jump to navigation

Some Father’s Day Advice June 19, 2016

Posted by digitalbrownshirt in News.
trackback

This is a slightly (I changed the years) updated post I wrote for the benefit of the many younger fathers I know from my church. I shared it with them via Facebook several years ago and I think it’s still good basic guidance for the dads out there.

dennis family 2

Yes, that is the digitalbrownshirt making the dumbass face next to his father, his sister and a random baby that photobombed us.

 

 

I’ve been a dad for 27 years now and thought it might be good to pass along some advice to the men I know who have kids or will have kids in the future. As my own kids can tell you I’ve screwed up every one of these at some point along the journey, but I still kept walking the path.

1. Put God first. I’m not kidding. Even when you screw up, He’ll cover your six.

2. It’s not only okay, but actually good, to say no sometimes. Not everything your children want will actually be good for them.

3. Teach them the value of hard work. The reward they earn will be a better lesson than having it given to them.

4. It’s normal to disagree with your wife, just try to avoid major conflict in front of the kids. They’re kids. They don’t need to see the two most important people in their lives bickering like children.

5. Never punish children when you’re angry. You want them to remember the lesson, not the anger.

6. I love being friends with my children, but as close as we are, they know that being their daddy is more important to me than being their buddy.

7. It’s okay to fail. Sometimes our greatest lessons are in our failures. That goes for everybody, including dads and kids. I learned a lot not just from what my own father did right, but by what he did wrong as well.

8. Spend time with your kids. That’s a big one that we tend to forget since we need to work so much. Sports are great for that and if you’re kids aren’t into sports then find something else they are interested in that you can do with them like going to the library or zoo or even sitting down and playing a game with them. They’ll remember that their dad was willing to make time for them because he loved them.

9. Don’t hold a grudge. When you forgive your children you stop dragging out the scars and reminding them of how they failed you in the past. A wound doesn’t heal when you keep picking off the scab. It’s bad for them and it’s worse for you.

10. You’re going to screw up. We all do. It doesn’t matter how prepared you think you are to be the ultimate dad you will find yourself making the wrong choices. When that happens, go back to Rule 1 and get God back into the picture. He’ll give you the answer if you’re willing to listen to Him.

DO THE BEST THAT YOU CAN DO, LET GOD HANDLE THE REST

Comments»

1. Retired Geezer - June 19, 2016

Preach it, Brother.

2. geoff - June 19, 2016

A far better list than the Modern Man list in the previous post.

Happy Father’s Day, everyone!

3. skinbad - June 21, 2016

Re. #8–I read something once that stuck with me. The writer said don’t fool yourself into thinking “quality time” outweighs “quantity time” with your kids. Just spend time with them. My kids used to beg me to watch animated kids movies with them. Sometimes I did and often I didn’t (I didn’t want to). But they wanted to curl up on the couch with dad. Good list.


Leave a Reply

