GSD, kept herself between the pit and myself while trying to latch onto any part of the other dog that would fit into her jaws, so the entire dog in other words. The pit bull realized it had made a mistake and broke off the engagement and ran back home at which point Riley sat down next to me and gave me the “Why are you laying on the ground crying like that?” look. Looking at all three of their dogs I would guess that the guilty party is a very young dog that hasn’t learned to mind it’s own business yet.

During their little debate she yanked me around and I got pulled down into the concrete sidewalk, all 300 lbs of me. I had a leather training lead and a prong collar on her since I’m trying to control her habit of pulling hard on the leash. Mostly it’s working. I think the knee is the only real damage, but I’m seeing my neurosurgeon tomorrow and will mention it to him. We might need more x-rays to see if it hurt my new hardware in my back because I can tell you right now, that’s going to hurt in the morning. Hopefully it’s all good because I don’t want anything to happen to the other dog just because the owner made a mistake. I talked to them about it and explained the importance of keeping control of larger dogs for their safety and the safety of others. It could have turned out much worse than it did.

Comments»

1. geoff - June 5, 2016

Ouch. When it rains, it pours.

2. lauraw - June 6, 2016

Riley deserves some lovin’ up and extra treats. Good girl.

3. Kraig Christensen - June 6, 2016

Dogs often make better people than people make people. Nice looking animal. Anyone want a really dumb but cute bassett hound?

4. digitalbrownshirt - June 6, 2016

Riley keeps checking out my knee injury. She’s either very concerned, or she likes the taste of blood and triple antibiotic. My semi-retirement continued today with my car having a dead battery. I guess the good news is that it was at home when I found out and I could use my wife’s car to go to the back doctor this morning. The bad news is that it’s such a stupid design that I don’t think I can get the battery out without help and the son that lives at home took the high school kids from his church to camp this week. He’s the youth pastor there. Oh, and I might need an MRI for my upper back if this new pain medication doesn’t work for me. Since the last surgery I’ve developed some intense pain in the upper part of the back. I’m hoping it’s related to maybe standing differently after all the work that’s been done on me, but I’m afraid it might be something worse. It feels a lot like what my lower back felt like before spinal fusion.

God is good, even if I don’t see the good in what I’m going through. If nothing else I get to spend more time with our dog Riley.

Kraig: I’d love to, but my wife seems determined to keep me from turning into “that crazy old dog guy” that people avoid. I’d have a hundred dogs if I could.🙂

5. Kraig Christensen - June 7, 2016

Pick-up trucks and puppy dogs…you can never have enough of either. Good luck on the back pain resolution.

6. digitalbrownshirt - June 7, 2016

My recumbent exercise bike came from Amazon today. I was actually excited about it. I still want to walk my dog, but I think we’re going to take the short drive to a local park and walk their trail. Still a chance of encounters with other dogs, but at least they’ll be on leashes with their owners. There’s a dog park next to it, but she won’t be ready for that yet.

As to the back and the battery my doctor doubled my pain medication, so it’s back to what it was 3 months ago. I’d cut back a lot on my own because I was trying to get back to work and oxycodone doesn’t mix well with high speed lathes. My car suddenly decided to start up like nothing was wrong. I hate that kind of car problem. I want something I can identify and fix so I can depend on it to start up regularly. Now I’ll have that question in my head every time I go out.


Leave a Reply

