jump to navigation

The Conjuring 2 June 11, 2016

Posted by digitalbrownshirt in News.
trackback

I’m not a fan of horror films. In fact I’m not a fan of going to movies in general, but I guess it was entertaining enough. Being able to suspend disbelief will help a lot, after all it is a movie about dealing with ghosts and demons. Once I stopped noticing all the things that didn’t make sense I started to enjoy it. My wife and my daughter definitely liked it, so I guess if you like scary movies then it’s probably for you. What I found interesting was that it was rated “R”, but I didn’t notice much to make it an “R”. If there was strong language I missed it, there’s no nudity or sex, so I guess it’s for violence. They recreate the murder scene from Amityville early in the movie and that was kind of graphic, but it was almost cartoonish compared to most of the crap they put out in slasher movies (not that this is a slasher movie in anyway).

Since I don’t go to many movies and almost never see rated “R” films I was kind of shocked by the language in the previews. I’d swear one of them probably dropped the F bomb 10 times and that wasn’t even the most repulsive part of the film. I won’t go into detail, but none of them made me want to see them when they come out.

If I had to give it a score based on most horror movies I’d give it an 8 out of 10. They didn’t use every opportunity for a jump scare, which made the actual jump scares better. The special effects were good. The story was interesting enough and it had a little bit of a twist in it before it ended. If you liked the first one or maybe you liked the Insidious movies (better than expected) then you might like this one too.

 

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

