jump to navigation

SACophilia August 27, 2016

Posted by geoff in News.
trackback

I miss the old Air Force, particularly the Strategic Air Command (SAC), which was responsible for all the USAF’s nuclear forces (ICBMs and bombers). SAC was righteous wrath deliverable 24/7 anywhere in the world. As a SAC brat I spent many of my formative years on ICBM bases in North Dakota, but the passing years have turned resentment into nostalgia; now even the North Dakota tours are now forgiven.

So I was thrilled this past summer to run across the SAC museum on the stretch of I-80 between Omaha and Lincoln (I was westbound). Nice collection of Cold War memorabilia with an unapologetic attitude towards America’s nuclear defense posture.

I got two of these t-shirts, and I highly recommend that you do the same:

4737 f-b sac crest black

The only thing the shirt is missing is the SAC motto: “Peace is our profession.” I always thought that contrasted nicely with the logo.

Comments»

1. digitalbrownshirt - August 27, 2016

I went from Tactical Air Command to Military Airlift Command and now they’re both gone. My Air Force doesn’t exist anymore.😦

2. geoff - August 27, 2016

The new military ain’t what it used to be.

3. ChrisP - August 28, 2016

“Peace is Our Profession.”
(Global thermonuclear war is just our hobby.)


Leave a Reply

